No Entry - Children of the Gone - Episode 1 / Part 5 (Original Series)

in #story7 years ago

PROLOGUE: In the year 2019, a mysterious disease has swept over the world. In a matter of weeks all humans over the age of puberty died. Only the young children remain.

CHILDREN OF THE GONE_ep1-no entry_steemit.jpg

CHILDREN OF THE GONE SERIES

Table of Contents:


Episode 1 - Part 1: https://steemit.com/story/@ethosunlimited/no-entry-children-of-the-gone-episode-1-part-1
Episode 1 - Part 2: https://steemit.com/story/@ethosunlimited/no-entry-children-of-the-gone-episode-1-part-2-original-series
Episode 1 - Part 3: https://steemit.com/story/@ethosunlimited/no-entry-children-of-the-gone-episode-1-part-3-original-series
Episode 1 - Part 4: https://steemit.com/story/@ethosunlimited/no-entry-children-of-the-gone-episode-1-part-4-original-series

Episode #1 “No Entry”

INTRODUCTION

This first episode of the “Children of the Gone” series is called “No Entry.”

PROLOGUE

In the year 2019, a mysterious disease has swept over the world. In a matter of weeks all humans over the age of puberty died. Only the young children remain.

Episode 1, No Entry, follows a small group of children trying to figure out what to do now.

Part 5

“Where have you been?” said Maddie. “You were gone forever. Did you find water?”

“Yeah,” said Sam, out of breath. “I went to the pharmacy. They had a bunch of water and stuff, they had these bandages too. I brought everything I thought he might need. I got Dylan a new shirt.”

“Thanks. Oh, Sam, your leg is bleeding,” said Maddie.

“I fell off my bike carrying this stuff,” said Sam. “We need to find a better way to haul things.”

“We should get a car,” said Heidi.

“No one knows how to drive a car,” said Sam. “We couldn’t reach the pedals if we did.”

“Remember when dad put the blocks of wood on my bike pedals because I couldn’t reach them?” said Heidi. “Maybe we could do that?”

“I don’t think so Heidi. Not now,” said Sam. “How is Greg?”

“You’re starting to sound like a grownup, Sam. Everything is no, no, no,” said Heidi, folding her arms across her chest with a large huff.

“He’s really white,” said Maddie. “We need to get him some water and clean off his finger.”

“Have you looked at his finger?” said Sam.

“He won’t really let me. He let me take the shirt off and put a pillow case on it, but that’s about it. His skin is all white,” said Maddie.

“Greg, we need to clean your finger,” said Sam. “Can I see your finger?”

“No, it fucking hurts,” said Greg.

“Sam, Greg is swearing,” said Heidi.

“If you get your finger shot, you can swear too, Heidi,” said Sam.

“Can I?” said Heidi.

“We need to look at your finger,” said Maddie. “It looks like there is a lot of blood on that pillow case. Is the bleeding slowing down? Are you keeping pressure on it like I told you?”

“What. No, it fucking hurts. It hurts. It just fucking hurts,” cried Greg.

“Greg, I have some water here,” said Maddie. “You take the water with one hand, and I’ll look at the finger while you drink.”

“Okay, but be careful. It really, really, really hurts,” said Greg, taking the water.

Heidi bent down, gently took his hand, and removed the blood soaked pillowcase. The finger was shot clean off, just before the first knuckle of the index finger. Nothing else was touched by the bullet. A steady drip of blood flowed from the finger, as Greg tried to drink some water.

“We need to clean this, Greg,” said Maddie.

“But it’s gonna hurt,” said Greg. “I don’t want it to hurt anymore.”

“If we fix it now, it won’t hurt later. If we can’t clean it, it will hurt much, much longer.”

“Okay,” said Greg.

First Maddie started to pour water on the finger, and Greg pulled away, crying.

“Sam, you’re going to have to hold him down,” said Maddie. “We need to clean this.”

“Dylan,” said Sam. “I’m going to need your help too.”

Dylan had been huddled, with his hands over his knees, in the corner by the drinking fountain and watching the events transpire.

“I don’t want to help,” said Dylan.

“Dylan, you need to help me,” said Sam. “I can’t do this by myself.”

“You did this to me,” said Greg. “You shot my finger off. You’re my best friend, and you shot my finger off.”

“Not on purpose. I didn’t do it on purpose. It was an accident,” said Dylan.

“No, no,” Greg cried, as Sam grabbed the sitting Greg around the waist in a bear hug.

“I need you to get his free hand,” said Sam. “Dylan, try and hold his free hand.”

Dylan struggled to wrestle his hand, as Maddie poured first water, then hydrogen peroxide on the damaged finger. She used a whole bottle of peroxide and only managed to get about a quarter of it actually on his finger because he was jerking and pulling his hand away.

Greg was screaming. With Dylan holding one arm, and Sam bear hugging him, Maddie got control of the finger by tucking the arm under her armpit and working with her free hand. She was finally able to start to wrap his finger.

Greg was screaming his head off. Lillyan started kicking Sam in the back and pulling his hair, saying, “You’re hurting my brother you mean person. Let him go, you’re hurting him.”
Heidi was alternately handing things to Maddie and peeling Lillyan off of Sam. Greg gave up and went limp. Finally, Maddie was able to wrap it with gauze and an elastic bandage until it looked like he was wearing a boxing glove.

