DWELLING - AN ORIGINAL NOVEL - INTRODUCING THE CHARACTERS: Mioko

in #story6 years ago (edited)

This is the first in a series of posts to introduce the characters of my original novel DWELLING which I'll be exclusively premiering on the platform in the coming weeks. My aim is to help transform the landscape of publishing fiction on Steemit, and help raise the bar by exclusively premiering a full length novel I've worked on for ten years, thereby attracting new interest and readership to the community. In short Dwelling is a crime novel based on true events that impacted my life while living in New York's Lower East Side... You'll find out a whole lot more in the weeks to come...

It All Started With Mioko


Well that's not exactly true, it started with Rube, but we'll get to that.

When I moved to New York a dozen years ago, my first solo apartment was on the top floor of a Lower east side tenement at the corner of Ludlow and Stanton. I loved the place despite the fact that it was a 1.5 room hole. I didn't yet know that one of the previous tenants had disappeared from the apartment under mysterious circumstances and that the the building had been taken over by an umbrella organization after the landlord had been put in prison, on murder charges.

No, I was too busy living the freewheeling life of a bachelor in my 20s to worry about the place's nefarious past. I'd just read @neilstrauses The Game, (thanks for changing my life back then Neil & for introducing me to Steemit years later!) and I couldn't keep my pants on long enough to climb down the five story walk up for takeout unless there was a girl involved.

And then one night (4/10/08 to be precise) I got hungry enough to take the stairs and what I found taped to the glass of the tenement's front door changed everything.

My synapsis started firing ten trillion a minute* and the kernel of a character was born... well two, but as I said, one thing at a time.

(*there are about 100 billion neurons in the brain, and around 100 trillion synapses. At any one time, only about 10% of the neurons are actually "firing"--much more and you're having an epileptic seizure).

And without further ado, here she is...

MIOKO

A fixture in the tenement, a photographer and recovered heroin addict. With two rent stabilized apartments in the building, Mioko is the principal target of her landlord, Axelrod's aggressive actions.

Alone on a subway car, Mioko ached from the endless pile of returns and emotional abuse. Was it only Tuesday? A deep hankering for an old pharmacological pal hit her, but she did her best to breathe through. Reaching into her bag, she retrieved a miniature bacon chocolate bar saved from the client-only craft table. She popped the paper top, but was distracted by a rush of air and sound. An MTA conductor pushed through the door connecting her car to the next.

She did her best not to look up at the conductor as he approached. She didn't want to put a face to it.

As he moved down the length of the car, she could feel it coming. He was veering in close to her, and as the pant leg of his uniform accidentally brushed the bare skin of her knee, Mioko's back straightened with a little jerk. Her face filled with a flush of exhilaration.

Stay tuned for our next character, Mioko's stalker Rube... and for the first chapter of Dwelling, soon to follow.

Thanks so much for reading & Steem on!
Doug


SPECIAL THANKS to my wife @zenmommas for years of support during the writing process, @ericvancewalton for his trailblazing, inspired collaboration and incredible guidance, @andrarchy for his mind blowing insight, friendship, @bakerchristopher for being an inspiration as a human artist and bro, @complexring for his brilliance and enthusiasm, Masie Cochran, Taylor Rankin and @elenamoore for their skillful help in editing the manuscript and to Elena Megalos for the fantastic illustrations she created exclusively for the novel's launch on Steemit. I’d also like to thank Eddie Boyce, Jamie Proctor, Katie Mustard, Alan Cumming, Danai Gurira, Stephan Nowecki, Ron Simons, Dave Scott, Alden Karr, Missy Chimovitz, my dad Andy Karr and late mother Wendy , and everyone else who helped lead me to this moment.

DWELLING BLOCKCHAIN COPYRIGHT © DOUG KARR, 2018

I am a Brooklyn based writer, film & commercial director, and crypto-enthusiast, my projects include @HardFork-series an upcoming narrative crypto-noir and my novel Dwelling will soon be premiering exclusively on Steemit, and you can check out more of my work at dougkarr.com, piefacepictures.com, and www.imdb.com/name/nm1512347

Please comment, up-vote and resteem and I'll gladly upvote your comments!


@hardfork-series


dwelling-novel

10% of all profits from Dwelling will be donated to Amnesty International.

Sort:  

That is outstanding, everyone should write a novel in their life, sounds quite topical / Best of luck / Online distribution is the way of the future

man, I see you commenting every where I go! you should win an award for that shit! lol

... and I've been cutting back lately too, I swear (-:

Thanks @clumsysilverdad! Your support is very much appreciated.

Right ,you can make a full stiry just from your daily life , only need a good writing method and wild imagination 😂

This novel is going to rock in the market. Hard work always pay off. Best wishes.

Fantastic @dougkarr, really looking forward to following along as Dwelling develops and progresses. Thanks so much for sharing!

i really like fiction...,,,& ..Mioko is an interesting character ... Thanks for puting it first on steemit...good luck for this novel...

Congratulations on pulling the trigger on this! I’m so excited to read more. Best of luck to you, you’re about to embark on a very cool journey. I enjoyed this first installment!

Oh, yes, my friend, it will be very interesting to get acquainted with your novel! Thank you @dougkarr

This novel will be so powerful and worth reading, can't wait to get more of this post thanks

I shall be reading the background with interest. I love where works of fiction come from and to get a glimpse behind the curtain is fascinating.

I'm still a beginner on your blog and will be happy to read your novel. Such subjects will be very interesting, especially since it is based on real events
Mioko is a very interesting character, I think it will be one of the key characters in the novel. I wonder how the character will unfold.
Thank you

what a "novel" approach to introducing a story. This is very cool. Is this also a bit of insight into how you write? first, characters as the plot develops in the back of your head?

The entire novel is already written... just nobody (outside of my editor and a few trusted readers) has read it yet. I’ll be posting the entire book as a serialized Steemit exclusive!

I really dig it, man. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83