Oscar Peterson Trio - Hymn to Freedom! - Jazz Music - Call for Unity - Enjoy with Troy!

in #freedom6 years ago (edited)

Hymn of Freedom

This is a video of the Oscar Peterson Trio live in Denmark in 1964. I love the infusion of jazz and the feel of gospel. This is a composition of his that well may be one of his best. This would have been during the civil rights movement. The lyrics are below. Enjoy!

When every heart joins every heart and together yearns for liberty
That's when we'll be free
When every hand joins every hand and together molds our destiny
That's when we'll be free
Any hour any day, the time soon will come when men will live in dignity
That's when we'll be free, we will be
When every man joins in our song and together singing harmony
That's when we'll be free

images (11).jpg

Thanks for listening. Feel free to comment, Upvote or resteem. - Troy

Sort:  

These guys are good...

Reminds me of a time I was sitting in... Time to write a story about it!

Thanks, Troy...

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks for your kindness. I would love to hear your story when you write it. You bring happiness to my heart. Blessings @creatr.

Just wrote it, Troy...

~Sittin' In~ A True Story, Short and Sweet...

Thanks for the inspiration! ;)

Hey, Troy,

I just had to stop back and thank you again for introducing me to Oscar Peterson.

I've enjoyed listening to this track a number of times, now, and have moved on and am at the moment listening to and immensely enjoying a "Boogie Blues Etude."

😄😇😄

@creatr

Some good playing!. I was introduced to the music of Oscar Peterson when I was about 18. Early on I appreciated his musicianship and talent. One song I remember listening to was his arrangement of Misty. Thanks for sharing this wonderful performance. You probably know he was from Canada. Quite a write up on him in Wikipedia. Oscar Peterson. Again Thanks @creatr

I did not know anything about him. Thanks for the link!

Hi, I'm an Upvote bot. I will upvote your post if you reply to this comment with "Upvote". 👍 a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66