Paracosm

in #story7 years ago (edited)

When I flipped the page in the sketchbook, I was met with another blank, empty page. There was no sign of life down there at all. The landscape was adequate and could sustain sufficient growth but the two-sided, white, blank canvas needed creation. This is my first attempt at using a pen, all the lines are done with a black, fine-tip. Little room for error. Add a 24 pack of Crayola’s, a straight-edge and a No. 2 pencil, this happens:
A32868E0-BC28-4DF8-9354-A5B42C632803.jpeg

In the beginning... It was blank.

The Lines arrived first. They came in sections and they came in quick, criss-crossing through and around eachother, three sets spanning vertically and another three horizontal, covering all four sides of the region. Quick to follow were the others, Round’s and the Blocks settled down quickly whereas other settlers were hesitant.
FDB2FAE1-32D2-477F-921A-59AECB1C22E0.jpeg

As all the newly created inhabitants began familiarizing themselves with their surroundings, something was still missing. The remaining shapes were darkened with pen; square ones, tall ones, some with points and some without. Not until the pen was resting on the canvas, did I realize what was missing. It’s lacking color, everything’s in black and white down there. Boring. This canvas needs Crayola:
AFBB57D0-2507-4317-B383-A2E04AF576FE.jpeg

As development increased and shapes continued to multiply, there was never any tension or disagreements. Never was a portion of property fought over. In fact, The opposite happened. As shapes continued claiming property, even more colors arrived and rather than be hostile toward one another, as space was consumed, they complimented eachother.

Once the Lines began showing their colors, I realized they had the choice to continue onto the other pages, freely, as do all the shapes because there isn’t any borders down there. Just to reassure myself neglecting borders is a good idea, I arranged some pencils around the edge to simulate one. As they took their positions bordering all four sides, what they ultimately formed was a wall. It was unanimous, both borders and walls are excessive and distracting.
572D727E-2200-4A8B-9FC4-27DAB23522AA.jpeg

Thanks for following along! The finish piece is the one you saw when you clicked on this post. Or just scroll up.

Update: All the different colored shapes occupying the Paracosm continue to live harmoniously.
Well, at least It makes sense on paper.

Sort:  

Good to see an addition to your Sketchbook. Keep it up.

I’m glad I’m able to keep you interested. Did you click on Paracosm? Thanks for the continued support. Happy Wednesday @akshayb

Yes, of course, I did before you asked. Happy Thursday

This is really amazing

I’m glad you think so @tauseefkhan, thanks a lot for stopping by!

I saw you follow one of my other crypto pages on Steemit. Since you're interested in the crypto space, follow this page as well. I’m a big fan of Lucyd. Lucyd is launching the LCD token to decentralize the AR revolution. They are designing smartglasses that paired with a blockchain app ecosystem. Follow this LucydICO update page for more information! Upvoted you!

It looks awesome, glad you finished it! Great choice of colors, they really pop! I'll make sure to come back tomorrow to upvote (powering back to full)

I know what you mean. When my power runs out I’m “danget!” Powered up or not you’re welcome where I am, sir. Thanks for the support, check out Numbers if you have a minute.

I'm back 😉. I just read your numbers post. First, thanks for the 'edit' advice, I was totally unaware! In my case (being french), well let's just say that I edited alot.

As for the content, I haven't read a captivating and intriguing story like yours in a long time...and now it got me thinking. I know I will think of this for a while and probably will remember it for a lifetime. Great post

Glad you made it back! Thank you for such kind words @pegarissimo, really. Motivating kind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79