~Sittin' In~ A True Story, Short and Sweet...

in #story6 years ago (edited)

"Guitar is for the head, drums are for the chest, but bass gets you in the groin."
- Suzi Quatro -


I was browsing my friend Troy's blog today.

That would be @enjoywithtroy. Troy is a musician - a pianist. He often shares with fellow Steemians music that he enjoys, and I often find that I enjoy the music he's shared.

I was listening to and enjoying The Oscar Peterson Trio performing "A Hymn For Freedom," and the string bass in their group reminded me of a short story I want to tell you.

A Bluegrass Band with a String Bass, Jamming at A.G.S.E.M. - YouTube
Note: Play this for atmosphere as you read my true story...

When it comes to music,

I'm no professional, but I love it. Jesus/God has given me a good ear for music, and I've never met a musical instrument that I didn't like.

A few years ago, I took my family on a visit to the Antique Gas & Steam Engine Museum in Vista, California. The museum is a marvelous place for a visit at any time, but I didn't realize until we were there that it was almost time for their annual bluegrass music festival.

Table of Contents

Playing a string bass...
Image courtesy of Cole Hutson and http://unsplash.com

As we strolled the grounds,

we came across a group of musicians sitting in a circle on a grassy patch of ground. I paused to listen for a minute or two. There were several guitar and banjo players, and it was quite obvious to me that they were having a really good time.

I was getting into the music as well, thoroughly enjoying it, when I noticed a big ol' string bass just lying there on the grass. They must have seen me lovingly eying the bass, because at the end of the song they were playing, one of them motioned me over with his arm. "Come on, sit in with us."

Well, I've never played a string bass before, but why let a little thing like that stop me?

I strolled over, picked up that bass, and in no time I was plunkin' away on it, accompanying the band.

It was a heavenly moment...

You know, one of those sudden, unexpected, joyful experiences that you're totally unprepared for, but that swallows you whole.

Confession: I do play the guitar, and I have a reasonable grasp of string theory, but I had not ever played a non-fretted full-sized string bass before. However, with the good ear God gave me, I didn't have any trouble at all figuring out the key they were in, and picking out a rudimentary bass accompaniment.

To my frustration,

at one point I looked over and could see that the rest of the family was becoming a little restive. When we finished that song, I reluctantly lay the bass gently back down on the grass, thanked the group very kindly for the joy just shared, and rejoined my family.

My friend, when the chance comes along,

don't walk away. Pick up that bass and start a pluckin'.

I was sure glad that I did.


~FIN~


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more true-life stories, CLICK our Library Stories Shelf.


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Don't let the gig pass you by. Make the most of it. You are so kind to mention me. Again your friendship warms my heart. Dad used to set in playing bluegrass in bands and jams. I get it completely. Thanks @creatr.

"Don't let the gig pass you by."

Amen!

Hey @creatr - I'm back! Just got account recovery and secured my passwords and the bluegrass was the perfect music to celebrate. HUGS & LOVE. Mere

Great to hear from you, dear, and glad to hear you've been recovered...

I hope you'll tell us all the story of how this happened? I have to say I was quite shocked. :O

Hugs and love right back at'cha! ❤️

😄😇😄

@creatr

Right now I'm trying to thank everyone who hopped on to help spread the word. I've got to get back to work but I intend to write a good, long post on what not to do. I'm just so relieved to have my name back. The price was a bit steep but I've learned my lesson.

Dang, I wish there was musicians like that here where I live. Mostly there are solo musicians on acoustic guitars. But yeah, I'd grab that opportunity by the balls if I saw one of upright basses looking at me ahah. One day I'll buy one for sure.

Yeah. It was a really, really pleasant surprise!

Just one of those once-in-a-bluegrass-moon opportunities!

Thanks for stopping by. ;)

I bet, and no problem, love these kinds of posts!

This is a great story, @creatr. So you never found out why they had an extra bass lying around?

Good question!

Though I didn't ask, and they didn't say, I suspect that the bass player was simply elsewhere on the museum grounds for a while, or perhaps had run into town... :)

I love making music! It's a pity that some people never have the pleasure of doing so, may that be alone, in a band or in an orchestra (I bet your family belongs to that kind). Thanks for the post.

Hi Lisa,

Glad to hear that we share at least two interests - music and writing. Making music is truly a great pleasure, and amplified when sharing it with others! I'll have to write another story about sitting in at an Irish pub. ;)

Welcome to Steemit! I can see that you're already off to a great start here, and I wish you well.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Love this quote "Guitar is for the head, drums are for the chest, but bass gets you in the groin." and your post @creatr What a cool story!! There is a life lesson in there, just go with the flow!! Pity you couldn't have jammed for another few songs, but hey at least you got one in 👍

Thanks. Yeah, it was hard to pull away... but family comes first! ;)

Thanks for weighing in... :D

You know, one of those sudden, unexpected, joyful experiences that you're totally unprepared for, but that swallows you whole.

Yes I know those moments!!!

I love hearing music in a park as you know :) And I think it's great you had an opportunity to join in.

Thank you, Sweetie... :D

Nice uplifting rhythm!

My friend, when the chance comes along,
don't walk away. Pick up that bass and start a pluckin'.

I couldn’t help but smile reading this heavenly tale. Oh the sweet gifts God gives us in the unexpected.

Also, that quote can apply to a lot of life choices. :)

Nice friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66