Descriptions on the Spot: Jul 6 - Jul

in #story7 years ago

Thank you to everyone who posted in last week's Descriptions on the Spot! We had three entries, from @nexusfyre, @naquoya, and @creativesoul. You guys made last week very exciting for me!

Last week's winner was @nexusfyre for his response to the prompt reversal. If you haven't checked it out, read it here; it was well-written and I did not see that ending coming. He took the 30SBD pot that's been accruing over the last few weeks, so moving into this week's contest, the pot is reset.

Welcome to another week of Descriptions on the Spot!


Special thanks are in order to @jedau, @virtualgrowth, and all the old-timers who got this ball rolling in the first place. I also want to thank @rhondak for her tireless work at the Minnow Support Project and the Fiction Workshop, which I now inhabit on Discord. Also, @kryptik: YOU NEED TO SUBMIT SOMETHING. I won't take no for an answer, you beautiful bastard!

In case you missed our first return post in six months, Descriptions on the Spot is a writing contest for fiction authors. It isn't genre specific, and anyone can enter.

How it works:
I'm going to leave a few writing prompts in the comments section. You are more than welcome to add to them. Writing prompts can be anything, but try to keep them short; a sentence or less if possible. You can also use photographs and images that have been posted by people here on Steemit as prompts, provided you ask their permission first and link back to their original post in your story! @steemitadventure has been kind enough to loan us two of her pictures (which you can find on last week's post)!

All submissions must be original works; no copying and pasting older stories! There's no maximum limit on word count, but please at least make it 200 words long. Once you have a story written up, leave a comment below the specific writing prompt you responded to with a link to your story. That will keep the comments section relatively cleared up, and it will make it much easier for me to go through and read all the entries.

What you can win:
Well, I want to say that winning the respect and approval of your peers is enough, but a cash prize is always appreciated, right? Since I don't have anyone else curating the post with me at the moment, I'll take a look at the submissions myself. Every week will have one winner, and they'll earn at least 5SBD or the SBD for the post payout; whichever ends up being greater that week! SBD rewards from previous posts, if unclaimed, will roll over into the next week's posts.

Let's get some submissions going and put some work in! Time is money, and there's already some money on the table!


Andrei Chira is an anarcho-capitalist, former 82nd Airborne paratrooper, vaper, and all-around cool guy. He's a father to one wonderful little girl named Kate, lives down in Alabama, and spends his time writing stories, posting to Steemit (not as much as he probably should), and cultivating the mental fortitude to make it through three years of law school.

Sort:  

Prompt (utilise all of the following words): fruit, bookcase, train

So sorry about not providing any prompt words. My internet died at home, and this is the first change I got to do it at work. So, without further ado:

could be worse
laconic
infusion
absurd
courageous

Hey, I entered for fun - but I find it odd there was no feedback. I truly did want some form of 'respect and approval of peers' even if only in the attempt. You jumped right into another contest without commenting on the entries. I don't like how this has been done.

My apologies! I didn't mean to seem like I was brushing you or anyone else off; I don't generally provide feedback. The way I normally do it is to thank the people that participated in last week's contest on the header of the current week's contest post.

That being said, if you'd like feedback, I'd be happy to provide it. And once again, thank you for participating!

I don't need feedback its just nice. Half the fun of participation seems to be missing. Some kind of interaction or commentary is nice among the host and the other entrants...more than just a passing acknowledgment. Makes the whole thing more inviting.

For me a contest begins to feel robotic if it's just onto the next....then onto the next. Who ranked first, second, third? It's fun to see the outcome and improve our skills along the way.

I only say this with respect, honesty and kindness in mind <3

Edit: You know what? The post above is not the one I remember reading.
I don't know what happened but I am so confused right now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68606.74
ETH 3912.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64