Yep, It's Addictive

in #story7 years ago (edited)

If someone would have told me a few years ago that I’d have both arms covered in tattoos I would have told them they were crazy. After all, I’m the nerdy writer-type. As it turns out the old-saying, Tattoos Are Addictive is true...at least in my case. I got my first piece done in the summer of 2016 at age forty-five and was right back to the drawing board shortly after deciding what kind of art I wanted on the other arm.

A few months ago I got my second tattoo. It’s a Buddhist mandala with the flower of life pattern running behind it. During my first sitting, amazingly talented tattoo artist Greg “Grease” Lehman spent four hours straight just doing the line work. I’m not going to lie, it hurt like h@ll. This one hurt much more than the first one I got the year before. Greg said there was more pain this time because of the complexity of the line work.

I spent the next three months or so walking around feeling like a page out of an adult coloring book because the mandala wasn’t shaded or colored. After some thought and a little searching on the internet for color/shading patterns I finally decided how I wanted to finish this one off. I sent Greg a few example images over email and then we scheduled a one hour session.


Let the "fun" begin


Greg started with a grey ink to shade the alternating layers of the mandala. This took about thirty minutes from start to finish.


Then he changed needles and begin a different kind of shading, comprised of small black dots.


After another half an hour the dot shading was finished and a splash of bright blue was added in the center.


A close-up of the finished product.


A more professional picture taken from Greg's camera.

Now, the piece feels complete to me and I couldn't be more happy with it.

I have to decide what I want next, there's still a lot of blank canvas. After my first tattoo, I always told myself that I'd get a full sleeve done when I was able to quit my corporate day job and write full time. I'm thrilled to report that this goal was reached last week so it's time to start brainstorming.

After seeing what's involved in the process, I have an immense appreciation for the art of tattooing. I can't imagine the amount of confidence and focus it would take to work in a medium where a mistake literally can't be erased.

If you're thinking about getting one yourself my advice is to:

  1. really contemplate what you want done and make sure it has a deep meaning for you; and
  2. make sure the artist you choose has good ratings online and some years of experience.

Oh, and be careful, it IS addictive.

(All photos are original.)

Please follow our official Steemit account for the film series @hardfork-series. We so excited to be debuting the HardFork Film Series Teaser Trailer at SteemFest2 in Lisbon! Hope to see you there!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

My new book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, has been discounted to $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook) for a limited time. Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Wow, GREAT post and AWESOME tattoo!! Next step neural face tattoos!!!

Thank you, @dougkarr! Lol, as long as they wash off with soap and water. : )

Oww nice tattoo I love it..Tattoos are the most incredible form of self-expression.

Thank you! I'm glad I waited until I was older so I didn't get anything too impulsive.

Tattoos always addictive when you see something you liked/wanted done right there with you and you want to put more art on your body. When I eventually have the money, I plan on getting a few more!

How many do you have?

I have 7, smaller ones of course. But I am working on blending new ones in/around the others on my arms so it looks a lot better than how they are atm.

It really came out well Eric, I can understand why you would want more

Thank you, Ruth! I hope Greg doesn't retire for a while. : )

wow! beautiful art, you have an amazing talent.

that's true man, just keep it up....welcome.

You make me smile because you really are going outside of the box. You must feel so free and adventurous! Why not since we only live once and the time is now. I may not always comment because I haven't been going onto Steemit as often. Still doing a lot of resting but hopefully I will get rid of the congestion and have more energy to go on more frequently. Wishing you much happiness and and striving to be even more free spirited!

Thanks @cabbagepatch! This is all new territory for me. I'm trying my best to keep my balance as I move forward. The first lesson learned during my first week of freedom is the day's go so much faster when you're pursuing your passion than they did when I was in the cubicle. Google Calendar has been my savior to stay on track and get things done. Keep resting, I wish you a continued speedy recovery! Take care and enjoy the weekend!

This tattoo is really beautiful on u, it's been awhile I saw a nice tattoo like this.

really contemplate what you want done and make sure it has a deep meaning for you

Exactly, some people just go and draw tattoo for the fun of it.
I think it's a thing of significance, Just that people abuse it.

Thanks @ericvancewalton for the advice.

Oh Yes Yes Yes :) I know that feeling .....

I’m already planning the next one. ; )

That is rather spectacular @ericvancewalton!

Thank you, my friend!

wow......nice tattoo I love it..
good sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65142.09
ETH 3205.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57