Kalevala shortly #4 - Aino's tragedysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Miserable for his fate as the becoming wife of Väinämöinen, Aino sorrowed and cried to her father, her brother Joukahainen, her sister and her mother who said to her child:

"Why my daughter are you crying. Eat well and more graceful you'll come.
In a chest inside my hovel, there are silver, golden clothes for you,
for the joy of whole family, for the honor of our home tribe."

But Aino didn't listen her mother's advice: instead she cried for two more days and the mother asked her again:

"What my poor virging are you crying, miserable, who do you complain on?"

Aino answered:

"Your own child you gave away to, commanded for decrepit old man.
I wish you rather commanded me, down below the waves among fish.
Much better down below is to be, rather than for old man's safety."

She got her clothes from the barn, put them on and ran three days in the woods crying until arriving next to a sea in where she went to clean up herself. She saw a boulder and climbed on top of it.

enter image description here

But it rolled down and Aino sank down into the ocean with it:

"Next to a shore I went for wash, into the sea I dipped for bath,
there I, little chicken, was lost, my death in deep waters I found."

When a rabbit delivered the message of Aino's death to her mother, she cried so heavily that it created three rivers of intense rapids.

In every river's islet a tree was grown and on each a cuckoo came and the first one sang: "of love, of love!" the second one: "bridegroom's, bridegroom's!" and the third one: "of bliss, of bliss!"

Aino's mother heard the cuckoos and sorrowed:

"I, poor mother, shall not long for, listen to cuckoos, my heart aches! Otherwise eyes out of my head I'll, cry with tears flowing on my cheeks."




Pics: 1, 2

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Another wonderful story. As always, I enjoyed reading it. Hope you are well. Please take care.

Thank you I'm doing really good! I'm happy knowing you're always there reading these.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44