Split Sleep Schedule - My Experience

in #story7 years ago

It turns out I have this really weird sleep schedule lately because I have been typically working 12 hour days.  I'm actually working more than that technically because I'm working from 5:00 am to 1:30 pm and then leaving work so I can mail out stuff I sold online and then I go back to work from 6:00 pm to 10:00 pm. 

I have never been a morning person and I absolutely hate getting up that early unless I'm going to be doing something fun and exciting that day.  Once I get off at 1:30 pm I'm exhausted and pretty much have to go straight to bed to take a nap when I get home.  I usually sleep for 1 or 2 hours.  Then I wake up and take product to the post office.  It seems like If I sleep for an hour or less it is easier for me to get up.  If I sleep for more than that it is easy for me to get locked in and have a hard time getting up.  

Usually I'm getting only 6 to 7 hours of combined sleep these days which is a huge change for me.  I was used to getting 8 to 10 hours and focusing a lot on working out.  Lately I can't hardly workout with this schedule because the hours are so long and I'm so tired.  

Overall it seems like doing the split sleeping is helping me slightly compared to if I just got the 6 or 7 hours of sleep all in one shot.  I believe that people need to really just go to sleep and then wake up when their body naturally wants to wake up.  Utilizing alarm clocks and not getting enough sleep is very damaging to our health in my opinion.  Hopefully I won't have to do this much longer and can go back to my regular schedule of just sleeping until I wake up.  

Has anyone had any experience trying to sleep in two different segments?  What was your conclusion on that method?  

Sort:  

I normally get 8 straight, I find it's a better 8 straight when I've worked out that day.

8 hours- That's good. Less than 7 hours and I'm tired.

I'm the same way for the most part. Lately I have just been a zombie.

With the lack of sleep I'm getting working out almost sets me back. It sucks. I feel like I need a 13 hour cat nap!

Welcome back. I thought you left us. Followed you back.

Thanks! Yeah I'm still around.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.59 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I think it depends on individual. I know there are people who can sleep longer than 12h even to 24h. I max about 12h if I'm tired but usually 6 to 7 will refresh enough

I have slept 15 hours before. But I really need 8 plus to feel right.

nice photo of the lion - did you take that?
Amazing.
please look at my photo and posts and appreciate your vote and follow if you like
https://steemit.com/steemitphotochallenge/@sunildkavuri/awe-inspiring-uluru-steemitphotochallenge-41-landscapes
https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@sunildkavuri/blast-from-the-past

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17