YOUR KISS (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

"Like all sweet dreams, it will be brief, but brevity makes sweetness, doesn't it?"

~Stephen King

As I mention in my weekly Impromptu Haiku posts, writing haiku helps you to develop the ability to transmit your emotions and ideas across to the reader with the fewest words possible.

Words strung together in a creative way can be a thing of absolute beauty in and of themselves but their base level words are building blocks that construct temporary bridges between our minds and allow us to communicate with one another.

Using words sparingly and wisely is the hallmark of a seasoned writer. When writing poetry or prose the goal is to build a shorter bridge to share your ideas. The fewer words you use, the greater the chance of creating an emotional spark.

The following piece isn’t a haiku but just a regular free verse poem and is an example of how a short piece can effectively communicate emotions and ideas.

I hope you enjoy tonight’s poem!


YOUR KISS

If I am
to go on
believing
this world
is still a place
of magic
I need only
one thing more
to remind me,
your kiss.


Did you miss the last episode of my novel, Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to read it. New episodes will be posted every Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday morning at 11AM CST!

To follow my unfolding story please visit my website here to sign up for my author newsletter.

Sort:  

I can totally understand -- the less is more... Too many words just get in the way. Thanks @ericvancewalton!

Yes, it's important not to totally fall under the spell of the words and see them more as carriers of the idea or emotion. You're welcome, @macksby!

:-*

love the poem!

a magician touches my lips
and the world stands still

Beautiful

You got the point through in so few words, well done.
Please take a look at my blog and haiku challenge.

It all start with a kiss

Short, sweet, and hopelessly romantic

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85