THE INTERROGATION ROOM [CHAPTER 2 OF 2]

in #story6 years ago


image
Noh Mun Duek, (2013) CC BY-SA 3.0 in wikimedia commons

The room became silent again. Only one man was confused - he kept staring at Bryan and his boss at intervals. He didn't understand the situation again. Few minutes ago, his boss was trying to get information from someone they took as a murderer, now the criminal is accusing his interrogator for the murder. He grabbed his gun and pointed it at his boss.

"Don't even try to raise your gun, boss." He cocked the gun and cleared his throat.

"Now, I need to understand what's going on here. Who killed the senator and who's the maniac trying to gun you down?" He faced Bryan.

The room became silent again. Bryan was still figuring how to connect the dots. He had a pin in his hand, and he's been trying to set himself free from the handcuff, while Inspector David was trying to make a phone call.

"You guys think I'm joking, right?" He shouted.

Bryan and David looked at him this time, they both sighed at the same time and continued what they were doing - thinking and reminiscing. Inspector Dele stood up from where he ducked, he was boiling in anger. This startled Bryan and David and they shifted back in fear.

"Pass your gun here." He faced his boss.

David did as he said. He threw the gun at Dele and tried saying something when a gunshot was heard. Dele dropped dead and the door opened immediately. Gabriel walked in with a smile on his face.

"What have you done, Gabriel?" Inspector David asked looking surprised.

"What you failed to do, Dad." He replied bluntly. He walked to the lifeless body of Dele and picked his gun and his Dad's. He sat down in one of the chairs and faced them.

"Bryan, I'm sorry you have to die too. The plan was to eliminate only the senator and frame you for it. But I just figured out you being alive is a threat to me. You won't rest until you find the real killer, and I know you will connect the dots sooner or later."

"Why are you doing this?" David screamed.

"Don't give me that face, Dad. I know you wanted this deep down in your heart." Gabriel replied. The smile on his face had disappeared.

Bryan had successfully unlocked the handcuff, but he still left it in his hands, thinking of a plan. He coughed just to get their attention.

"The Senator was good to your family, why would you guys want him dead?" He asked.

Gabriel laughed out loud and brought out a small bottle from his pocket. He gulped a large quantity of what is inside into his stomach, then he faced Bryan.

"My Dad should have been the senator, not him. Williams had always collected everything my father wanted. He was never interested in politics, but he had the connections. After my Dad told him his intentions and the necessary steps he should take to give him the chance of becoming one, late Williams suddenly had interest and promised my Dad a better post. A Divisional Police Officer is the better post." He said, pointing at his Dad.

"It isn't your fight, Gabriel. Your Dad should have faced him instead of being a coward." Bryan said and smiled. The smile on his face was replaced with a scowl after getting a gunshot on his left leg. He winced in pain.

"I just killed someone because he cheated my father, imagine what I'll do if someone insulted him". Gabriel said and kissed his gun.

He loosed his tie and dropped his gun and the other two he had picked in the room on the table. He shifted the table backwards, picked one gun, and went back to his chair. He needed a lot of space.

"I confronted him." David said and coughed loudly. "I summoned courage and talked to him one faithful night. I made him realize everything he had done to me. How he collected my girlfriends in school, the prefect post I'd wanted and finally the senatorial seat. I was expecting my friend to defend his self but he didn't. He started crying, and that was when I knew he never realized what he had done. I've always acted like everything was cool, and that was the mistake I made. I forgave him, but he kept apologizing. Then he said there's one more thing I should know." He stood up and went to meet his son. He collected the bottle from him; he poured some quantity into his big stomach and continued.

"He was sleeping with the girl I love. A lady I told him about - I was trying to gather courage to talk to her, but my friend had gone behind my back to woo her. We both decided not to marry, and I've always told him about marrying this lady, which he objected to. Williams' wife was the love of my life." He sobbed.

"But you've been having sex with her anyway." Bryan said and watched David's facial expression, "you are surprised I know? Don't be. The senator knew too."

"Killing Williams wouldn't have been successful without her though. She wanted him dead too. She told me all the necessary information I needed to know - where the idiot will be and when. He tells his wife everything whenever they make love. Stupid man!" Gabriel said.

"I knew something wasn't right when she made you one of her guards. I've been suspecting you the very first day you entered the security room, claiming it's a mistake." Bryan tried to stand up but he thought otherwise. He looked at David and his son and continued.

"I think I understand what he's trying to tell me about his wife the day he died. He knew his wife had a hand in it. She was the only one that knew where we will be at that moment."

"Okay, it's enough. Time to visit your master wherever he is." Gabriel said and made to shoot.


image
Pixabay

Inspector David snapped the gun away from him immediately and it entered a hole in the room. They both ran to the table to retrieve the other guns. Gabriel almost took one, but was stopped by his father. He got a punch on his face. Father and son began struggling and fighting to get hold of a gun. The fight lasted long enough and David was bleeding already. He had received lots of punch from his son.

"Okay, stop! I'm tired of watching you guys."

Bryan's voice didn't stop them, but a gunshot that followed afterwards did the magic. They stopped the fight and were amazed when they saw him on his feet with a gun. The handcuff had disappeared, and he was with the gun that fell into the hole.

"You see what you caused, Dad? I'm here trying to help you solve what you couldn't solve. You should be proud you have a son with balls. You should be happy I killed the senator. You can have his wife and his fortune now. His thirteen year old kid can't do anything. You are always a coward."

"Perfect summary, Gabriel. This is enough to put you in jail. You wouldn't die in my hands - you will be hanged for sure." Bryan said and placed David's phone in his pocket.

Gabriel became devastated. He brought out a knife from his back pocket and stood up.

"I'll rather die here than listen to a Judge tell me how and where to die."

He charged at Bryan and dropped down half way. His two legs received bullets from Bryan's gun. Meanwhile, Inspector David had gone to the table to retrieve the gun. He raised it at Bryan immediately. They pointed their weapon at themselves. Three policemen walked in and pointed their guns at both men.

"Drop your guns." One of the policemen shouted. "Please don't make make me count to three."

David looked at his son and the policemen and realize what the outcome will be. His son will be killed, and his career will be at stake. They might prove he's involve in the murder too, because he's been having sex with friend's wife. And he can't deny he has told her some vital things about Williams - things that helped Gabriel know how and when to kill him. The light tool, Reforte 47 XP wasn't suppose to be in his house, yet he carried it home for an experiment - that was how his son got hold of it. He decided his fate at that spot. He pointed the gun at his self.

"Inspector David, don't try that please. You are not the criminal here."

That was the last thing David heard.

The end.


@afolwalex writes.


Sort:  

your post has been curated by the records accounts

Hi @afolwalex!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.570 which ranks you at #15387 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 43 places in the last three days (old rank 15344).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 251 contributions, your post is ranked at #229.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

This is quite interesting and worth my time to read. Thanks for this piece.

#bigwaves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57249.56
ETH 2352.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38