The Ouroboros

in #story7 years ago

You promised me elysium from poison; I find myself your worm. I have eaten your death, scoured your earth, relieve me I beg of you. My penance paid my soul bled, my body gnarled.
I asked, you delivered. I have eaten Gods, transcended beyond man. Partaken in the event Armageddon. You leave me so full yet empty, so experienced yet blind.
My hell, your nirvana, I wallow, I beg, relieve me!
I yearn for the end, it eludes me. Curse this immortality. If I had known the horrors I would witness, I would not have started on this infernal path. Gods below and between answer me! My body, a mere shell of my former self, twisted, gnarled bone and leathered flesh. My mind twisted. Deny me and I curse you as you have cursed me!

Hear me! I implore you!
What must I do, so your ears are open to my suffering!? I have been your Christ! Grant me mercy. I beseech you! Damn you Gods, damn me if need be! Take it all away from me. How long must I walk this path, of wretched existence?!

“Look onto me”
“Why wish to turn from my love, my light?”
“You, my most blessed child, I delivered my love onto you.”
“You tasted my flesh, you became as I.” The entity spoke.

“I damn you for having damned me.” I replied.

“Do you not flourish?
Do you not feast upon ambrosia?
Did the poison not alleviate your mortal coil?” The entity replied.

“I ask to have never been... to never be.
Take my weathered body, feed it to mother earth, let my soul dissipate from time, from existence. Only a fool would ever seek to know the universe and its secrets.” I humbly answer.

Insanity becomes me, my voice inseparable from Gods own, delusions of grandeur.
"My god hand my god mind, my great embrace, squeezing heaven and earth to fruition.
To all ends I sought I devoured inside to out, in the end to understand I am the worm devouring my own flesh!" I cry out to the Void.
Awaiting my answer, I feel my wish granted.
Moved to crimson tears from my far removed humanity, my physical construct happily withers embracing sweet death. Eternally grateful the Gods have heard me at last. Serenity echoed through my tormented existence. Raptured, reality becomes as a distant memory. Light leaves me only to awaken in a faintly reminiscent reality.

The night air gently caressing a curtain flowing as if sentient. Squinting my eyes I witness a visage beyond the curtain. The small figure slumbers peacefully. The pale moonlight casting shadows upon the sleeping child. Silent, I reach to touch the child’s head. Recoiling in horror. My heart sank upon my despair filled epiphany. My God has delivered me unto...myself.

I woefully crouch beside the child, ready to bring about the end before it began. To devour their flesh and soul.
Leaning in close as I prepare to feast, the child’s eyes open. Struggling, I feel my essence being absorbed by this youth locked in their soulless stare. I accept my fate, fading into the night, this act setting me upon my same woeful path. I now understand, I am the Ouroboros. Never free from the path of the damned.

The morning light pierces the darkness. The beast of the between, never to be seen. A child lies in its place, the void repaired once again.
It is but a dream. A vision existing only in the mind’s eye of the canine.
Whimpering the witness wakes.

Sort:  

Congratulations @atralyx! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @atralyx! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63020.02
ETH 2458.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62