Kalevala shortly #3 - The challenge of JoukahainensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Once upon there was Joukahainen, Lapplander, who had heard stories of Väinämöinen and his grand powers of singing.

Growing envious to him Joukahainen went to strike up against Väinämöinen and crushed onto him with his sledge and challenged him to a battle; but Väinämöinen refused to battle by sword.

From which Joukahainen got offended:

"One who doesn't accept sword battle, into a dirty pig I shall sing."

From this insult Väinämöinen got furious: He began to sing and the lakes spilled, rocks broke, cliffs cracked and mountains banged...

enter image description here

...and sang Joukahainen into a swamp.

In where his desperation grew: he offered all his fortune but none would Väinämöinen accept until as a last desperate offer Joukahainen promised his sister, Aino, for him.

Väinämöinen accepted the offer from the beaten Joukahainen.

Crushed of knowing by what he had done, he returned to his mother to tell about his unsuccesful warfare.

Hearing the news, Aino got depressed and she cried for days on which her mother asked the reason for:

"Beloved Aino why do you cry? A great man as your husband you'll get,
into house for man tall as tree."

Aino responded:

"Oh mother, my bearer! Something I cry:
for my silky beautiful hair, for its youth and strength of right now,
if I'd had to cover it, hide it, that day I'd sorrow for ever."



Part 4: Aino's tragedy


Pics: 1, 2

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations @celestal! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I really love this story @celestal. I look forward to more. Don't stop writing. Are you using the right tags? I will resteem your story 1 and 3. I did you 2 yesterday. Keep trying!

Many thanks for your support and resteems!

I'm not sure what do you mean by "right tags". Am I using incorrect tags or could I be using better ones? If you're wondering the "poetry" tag it is because I'm doing the dialogs in Kalevala meter and I'm also sometimes "breaking" the meter by putting two syllables into one rhythm which might cause confusion but it's also done in the original Kalevala :D

@celestal what I mean is when you write an article, at the bottom of where you enter your info is a space to choose 5 categories you want to your article to go under. So you could pick poem story culture life post. The main thing is that you want to pick categories where there are more people following so that your post can reach out to the most people as possible. That is what I meant. It may help. Take care.

Yes, I know. I already thought about the tags and I like them as they are for now.

This post has received a 0.35 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58733.26
ETH 2663.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44