Learning To Stand - A True Surfing Story

in #story7 years ago (edited)

"Stand up for what is right even if you stand alone."
- Suzy Kassem -

One day out of the blue,

my friend Walter stops by my office.

"I have an old surfboard I want to give you." he announces. "It’s in my car. Come on out and take a look."

I'm a bit shook up. Will I have to face my fears?

Table of Contents

We go down to Walter’s VW Microbus.
Image courtesy of Nick Baker and http://unsplash.com

During lunch break,

we go down to Walter’s VW Microbus. True to his word, there is a 6’8" egg waiting for me.

Having now had time to get used to the idea, I find that I'm delighted. I've wanted to learn to stand for a long time. Just like that, my last excuse is gone.

That was a month ago.

Since then, I've diligently worked at this daily.

"Look out for me; I don't know what I'm doing!" I call out to nearby surfers.

Table of Contents

There was a 6’8" egg waiting for me.
Image courtesy of Daniel Ruswick and http://unsplash.com

I knew learning to surf was no easy proposition. Damn, if this board isn't too short...

"You need a longer board, a ten-footer" everyone tells me.

"Thanks" I reply, "I know... but this is the board I have. I’ll just keep working the problem."

At times,

I am discouraged. Day in and day out, it's all I can do to get around on my egg. Occasionally, I'll catch a belly ride.

Table of Contents

It's all I can do to get around...
Image courtesy of Tim Marshall and http://unsplash.com

Ever so slowly,

I learn to get on my knees. Once in a blue moon, I pop up. Then immediately, I drop.

You're sure to love my "standing joke;" it's what I repeat to anyone who will listen.

"I guess learning to surf is a matter of gradually extending the time between when you stand up and when you fall down."


This is a red-letter week!

God sent me a beautiful left this Monday.

I paddle like mad, and catch it.

Turning left, I manage for the first time to stand up long enough to really know that I am standing.

I can feel the balance. Instead of wiping out, the wave dies out. For the very first time, I deliberately fall backwards off the board.

Table of Contents

I deliberately fall backwards off the board.
Image courtesy of shane becker and http://unsplash.com

Total time?

Maybe five seconds. But, what a wonderful five seconds they have been!

Several discouraging days ensue.

Lest anyone think this was a fluke, I repeat the performance on Thursday, Once more, I stand and ride a ways, this time almost making it over a second lip and another drop. Though I stall, hope springs eternal.

On Friday I ride another,

standing and delivering. I am beginning to believe that if I can only get some more consistent good waves to ride, I will be standing much more in the near future.

What will become of body boarding? Some folk I know have told me that after transitioning from a body board to a surfboard they will never go back. I’m not sure I believe that; it is hard to believe that I could ever abandon something that has given me so much joy. However, I guess I will have to reserve judgement until I have spent some more time on my feet.

Table of Contents

Standing is a new experience for me.
Image courtesy of Joschko Hammermann and http://unsplash.com

Though I've ridden many waves on my bodyboard,

standing is a new experience for me. It reminds me of a favorite passage of scripture:

"Now to Him who is able to keep you from stumbling, and to make you stand in the presence of His glory blameless with great joy, 25 to the only God our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion and authority, before all time and now and forever. Amen."
- Jude 24-25


~FIN~


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
>>CLICK HERE!<<


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Wonderful, keep going !

I have and I will... This story actually took place the better part of twenty years ago... ;)

Thanks for sticking to your guns and posting things that are bible related. I was just reading the post you put up last and the comments at the bottom. Super annoying when people try to talk smack about the bible. Calling you crazy sounding for reading the bible. I bet the guy is a backslider. Anyway, keep up the good work. I guess if you are not receiving resistance you would be doing something wrong.
A devil exposed is a devil defeated.

I appreciate your support and encouragement. I expect and understand that a broad spectrum of people will respond, and I'm OK with that... but a cold cup of water from a brother is refreshing, thanks. ;)

Always Be Learning!

This Post was Added to the Steemit Social Media Queue.

Hi, Randy,

Sorry, I somehow missed this a couple of days ago...

THANK YOU! :D

Much appreciated! ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Is it all about balance? think you should just stay on dry land :)

Yes fun sports, not many people who can exercise it, you look great like in the movie. Have a good day off friends.

Wow! Only for a month. I thought for sure you were surfing all your life with the way you described a surfing post before. Kudos for keeping at it. With each time for sure, you'll keep improving :)

Hi, friend,

I don't mean to be misleading, but this story actually took place almost 20 years ago. In other words, I have not been publishing my surfing stories in chronological order... ;)

Lol now I feel embarrassed for misunderstanding! It's a very engaging story though and I realize I may have been missing a lot more of your posts this week. I've been having an awful steemit schedule so I guess this post just made it more evident I need to catch up!

No! Please don't be embarrassed!

Thank you for your kind words about catching up; I'm encouraged to think you enjoy reading my writing. FYI, there are many more surfing stories on my Library Surfing Shelf... ;)

They say if you want to master anything in your life you have to spend at least 10,000 hours doing it. So keep it up and you will be an expert in about 60 weeks my friend.

Hahahahahahaha! I don't expect ever to be expert at surfing!

Thanks for the "encouragement." ;)

Great post and well done on managing 5 seconds standing up. I know that dosen't seem a long time but having tried it myself,I know how hard it is.
Well done.

Thank you!

BTW, this story actually took place almost twenty years ago... and so I've since then stood much longer! But getting started was quite the thrill, and I still go back and enjoy surfing more than almost anything...

those are great picture! Ever tried kitesurfing? best francecso

I have not yet tried kite surfing...

I've watched it. I would love to try it sometime, but it does look quite involved.

Congratulations on so many levels here! You faced a fear. You persisted. You stood. The ending with Scripture is so appropriate. The entire time while I was reading your story, I was thinking how I can apply the principles to myself. No, I am no surfer, but in one's struggles in life, you stumble and fall so often. In the end, I only want to stand before our God. Thank you so much! Followed.

Thank you, friend, for your encouraging comment.

Yes, persistence is very important, and the LORD will help us. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44