If You .Must. Leave Your Dog 🐶 Home Alone...🐕steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Joshua was a sweet-tempered basset hound.

I had gone to New Hampshire in order to start work. My wife stayed in Chicago to close our affairs, planning to follow later with our young son.

Hoping to surprise them, I found Joshua at the shelter, a beautiful, low-slung basset hound with big, soulful eyes. A gift, I thought,for my family, and kindness to an orphaned dog. Sadly, I lacked wisdom, not realizing what was to come.

Joshua Was A Sweet Basset Hound

Joshua Was A Sweet Basset Hound
Photo courtesy of bastianmb and http://pixabay.com

I walked to work one morning,

having sternly instructed Joshua to remain at our cabin in the woods. Lunchtime came, and we piled into his Mercedes with foreman Bob. As we pulled out, there was an ominous bump.

Looking back, there lay poor Joshua — who had followed me to work and hidden under the car — painfully injured. I rushed him to the vet, and waited for the diagnosis...

I rushed him to the vet.

I rushed him to the vet...
Photo courtesy of David Mark and http://pixabay.com

Dogs are loyal, but need training and wise care.

They can also be very intelligent, but they lack language skills. Unless you have spent considerable time properly training your dog, you can't expect him to understand what you've said. However, if you take some proper advance measures, your dog can enjoy a pleasant day at home.

Tire him out before you leave.

Should you need to leave your dog home alone, tire him out first with some good exercise. Take him for a vigorous walk or run. Be certain that he's gotten all of his nervous energy worked out before you leave.

Be sure your dog is safely secured.

Although your dog will do what you train him to do, he has an overwhelming desire to be near you. Don't ever leave your dog alone in a situation that he could simply walk away from. If not properly confined, his instinct will cause him to try following you wherever you go.

Your house trained dog should of course also be allowed to do his business before being confined, but then he should be secured in the house, in a kennel or dog run, or on a properly sized leash to allow him adequate freedom of movement and access to shelter.

Avoid doggie boredom.

As they say, "idle paws are the devil's workshop." Whether left in the house for the day, or (in clement weather) left in a yard properly protected and restrained, be sure that your dog has some constructive options to hold his attention - for example, some chew toys, and perhaps a solid soup bone to gnaw on. Dogs have been found to be calmed by classical music, and so you may consider leaving some classics playing while you are gone.

Provide fresh water.

While your dog is not likely to starve while you are away for a reasonable period of time during the day or evening, you should be sure to provide an adequate supply of fresh, clean water. This is especially the case if your dog is outdoors, particularly in warmer weather.

Be generous with your time and affection.

When you do come home, show your pet that you are just as happy to see him as he is to see you. For me, one of the great blessings of having a dog has always been the joy he expresses when he greets me, both in the morning and when I return home.

Be generous with your time and affection...

Be generous with your time and affection...
Photo courtesy of skeeze and http://pixabay.com

That sad day forty-five years ago, the vet returned with a sobering verdict.

"Joshua's internal injuries will require extensive surgery."

With a young family to care for, I could not afford such a great expense. One choice remained.

When I recall my lack of foresight, I still weep for Joshua's pain and for the loss of what might have been a long and lovely friendship. How could I have expected him to understand "Stay at home?" Rest in peace, my dear friend!

Our dogs love us.

We need to exercise the utmost care and wisdom as we look out for their well-being. I hope you'll never have to deal with sorrow such as I brought upon poor Joshua and myself through my ignorant carelessness.


Postscript: It occurs to me that I should have included the following link for my animal-loving readers. The nicely formatted PDF document contains a topically arranged compilation of scriptures that my friend Amy published years ago.

The verses in this collection have been a great encouragement to me, personally, and also to many friends with whom I have shared it:

What Does the Bible Say About Animals?


Thanks for your time and attention.

I'm here on Steemit because of you, my readers. I wouldn't be here if it weren't for you!


I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about all of them.
Did you enjoy this post?

⬇️Please check out @creatr's world - CLICK each of the images below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Follow me, I'm @creatr

Sort:  

They sure latch on to our hearts, don't they? We've had several dogs over the years. They each have a place. The ones we lost young seem to occupy more space though. We lost two Great Danes on NY Eve in 99. You'd think I could get over it, but I still get misty when I think about them. They were awesome dogs.

I pray the LORD may comfort you in that loss. Not sure if you noticed a couple of things; the compilation of scripture by my friend Amy, and also I truly believe that our LORD will restore our lost, innocent friends to us in the Glory. Just my opinion, but I believe I have a lot of support from both scripture and logic... Perhaps I'll devote a post to the topic one day. ;)

Sorry for your loss. Be grateful for the time you did have with Joshua.
Upvoted, resteemed and followed.

Thank you for your kind condolences. Yes, I am grateful for that time. :)

By the way, @funcooker.... Thank You very much for the re-steem. I think I was half asleep when I responded to you yesterday, and just now clearly realized that you had Re-Steemed my article. I appreciate you! ;)

Your post reminded me I was lucky enough to have a once in a lifetime dog. My career choice doesn't allow me the time to be a canine caretaker now, so I'm happily enjoying my cat who is sitting on my lap as I write this.

Thanks for relating that about your cat... It brought a smile to my face! :)

That would be an awful feeling. I'm sorry for your loss.

Thank you, my friend @countryinspired! I appreciate your visit and your condolences. ;)

Did you ever own another dog?

Several. And, in some cases, the dogs have been "bought by Grandma" for the grandkids - over my objections - and not properly trained. Yet they have, somehow, wormed their way into my heart. Our present dog, due to poor training, once bit me on the finger and drew quite a flood of blood... Nevertheless, she has been forgiven and has become a great joy to me.

heh heh...my wife's the dog trainer - I'm the dog whisperer :)

That's very sad R.I.P Joshua. I do all that even if I am going shopping I leave the TV on for back ground noise it seems to help them. The welcome you get is fabulous they love you so much, Mikas while body shakes with excitement its lovely :)

Yes, our animals truly do become family members. Our present dog greets me every day with great joy. She is one source in my life of completely selfless love. :)

Love my furbabies. At the minute I have 1 cuddled into my side the other curled up on my knee, I love it :)

Isn't it grand! :) Whenever I take a seat in the recliner, our dog will come running over, jump up, and wedge herself between me and one of the arms... Very snug! :O ;)

Its lovely, I would have a housefull of dogs If I could but my kned isn't big enough lol

So sorry, R.I.P Joshua :(
When I must leave my dog Geremia alone I leave the tv on and I covered him using his favorite blanket. I have cats too, Geremia loves the cats and so, my dog is never alone ;)

Thank you very much, @hilarski! Greatly appreciated! :)

Poor Joshua... I feel bad for you and family as well. I know it was long ago, but to me dogs are family members and their loss is always painful.

Indeed. I was grateful for @dragosroua's writing challenge, because it reminded me to tell the story of Joshua's life and passing.

In some of my past posts, I've related some of my strongly held theological beliefs. One is that Jesus, the Creator/God of the universe has a very personal approach to His creatures, and genuinely loves His people, among whom I am one. And so, my expectation is that I will one day simply ask Jesus to restore Joshua to me.

I realize how fantastic that may sound to many. I understand that may appear to be no more than "wishful thinking." Nevertheless, that is a significant part of "who I am," and so I share it with my Steemit friends.

I'll also share, Rich, that I genuinely appreciate your condolences... Thanks so much for stopping by again! :)

We share very similar views about our Lord. You will see Joshua again, if not in this life in the next. All dogs go to Heaven.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80