Winter in the WoodssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

This will be my last Winter themed post for a while I think. Just had a hankering to reminisce a bit, in the midst of Summer.

This is my brother sitting in a hasty winter camp. We just set up to have a quick bite to eat. Nothing tastes better than food in the bush.

Import 51 Image 26038 Date  March 07, 2015.jpg©David Williams

Sort:  

Well, it has been 3 months since I have been on Steemit. I am still learning the ins and outs of the platform. I barely had an audience when I made this post. I am hoping I have more eyeballs on my work now. Also Google might be picking up new visitors now too! So I am making this reply to myself, so that you can vote for it to help me out making more great content in the future. If you are new to Steemit, you might not know that after a certain amount of time, upvotes no longer pay the author. This comment allows you to pay me if you like my work. So sign up for Steemit, and vote me up!

You guys are way hardcore!

Lol, hardly. But we have fun!

What's your best advice for keeping warm? I was practically ready to cry when it hit forty degrees one night. Looking at your picture makes me feel pretty wimpy lol!

Warm clothes is a personal decision. I prefer natural materials as they are not prone to melting and spark holes from the fire. Synthetics are warmer and lighter in weight. Layers are important. Part of staying warm is paying attention to your own sweat. If you are working hard enough to sweat, you need to strip down layers. In the short term you might get a little cool, but in the long run you will be warmer because of evaporation. Never wear cotton. It absorbs water and when the water evaporates it sucks the heat right out of you. I do use cotton canvas as my outter layer because it breathes very well. But just about everything I wear is Wool. Wool can be soaked, and still retains warmth. Some say up to 80 percent of the insulation is retained. But like I said, if you don't get wet it is better. I'm thinking about doing a full post on the topic now lol. Thanks for the inspiration!

Solid advice. I'll be happy to read your full article!

wonderful post, I love this type of content! You should expand on it more and tell the story of what you guys experienced that day, I know I would enjoy reading about it!

@davidwilliams I am a member of a new curator team looking at new user content to promote to other steemit users. I will keep yours in mind for sure!

Good to know! Thanks for considering me!

my pleasure! love your outdoors content so far, keep up the good work!

We will one day run into each other out there I'm sure, my wife @leemlaframboise and I enjoy the outdoors(the more remote the better), and live just a few hours north of you in MB. I absolutely agree with the "food in bush" statement. One time, I only had Ketchup chips and rye bread left to eat in the bush, disgusting combination while in civilization.., however..in the bush..Crunchy ketchup chip Sandwiches,,Mmmmmm loved it!!

Hahah! Yup reminds me of good old soda cracker sardine sandwiches!

I keep a running bag of trailmix/gorp through the year, eating/adding/eating/adding. But winter trips are a great way to finally clean it all out. Because everything tastes good on a winter camping trip, lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48