The Time Keeper: Part 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Continued from Part 1

The Time Keeper: Part 2

 Image source

Taxi guy: "So, where ya going?" 

Me: "Take me to Time Square". I stutter as I speak, still recovering from the unexplained event earlier.

Taxi guy: "So, what's the deal back there? You looking for someone or something?" 

Me: "Oh, did you not see an old lady I was talking to back there?"

The taxi driver paused for a few moments and said: "It's a little too early to be getting high, eh? You best stay off those else Imma need to ask you to get off my cab"

Shocked and annoyed, I reacted without thinking: "Hey, I'm clean! Don't accuse me, you don't really know me. Just say 'No' if you didn't see anything"

Taxi guy: "Hey, I'm just saying. Watch the attitude there. Kids nowadays...."

The journey is then filled with silence and awkwardness. As I was trying to make sense of the event earlier, the taxi guy interrupted my thoughts.

Taxi guy: "Ya know.. I reckon she's just right about your age by now... 21? Are you 21, kid?"

Me: "Errr.. huh? Yeah I'm turning 21 in a couple of months"

Taxi guy: "Hah! I knew it. Sorry about back there. Ya know kid, I once had a daughter. Very bright little rascal. She looked just like her mother. You reminded me of her ya know. That frisky attitude of yours that is..."

Me: "Hey cut it out. I was taken by surprise. So, err.... wh.." Before I could finish, the taxi guy interrupted again.

Taxi guy: "She's gone now... Cancer took her when she was 12... We couldn't afford her treatment you see..."

Me: "Oh geez.. I'm sorry to hear that mister. I'm sure she's at a better place now watching over both of you.."

Taxi guy: "Hah! ha ha ha ha ha! My wife left me soon after for another guy. A rich bastard who inherited his father's will. He's the son of the Titan Bank ya see... I'm sure she's doing a lot f*cking better than when she's with a nobody like me"

Me: "Oops.. I'm really sorry to hear that..." Damn, I should've kept my mouth shut. Why am I even drawn into this soapy conversation! This is so not like me at all.

Taxi guy: "Don't be silly kid! I'm doing just fine! Look at me, I have a decent job.... ahem.. well, I'm able to feed myself without relying on some government welfare. I will not allow anyone to look down on me!"

The taxi guy got a little emotional when he said that. I can see tears start welling in his eyes. Thinking about it, I should really be thankful for what I have. What a lucky person I am when there are so many unfortunate people out there. But, why am I still drawn into this conversation is beyond me.

Me: "What's her name? Your daughter's name, I mean"

There was a long pause before the taxi guy responded- "Esmeralda.. Esmeralda was her name.."

Me: "That's a beautiful name. I'm sure she's as beautiful as a flawless emerald gem.." Dafuq was I even saying this? Emerald gem? I need to look for a place to bury myself.

Taxi guy: "Yeah.. She's a true beauty. My beautiful gem, Esmeralda. I miss her so much.. If I have a wish, I would turn back time and fix all this.. "

As soon as the taxi driver say that, a blinding flash hit me like a brick. I am momentarily blinded from all my senses. An eerie voice then whispered to me in my mind.

"You.. have.. the.. power.. .. Use.. it.." 

I don't get it. Power? What power? What's happening to me?

"HEY! HEY KID! You alright back there?? Snap out of it! C'mon, quit playing around!"

I recognized this voice... It was the taxi guy's voice. I must've blacked out in the middle of our soapy conversation. For a brief moment there, I hoped that this entire scenario was just a dream.

Taxi guy: "You sure you alright there kid? You need to go to the hospital ya know. For a checkup.. Maybe it's that pesky cancer..."

Me: "I'm fine, I'm fine. Just take me to Time Square"

Taxi guy: "Okay okay.. we're almost there. Hmm.. what's with this traffic all of a sudden"

The traffic comes to a complete standstill. Something is happening right ahead. Dark, giant smoke billows over the city sky while screams can be heard.

"It came from under!!!"

-End of Part 2- 


I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I do writing it. Please re-steem and consider following me on my future works :)   

Sort:  

This is great!!! I can't wait to have my first dmt journey in the next few days. Sounds intense :)

Trip safe my fellow psychonaut! May the light be with you!

What a twist! What happened in the city during this taxi "trip" ?? Sudden storm? Keep it coming!

Plot twist all the time! I can't decide which one is better haha..

enjoyed it a lot, best thing about this story is that words you used are really simple and easy to understand ... waiting for part 3 ...

Thank you. That is exactly what I want. Simple and easy to read :)

Nice written, I like the words used.

And before its starts it was like below pic ;-)

Haha... not that serious but you get the idea :)

enjoyed.. waiting for part 3

@arconite part 3 please.. ......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56