Whispering Hope #5 - ~The Joy of Work~

in #story7 years ago (edited)

A Theological Fantasy - Continued


"But not so with you. Rather, let the greatest among you become as the youngest, and the leader as one who serves."
- Luke 22:26 -


In the old, dark age of the world —

in other words, where you are now — "work" had a really bad reputation. Many considered "work" a dirty word.

Here in the New Heavens and New Earth, work is now an unmitigated delight.

Here's why.


Just in case you missed it,
CLICK HERE for the first installment of this series.


After our first parents fell,

God cursed the universe.

Part of that curse was the coupling of work and survival.

Table of Contents

Work Harder...
Image courtesy of Jordan Whitfield and http://unsplash.com

Think about it.

We started out naked in a lush, temperate garden, surrounded by all the food we would ever need, free for the taking.

When we screwed up, we were tossed out of paradise on our (r)ear. We found ourselves alternately freezing our buns off, sweating it out to produce every little thing we needed, and ultimately dying.

Table of Contents

Hard at work...
Image courtesy of frank mckenna and http://unsplash.com

In the bad old days,

I desperately wanted to work on meaningful things. I wanted to design and create new things. I longed to innovate and bless humanity.

What happened instead?

All too often, I had to work on things that were hot, smelly, difficult, annoying, and menial. I had to scramble to make ends meet. Much of what I had to do was mind-numbingly boring. I'm ashamed to say there were even times I bent a principle or two in order to put food on the family table.

Not any more!


Table of Contents

Hard at work...
Image courtesy of Igor Ovsyannykov and http://unsplash.com

Nowadays, all our needs are met.

The curse has been lifted. We no longer have to work in order to survive. We no longer have to sweat just to eat.

We work for the sheer joy of it. Work is now the complete blessing that it was originally meant to be. It's always a genuine pleasure.


Table of Contents

Hard at work...
Image courtesy of Franz and http://pixabay.com

Heaven is a gift economy.

In God's New Universal Order, the ability to serve, please, delight, encourage, and help others is the greatest joy imaginable.

Here, people actually read what we've written. Brothers and sisters use what we design. We enjoy the hell out of everything that we do for one another. We are quite literally one big, happy family.

I don't have to work to "have more." I'm already a joint owner of the universe.

When I make something, my reward is the thrill I get when I give it away. The look on a friend's face when she accepts my gift is all the payment I need. That, and seeing her value, enjoy, and use what I've made.

I once made my friend Teller a hand-carved chess set. About once a year, I'd send him another piece or two. When I finished the last king, I delivered it in person so we could play a game. (Don't ask... OK, ok, he beat me just like he usually does!)

Haven't you ever enjoyed working?

You know, making or doing something you're good at and enjoy? Something intense that "put you in the zone?" I've found that art is like that. When I carve wood, or write, or draw, time passes in a different sort of flow.

But not all work is solitary.

Collaboration is a real kick.

Some of my greatest thrills started out almost by accident. Picture this scenario:

Ron and I are sharing a craft beer, shooting the breeze. We discover that we've both always shared a love of fireworks. We laugh and talk about Gandalf and his pyrotechnic exploits.

Gandalf's Fireworks - YouTube

Pretty soon,

we're scheming ways to create the greatest fireworks company ever.

Table of Contents
Fireworks, the likes of which you've never seen...
Image courtesy of Thomas-Suisse and http://pixabay.com

We remember an old friend who was pretty good chemist. We tell her about the project — she's in.

Another former colleague used to be a rocket scientist — he's in.

And so on. Pretty soon, we've half a dozen enthusiasts involved, and we're dreaming up the grandest fireworks show ever.

Sound like fun?

Damn straight it is!

We have the time of our lives for a couple of decades, designing pyrotechnic effects never before seen or imagined. We set up a production line and assemble enough blam and bang for a three-hour show.

Table of Contents
We put on a real show!
Image courtesy of Jill Wellington and http://pixabay.com

When we're finally ready, we send out our invitations to all the "A-List." These are people we know will share our excitement.

Opening night arrives.

J.R.R. Tolkien is seated next to C.S. Lewis in the filled-to-capacity amphitheater we built. Jesus himself honors us with his presence. Grandpa Ralph is there.

By unanimous acclaim, the show is a spectacular success. I hear that we've inspired another team to take up the fireworks gauntlet. They will no doubt out-do us.

We pass along everything we've developed so far, including the amphitheater and our production facilities. And that's just one of my "careers" so far, and a relatively short one at that. A couple folk from our company are staying on with the new team; Ron and I are moving on to other exciting tasks.

In one such upcoming project,

I hope to assemble a group to design and build a replica of the Starship U.S.S. Enterprise. We pulled the top-level blueprints from archives in the Library of Heaven. The prints are incomplete, but part of the fun will be making things up as we go along.

