Adopting a Collaborative Mentality (Indie Author Series)

in #story7 years ago (edited)


Marketing is just another term for sharing your work in a deliberate way with the goal of gaining a fanbase and generating sales. The phrase, It Takes A Village... very much applies to starting a writing career from scratch. My marketing knowledge took a quantum leap from a single forty-five minute call with the very successful author and motivational speaker, Grace Daly.

What Grace taught me was, as indie authors with small budgets, we must take the time to think about who our natural collaborators are. Often they are companies or individuals who offer a product or service that mesh with your book in some way, the larger the organization the better. These large companies already have a huge promotional outreach and great marketing expertise. Collaborations such as this can launch your writing career more quickly than you would ever be able to do on your own.

For instance, I wore a pair of Moscot Lemtosh glasses in some of my promotional headshots for my first novel. I purchased these eyeglass frames only because I liked them but shortly after my call with Grace I decided to email the Moscot company to see if there was an opportunity to collaborate. They informed me that there was a segment on their social media pages called, “Eye Spy” where they post pictures of people wearing their frames. Not only did they agree to post my headshot but they also included a link to my novel. This one email got the book a significant amount of international publicity as well as many new followers from all over the world on my social media pages (in the days before Steemit.) The best part? It didn’t cost me a penny.

“People who ask confidently get more than those who are hesitant and uncertain. When you've figured out what you want to ask for, do it with certainty, boldness and confidence. Don't be shy or feel intimidated by the experience. You may face some unexpected criticism, but be prepared for it with confidence.” - Jack Canfield


This same strategy is appropriate with your own works as well. Think of promotional campaigns in which you can bundle multiple projects of your own together and offer them as a package deals and market your work in different ways that generate multiple revenue streams. For example, I have published a few books of my poetry and got a favorable response. I decided to start offering individual autographed prints of poems that were published in those collections for sale online. This was incredibly easy to do and very little work because I print them only as they’re ordered. To be successful as an indie writer it’s important to apply the same creativity that makes you a great writer to the marketing side of your business. Outside of the box thinking will garner great rewards.

“A decent boldness ever meets with friends.” - Homer


Three months ago I interviewed Leon Logothetis for a Q&A piece on Steemit. About that same time I was finishing a manuscript for my soon-to-be-published book on meditation, The Perfect Pause. Leon’s series on Netflix, The Kindness Diaries seemed to mesh well with the subject matter of my book so I asked him if he’d be willing to write a cover blurb for me. Guess what? He said yes! As a writer, you must never be afraid to ask for a favor. You may get a lot of no’s but there’s always a chance you’ll get a YES that will make a huge impact.

Grassroots, local marketing is very useful as well. Look for ways to get your book into the hands of the people in your own community. In the city I live in they have a program called, “Little Libraries.” These are small weatherproof bookcases that people can install in their front yards and people can borrow or donate any books they wish. I’ve donated several copies of my books to these Little Libraries.

Another great way to branch out is to write freelance articles for publications that are in alignment with the subject matter of your writing. Many online publications will allow you to post a short biography and a few links of your choosing along with your articles. The two links I always post are to my Steemit page and my website. Even if you don’t get paid to write these pieces, the exposure can be invaluable.

Once you change your way of thinking to the collaborative mentality you begin to discover countless untapped opportunities that were there all along. Even if you self publish, remember, you don’t have to do it alone. Your odds of success in the publishing business are much greater if you have an army of allies willing to assist you along the way. I’ve discovered that people actually want to help, it’s only a matter of finding an organic business relationship that makes sense for all parties involved.

I'll always be very grateful for those individuals who've taken the time out of their business schedules to help when I ask. Remember, there isn't a writer on this planet who has ever found success on their own. We all need someone to open the door for us, this person might be a benefactor, an editor, or even another author. Chances are, if you're persistent, studious, and strategically bold, someday you'll be the one who has the chance to hold the door open for someone else. This is a feeling beyond compare.

Are you enjoying this Indie Author Series? If so click here to read it.

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Eric Vance Walton - Media

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Thanks for an excellent post with a whole lot of great information and ideas about the world of writing. I particularly liked the "ask for what you want with confidence and boldness". A hard road I've not yet mastered, but certainly should practice. Thanks again for putting this out to we fledgling writers.

You're welcome and I'm glad you found some useful information here!

Wow, those are some really good insider tips for authors, or I would say basically for any artist or freelancer.

Pretty cool idea. I love when people reach out confidently! It's hard though....rejection is always on the back of our minds. That eyeglasses story is fun though :))

It's also smth that James talks about, how you can reach to anyone if you have a good idea for them. It's not like they'll say " fk you!! "

You're right, the fear of rejection is always there. The response from Moscot was very unexpected! James was one of the people I asked for a blurb for this book but he said no. Thankfully Leon came through and he actually is a little better for this subject matter (meditation.)

Any individual, team or company can take advantage of this approach. I have found this approach to be most effective for companies facing problems that involve team members from different departments, backgrounds and personalities.

Absolutely! Thanks for reading.

Very interesting. I had no idea about this approach to marketing a book. I look forward to reading more of your work as time permits.

This post is full of truths, and excellent examples of how to put them into action, another great post @ericvancewalton!

You're welcome, @natureofbeing! Thanks for your comment!

Changing my way of thinking to the collaborative mentality now! Thanks for adding so much value to authors Eric!

You are so welcome @annhoyblog. I believe trying to do everything on my own was the reason it took me so long to meet my goals as a writer.

Collaboration enables us to work with others to create engagements that will profit both sides.

For sure, collaboration is all about "give and take."

Yes, a sharing of thoughts and ideas, making it big and strong.

At oneQ, we are collaborating to grow the Nigerian community on Steemit! We hope to be able to achieve this and get all the support we need.

Speaking of which, would you like to support us?

Welcome to Steemit @onequality! I've followed you and will be reading your posts!

Wow! Thanks for that. Means a lot to us.

'People who ask confidently get more than those who are hesitant and uncertain. When you've figured out what you want to ask for, do it with certainty, boldness and confidence'

I need to include this in the growing number of quotes I have around me! Opportunities don't always come knocking- you have to go knock on some doors too.

I hope this helped in some way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67402.68
ETH 3481.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65