DWELLING - AN ORIGINAL NOVEL - INTRODUCING THE CHARACTERS v2: Rube

in #story7 years ago (edited)

This is the second in a series of posts to introduce the characters of my original novel DWELLING which I'll be exclusively premiering on the platform in the coming weeks. My aim is to help transform the landscape of publishing fiction on Steemit, and help raise the bar by exclusively premiering a full length novel I've worked on for ten years, thereby attracting new interest and readership to the community. In short Dwelling is a crime novel based on true events that impacted my life while living in New York's Lower East Side... You'll find out a whole lot more in the weeks to come...

Rube


Sometimes characters stare back at you out of the darkness. Confront you with something deep within yourself that you can’t make sense of, can barely understand.

What makes someone capable of murder?

Rube was a loner. Street smart way beyond his own good. A pusher, a punk kid. Pizza flipper. With huge American dreams of a player’s life. And a ruthless razor’s anger.

I started writing Dwelling ten years back. A previous tenant of the apartment I was living in had disappeared and my landlord was in prison on murder conspiracy charges. But who was the conspirator? Spotting the stalker warning in my downstairs alcove I began to wonder...

Sometimes it’s amazing to go back and see the rough unformed clay that now has been edited and polished with so many passes. Here are some early Rube impressions:

Rube is always hamering a beat. He bobs his head to his own rythm,
Making music with household items. His rythms.

These were the first clues about who he was.

Rube steals a bike right after getting shaken down.

That was the whole note, this later became the foundation for a whole bike stealing sequence.

Rube and Nastassia in bed together, Rube going down on her.

Rube: See, I provide for you what you need.
Nastassia: Yeah you're a regular ol' family man.

In a late night scene he's taping a rythm for his baby girl.

Nastassia: She dont like that.
Rube: What, B-girl loves my rhythms

The resentment of having responsibilities, grounding Rube, these were shackles he railed against from the start. Leading him eventually down the darkest of paths.

Inspiration strikes from all places. For years I bent my ear to the streets of New York, to the alleys, bars, subway platforms, junkie hangs, police precincts, and the halls of haunted tenement I called home.

Hundreds and eventually thousands of these tiny little moments cumulate to whole. Rube. A life staring back now from the chapters. Out of your head. And into the readers.

I can’t wait to introduce you to Rube. Sorry in advance if he sticks around for a while. He has that way about him.

Yours in the Chain,
Doug

Stay tuned for our next character, Morris aka “The Ogre”... and for the first chapter of Dwelling, soon to follow.

Thanks so much for reading & Steem on!
Doug


SPECIAL THANKS to my wife @zenmommas for years of support during the writing process, @ericvancewalton for his trailblazing, inspired collaboration and incredible guidance, @andrarchy for his mind blowing insight, friendship, @bakerchristopher for being an inspiration as a human artist and bro, @complexring for his brilliance and enthusiasm, Masie Cochran, Taylor Rankin and @elenamoore for their skillful help in editing the manuscript and to Elena Megalos for the fantastic illustrations she created exclusively for the novel's launch on Steemit. I’d also like to thank Eddie Boyce, Jamie Proctor, Katie Mustard, Alan Cumming, Danai Gurira, Stephan Nowecki, Ron Simons, Dave Scott, Alden Karr, Missy Chimovitz, my dad Andy Karr and late mother Wendy , and everyone else who helped lead me to this moment.

DWELLING BLOCKCHAIN COPYRIGHT © DOUG KARR, 2018

I am a Brooklyn based writer, film & commercial director, and crypto-enthusiast, my projects include @HardFork-series an upcoming narrative crypto-noir and my novel Dwelling will soon be premiering exclusively on Steemit, and you can check out more of my work at dougkarr.com, piefacepictures.com, and www.imdb.com/name/nm1512347

Please comment, up-vote and resteem and I'll gladly upvote your comments!


@hardfork-series


dwelling-novel

10% of all profits from Dwelling will be donated to Amnesty International.

follow_dougkarr.gif

Sort:  

I love fiction novels and i think this novel will take it out of the stadium, i like both characters mioko and rube. Thanks for share it first on steemit

Amazing, thanks so much for your support @dim753!

You're welcome friend, Great job and talent

I look forward to the release of the novel, according to your article, I realized that this would be a detective novel. And this is the most interesting when there is intrigue. Thank you for the exchange.

I know you can get your achievement @dougkarr. You nicely explained summery of Dwelling. Appreciated aim you've. Salute you every-time. Keep going with steemit.

I look forward to learning more and to read Dwelling. Rube is an interesting character.

A very interesting image of the Rube and it will be interesting to learn more about it! Thank you @dougkarr

@dougkarr, Absolutely Dwelling will be most popular in this platform and then around the world. You have best objective to help community. So you decided to wrote frictions. I wish you the best. Provide it @hardfork-series.

adore fiction books and I think this novel will remove it from the stadium, I like the two characters mioko and rube. A debt of gratitude is in order for share it first on steemit

@dougkarr this guy just copies people's comments and re-words them, figured I'd give you a heads up if you wanna remove your vote. Some people just piss me off and don't deserve rewards

My goal is to help change the fiction publishing landscape in Steemit,
Hopefully your goal can be achieved @dougkar
thanks for sharing

The characters of Dwelling novel are really attractive. I am really excited for more about this beautiful and interesting novel. This is a really great fiction of your creative mind.
Thanks for sharing this wonderful novel on steemit.

well! this is lOoks interesting noval. I'll be must read it :)
Followed you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62561.21
ETH 2449.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64