“All done,” said Maddie. “You can let him go now.”

Sam and Dylan both let go and Greg sunk to the floor. Lillyan was still screaming. Heidi wrapped her in a big bear hug, and held her tight.

“Heidi, you and Dylan take her for a walk,” said Maddie. “Take this last bottle of water and give it to her.”

Heidi and Dylan took Lill, one by each hand, and walked her out the door.

“Are you okay?” said Maddie, to Greg, as he lay on the floor with his eyes closed. She shook him. “Greg are you okay?”

“Leave me alone,” whimpered Greg. “I don’t want to talk to you. I don’t want to talk to anyone.”

“We’re just trying to help,” said Sam. “We had to do it. We had to hold you down.”

“You said you saw a dog,” said Maddie. “You said you were pointing at a dog. What kind of dog? What did it look like?”

“I’m not sure,” said Greg, still laying on the floor with his eyes closed. “I don’t know much about dogs. It was small.”

A few of the kids who found their way to the school in the beginning had brought their family dogs with them. Sometimes, and it seemed like it only happened at night, two or three dogs would get in a fight and wake everyone up and scare the younger kids. The kids who had them seemed to feel safer, and the group generally agreed that they felt better to have the dogs around. Some kids had said they had seen dogs, but none of the dogs wanted to come near humans.

“We should get a dog,” said Maddie.

“How are we going to get a dog? We hardly ever see them. There might not even be any more around here,” said Sam.

“We have to catch one,” said Maddie. “I bet they’re hungry. We could get them with some food. We need food too. Maybe we can find some dog food?”

“What if we attract a mean dog?” said Sam.

“Then we will train it to be nice,” said Maddie.

“You know we still need to learn how to use the guns,” said Sam, as Dylan and Heidi walked back into the library with Lill.

“Hey, guys, we saw that dog. That dog that Greg was pointing at…I think,” said Heidi.

Lill ran and snuggled next to her big brother.

“Is Greg dead?” said Dylan. “Did I kill him?”

“No, he’s not dead,” said Sam.

“He’s just resting,” said Maddie.

“I didn’t mean to. It was an accident,” said Dylan. “I didn’t do it on purpose. I didn’t know…I, I’m so sorry,” he started to cry.

“Ssshhh…,” said Maddie. “We know you didn’t try to. We know it was an accident.”

“Am I going to get in trouble?” said Dylan, wiping his eyes and trying not to cry.

“Who’s here to get you in trouble?” asked Maddie.

“You guys,” said Dylan. “You and Sam.”

“I’m not a grown up,” said Sam. “I’ve never tried to punish you. I’m just your older brother.”

“Yeah, but when the other kids were here the older kids punished the younger kids when they did something wrong.”

“You didn’t do it on purpose,” said Sam. “Besides, those other kids aren’t around anymore.”

“Where do you think they went?” said Heidi.

“I don’t know.” said Sam.

“Tim said they were going to go to Florida,” said Heidi. “He said they had oranges in Florida. He said they were bright orange and juicy and you could just pick them off the trees. He said he went to Disney
World with his family in the winter, and it doesn’t get cold there, ever.”

“It’s hard to say where they are,” said Sam. “I don’t know how far a bus can go before it runs out of gas.”

“Can’t they just get more?”

“There is no electricity,” said Sam. “I don’t think the gas pumps work.”

“Do you think they made it all the way to Florida?” said Heidi. “Do you think they have electricity in Florida?”

“I don’t think they have electricity anywhere,” said Sam. “Dad told me, just before he was gone, that the whole world was going to be gone. He told me that any person older than puberty on the whole planet was dying, or going to die, and no one knew what to do about it. He told me that all the electricity in the world would be gone soon because no one would be there to turn it on anymore. He told me to go to the libraries because that’s where all the knowledge would be. He said I could find anything I needed at the library.”

“What’s puberty?” said Heidi.

“What do you mean?” said Sam.

“You said anyone over the age of puberty died. What’s puberty? Are we going to get puberty? Are we going to die too?”

“I don’t know,” said Sam.

“Am I going to get punished or what?” said Dylan.

“Do you want to be?” said Maddie.

“No. Well. I think I’m supposed to.”

“We know it was an accident,” said Maddie. “But if you really want to be punished, I will punish you. No reading for two days.”

“But, but, what if, fine,” said Dylan, crossing his arms over his chest and thrusting out his bottom lip.

To Be Continued...

Table of Contents:
Episode 1 - Part 1: https://steemit.com/story/@ethosunlimited/no-entry-children-of-the-gone-episode-1-part-1
Episode 1 - Part 2: https://steemit.com/story/@ethosunlimited/no-entry-children-of-the-gone-episode-1-part-2-original-series
Episode 1 - Part 3: https://steemit.com/story/@ethosunlimited/no-entry-children-of-the-gone-episode-1-part-3-original-series
Episode 1 - Part 4: https://steemit.com/story/@ethosunlimited/no-entry-children-of-the-gone-episode-1-part-4-original-series

Twitter: @dougynoble
Website: http://www.douglasjohnnoble.com
Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Douglas-Noble/e/B015XD53VE

Thanks

-Doug

Sort:  

Congratulations @ethosunlimited! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44