Day 4

in #story7 years ago

77CD9B6A-FCD0-4B16-967A-9F29B75AB538.jpeg

Day 4: 6:00am Dec 13 - Wednesday

It was a interesting night. I felt like I was being watched the whole night. With no wind or snow falling I could hear every sound the woods made. I could smell the ash from my fire I had made to cook my food and heat my water. I could hear the branches on the Birch trees creek from the weight of the snow and the cold temperatures. It’s lonely at night and I think in a weird way the forest feels lonely as well. Winter in the north takes its toll on everything.

My goal today is to make it to Jeff’s truck. Hopefully he left a water bottle or 2. If I need to ditch some gear in order to carry more water am going to do it. The leg craps last night were unbelievable. I even did the old trick of pinching my upper lip but, that only lessened the pain. I need to drink more water. A lot more water. I need to up my intake to 1.5 gallons a day. It takes a lot of water to stay warm and to pull the sleds.

I hope I get lucky and find more game today. That was good to eat fresh meat. Another day of good food will make a world of difference.

Once I break camp today I will head out to the road and do some scouting around. I need to find water before noon, so if I have to stop and boil snow I will. Water is life. But for time and energy I am really hoping to find a stream.

According to my thermometer it is -27C today but it is nice and warm in my little hut now that I have restarted the fire. It’s going to be a tough day I think. But on the up side I should find the next truck and hopefully some supplies. I will keep the firing going until I am completely rigged out. Be nice to get some heat before I hit the road.

I must have camped near a family of red squirrels because they are letting me know I have over stayed my welcome in this spot. I don’t want to get them to pissed off at me. Lol

Fingers crossed for a good day.

This is a daily fictional journal of events that started December 10, 2017. Enjoy and thanks from your support and comments. I plan on writing a entry everyday if possible if not more.
#7

@digestingreality

57BB7A51-FCCA-419F-937B-D3EF6D1B804E.png

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62460.04
ETH 2435.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65