Boo!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Ok, so this one is a little bit funny. Not the greatest picture, I know, but let me tell you why.

I was out at the lake one weekend, doing some nature photography, as I am known to do, and as we were bedding down for the night, I suddenly heard a chorus of wolves singing. It was music to my ears! I listened in awe for about 8 minutes, and as suddenly as they started, they stopped. The hairs on my arms were still up, when I told myself, I am going over there tomorrow to try and take some pictures.

The next day, I set out with my pack, and camera into the general vicinity where I thought that I had heard them the night before. It was an almost marshy area of thick pine forest. Easy enough to get lost in, so I was taking great care with my compass and map to keep myself oriented.

I was walking along, totally engaged with navigation, all the while the faint notions of the dangers of the woods (mostly just bears), and the supreme hope that I might encounter one of these ghosts of the forest, or at least some tracks in the moist mud. It was so quiet. Suddenly, about 5 feet from my left side I heard freakishly loud crashing and snapping sounds that lingered for what seemed like an eternity. I pulled out my knife, and anticipated my coming demise. When the noise stopped, and I had a chance to look around, I found this guy! My hands were still shaking with adrenaline when I snapped this picture, nervously laughing to myself at the silliness of it all. It's kinda shaky but you understand now.

-01034 September 13, 2008.jpg


You might feel the urge to laugh at me, but I have had many encounters with black bear in the area, and they are truly nothing to laugh about. I could tell you stories...


It is a lifelong dream of mine to be able to follow a pack of wolves, and document their lives through word and photos. I am a ways away from being able to do that, but someday soon I hope!


Anyway, thanks for listening. Check out my other posts!

Leo Mol

Winter in the Woods

One more Andromeda Shot

A Closer Look (With Video)

ETC...

Sort:  

@davidwilliams, This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Your posts have been very fun to read and i really love your photography and videos! Keep doing posts like these where you talk about your experience, people will love it. Keep up the great work!

wonderful, will suggest it to the group now. Good luck and I will let you know if you get selected! Keep posting that great content!

Thank you for the nomination!

Well, it has been 3 months since I have been on Steemit. I am still learning the ins and outs of the platform. I barely had an audience when I made this post. I am hoping I have more eyeballs on my work now. Also Google might be picking up new visitors now too! So I am making this reply to myself, so that you can vote for it to help me out making more great content in the future. If you are new to Steemit, you might not know that after a certain amount of time, upvotes no longer pay the author. This comment allows you to pay me if you like my work. So sign up for Steemit, and vote me up!

I can imagine you expecting the worst haha, and then seeing this guy... He probably felt exactly like you on hearing you crashing through the woods!
Great post.

This is pretty sweet. Not everyday you meet someone wanting to follow the pack. I love this picture. Beautful fowl. Look forward to your future content!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51