Awe-Inspiring Uluru SteemitPhotoChallenge #41 - Landscapes

Was 3-day travelling to witness Ayers Rock, also known by its Aboriginal name Uluru worth it?

I shot this 5 years ago with a Nikon D5000 and I am sure you will agree with me YES, it represents one of the most spectacular moments of over 80 countries I have travelled to.

Ayers Rock.jpg

Ayers Rock also known by its Aboriginal name of Uluru - UNESCO World Heritage Site one of the world’s most mysterious religious sites, eclipsing even Stonehenge and far more ancient. It is easily the most iconic natural landform in Australia. A sacred place of the region’s indigenous Aboriginal tribe.

The creation of Uluru began over 500 million years ago. Uluru rises steeply on all sides to a height of 1.6kms, while the summit is generally flat, the rock is about 3.6kms long and 1.9kms wide, with a circumference of 9.4kms. The climb to the top is 1.6kms, much of which is at a steep angle.

Why is the rock red?
The red colour of Uluru is due to the oxidisation or the rusting of the iron-bearing minerals within the rock as it has sat there in the desert air for hundreds of thousands of years.

Magical and Mysterious
The most spectacular moment is at sunset at Uluru, when the vast monolith slowly changes colour through moody blue to mysterious purple. I was luckily enough to witness this and although shot tons of photos I love this photograph the best as it represents the perfect moment, catching a myriad of colours, the mysterious Uluru against a spectacular backdrop.
Incredibly Enchanting.

Please vote, re-steem and follow if you like.

Thanks!!!

Sort:  

One of the spots i did not have time to visit while i was over there :-(

Thanks for this picture, love it!

Thanks for the nice comment.
Yes - it is certainly a treck to get there. But i think it is worth it.
What did you see when you were over in Oz?

Please follow and vote. I will be posting many more.
Thanks

thanks much. wonderful experience

Got to climb Uluru when I was 16 years old I'm 33 now and still remember it as it was yesterday. Epic!!

Oh fantastic. So young. Yes such a memorable experience forever

Nice. Follow you :-)

thanks so much. really exited to me part of steem.

Nice. Follow you :-)

Thanks for the follow. I will be posting more photos of my travels. Have some special ones

You are very welcome @sunildkavuri .

Great shot. Good luck on the challenge. I think you will do well! ohh and Goblin Valley is in Utah USA haha!

Thanks so much. Oh right its in Utah. reminds me from Capadoccia in Turkey.
Will be sharing that soon.
Look forward to staying in touch.

Wonderful photo!

Thanks please follow and will post more beautiful shots

It's beautiful..an awesome shot!

Thanks so much

you're welcome..waiting for your next ones :)

you're very sweet. Will post my favourites with a lovely story behind them

Awesome photo. I hope you will the competition!!! Good luck.

Thanks so much . I would love to. Really excited.

Amazeing place!

yes incredible

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99