That project's going to take considerably longer than the fireworks; maybe fifty to a hundred years or so? We will then of course set out on a series of five-year missions of exploration.

Longer range plans include designing the ultimate roller coaster park, exploring the lava caves on Mars, and engineering an entire, dedicated surf planet.

Did I mention mining the asteroids?

I expect to have enjoyable work to pursue, and an unimaginably vast universe to explore, all of my endless days.

Work is now everything we always wanted it to be,

with no drawbacks, misgivings, or negatives. God himself works! Therefore, for man, work is an integral part of being made in the image of God.

At long last, our work fulfills us.


Johnny Cash, "Sixteen Tons"


But what about personal relationships?

Interaction with others has always been a really mixed bag, filled with both love and pain. If your experience has been at all like mine, the closer we get, the more difficult relationships seem to become.

During Earth's history, God put some pretty strict restrictions on physical intimacy. Some people used to wonder what interpersonal relationships would be like in heaven.

You are about to find out...

Table of Contents

Physical Intimacy?
Image courtesy of StockSnap and http://pixabay.com

Next time.


"No longer will there be any curse. The throne of God and of the Lamb will be in the city, and his servants will serve him."
- Revelation 22:3 -


~FIN~


CLICK HERE for the next installment in this series.


For more stories, Visit our Library "Stories Shelf" by CLICKING the Shelf Below:


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Sort:  

Working for the pleasure of it is a good thing. Do I hear no restrictions on intimacy in heaven??? Thanks for sharing.

Work and serving others is one of the main themes of the New Heavens and New Earth, something we can definitely look forward to with happy anticipation rather than fear of drudgery...

Interpersonal relationships are also something that will be perfected. Stay tuned! ;)

okay so Im a bit "carnal" and the one thing that caught my eye was this phrase on a picture

the likes of which you've never seen...

It reminded me right away of your 45.....ugh. I had a hard time focusing after that.

But you have to still love me bc I read your story - those are the rules :)

Hello, my friend,

I must confess that I'm at a total loss for understanding your comment?

What is "my 45?"

I'm completely puzzled...

P.S. I love you anyway, whether or not you read my stories... ;)

you really don't know .... well...it's your 45th President of the United States of America. The best and smartest. Ever. I can tell you that much :) I know you aren't a government person....but I am sure you've heard of the guy who lives at the white house...and loves the press coverage and whatnot.

No wonder I missed your meaning completely...

I don't watch the news on television. Presidents of this "country" are not, not, not "mine..."

Yeah, I had heard of the guy. But you know far more about him than I ever will, without a doubt. ;)

You are lucky that way. He's too much. It's too much. I can't stand hearing his voice or seeing his face. I'd like to not watch tv...I used to not watch it at all. But the Mr. likes it so I watch it too. I understand that he's not "your" president - and I respect that.

Wow, your reaction reminds me of something:

I've learned some slang from my 14-year old granddaughter... One of the current words she taught me is "trigger." I guess the phrase I used was a "trigger" for you?

Maybe I should start listening to "Mr. T" just so I can learn his phraseology and avoid triggering people without even realizing it... :O

Well you could learn his lingo....to be funny....but he's not funny anymore - he's dangerous.

I never followed politics before...didn't know much and did't really care.

But with what US went through this time around I learned a lot. That would be a whole other post or ten.

I wouldn't want you to pollute your mind or heart with that garbage. His phraseology and attitude is so different from anything I have ever heard. He's a true narcisist and it's sickening to hear him over and over again. There is so much every day that it's hard to keep track of all the lies, twists, drama. Blame blame blame. He gives me heart palpitations sometimes.

hehe....want me to tell you how I really feel about him?

If you learned him you'd be hired as a comedian. :)

I feel like Walt Whitman saying this, particularly his poem, When I Heard the Learn'd Astronomer. Whitman had to reconcile 'knowledge about' with 'experience of'.
Once, I confronted a learn'd Theologian and asked him about heaven. He said, "I never think about it - that's another world."

I gave some thought to this and I thought his answer good, up to a point. But we have to be ready with an answer for the hope in us, and what is hope without a heaven?

What is our hope, if not "the words of eternal life?"

Where does our hope lie, if not in the future, in the restoration of all things?

For what do we wait, if not the revealing of the sons of God?

Thanks for your regular literary references... I'm woefully under-read... ;)

I agree, creatr, but I don't think you're under-read - it was my profession to spend my life in the literary world and these allusions are simply reflective of that. I'm enjoying these meditations on future glory. They're making me ponder all the aspects of the riches we have in Jesus Christ.

Hi John!

You are definitely my "hip-pocket literary expert" then. ;)

And I do appreciate all your allusions and references, they broaden my LAQ (Literary Awareness Quotient). ;)

I'm glad that my writing is moving you to some pondering... :D Stay tuned!

Thanks creatr - I definitely will stay tuned

Without "work" humanity will not going to exist. I will give you my upvote and resteem :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25