Further Adventures In No Man’s Sky

in #story6 years ago

FURTHER ADVENTURES IN NO MAN’S SKY

I finally arrived at my base with the bone marrow. Operator Entity Idzh was examining data, and although one should not anthropomorphise these alien machines, I sensed some disquiet. “Traveller! I have prepared your voltaic cell plans”, Idzh communicated. “But please hurry. Something has...happened”.

I wondered what could have happened to turn it from the dedicated worker I had left. What was worrying Idzh? “Korvax has completed the plans. But Traveller, they have..My people have abandoned me. As of 104.32 seconds ago, I lost the hearing, the sight of the Korvax convergence. Eheu!”.

Operator Entity Idzh asked me to travel to a transmission tower. “I seek immediate reconnection! Discover what is wrong! Help with Korvax solitude, please!”.

0571D1DC-B991-420F-B7BE-93972F698B15.jpeg

Somehow, Operator Entity Idzh had become disconnected from the Korvax hive mind. As it said, the only way to determine what was wrong was to find a transmission tower. The environment my base was built on was mountainous terrain, and traversing it by foot would take far too long. I decided to go there in the land rover. Its four out-sized wheels made light work of the steep inclines, and I was thankful not to be out in that chilly climate. From the comfort of my heated cabin, the world outside looked beautiful. Ice crystals shone brilliantly in the sunlight, frosting the pine trees that grow all over this world.

7D2C3F80-2B24-4041-9C25-4A58886070DD.jpeg

Dusk had fallen by the time I reached the transmission tower. I parked as close as I could to the entrance and ran in, the biting winds of the coming night chilling me in the brief time I was exposed. Once inside I located the terminal where I was to insert Idzh’s Korvax Intelligence Core, a necessary step in gaining the Judgement of the Convergence. Upon its insertion, the machine came to life. ‘TERMINAL ONLINE...CONNECTION ESTABLISHED’. And then….nothing.

It seemed like Operator Entity Idzh really had been separated from Korvax Convergence. I wondered what it would be like to have always been part of a hive mind, and then to be an individual. How could such a being cope with a change as radical as that? How would my Korvax assistant react when I returned, unable to reconnect it to the Hive?

C7920DED-05B8-432D-9B78-BC7CF0FABDB4.jpeg

The adventure continued…

Thanks to Hello Games for the images

Sort:  

Very nice post....

Please Stop

In your your last 100 comments you used 87 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 3 times. You've received 2 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 87.20% and Bot: 2.90%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

Awesome post!! Keep it up and check out THIS POST as well as I have something similar.

My father used to read SF like your writing. I might follow his steps by reading Sci-Fi myself. Thanx for your effort in writing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55173.73
ETH 2879.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30