Sort:  

#SerialFiction!
Great concept, and great traditions to call into play. Recently someone here wrote about "Dr. Livingston, I presume," but I can't remember who. Your doctor had me wanting to go back to Chapter One (thank you for the links!), and he is as classic as Bilbo Baggins: Dr. Linnaeus had tried arguing with them: he had classes to teach, grants to write, reports to draft. Responsibilities. He was honored to be given the chance, no question about it, but he couldn’t very well just pack up in a rush and head out to Jupiter that same evening. My favorite kind of hero!
At Perihelion Science Fiction ezine, Sam Bellotto spelled out in the submission guidelines "No serial fiction," and for a once-a-month magazine, that makes sense. #GottaLoveSteemit for making it easier to consume serials!

Thank you, @carolkean! I'm happy you went back and read the earlier chapter. Serial fiction can be fun and challenging to write. I'm reminded of Charles Dickens and how people in the Americas used to gather at the harbour to wait for the arriving ships that would bring the latest installments of his series. He was a master at serial writing! In comparison, I feel like a chimp making marks on the dirt with a stick :)

You are most assuredly more accomplished a writer than a chimp making marks on the dirt with a stick :)
Alexander the Great stocked the great library of Alexandria by having every ship in the harbor searched, every book confiscated, copied, and returned. And the library was burned. And what didn't burn sank into the sea. Somehow life goes on.

I'm having a blast writing it. Once I finish it up, I will write an epilogue discussing the anthropological basis for this work. I'm also a big D&D fan, though I didn't play as much as I would've liked to. Thank you for you support, @carlgnash

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22