You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Mausoleum Part 1

Oooh! That's great!

I do think you're excited by this (as am I) but you're in control here and you need to pull the reins a little harder.

Draw-out the tension and you will draw your readers in.

Also, one thing to look for is the use of tenses - past present and future should be compartmentalised and separate from each other.

The night and the cold set in as the cemetery became completely vacant.
Victoria turns and leaves and once entering her home pulls the fingers of her black lace gloves and lays them on the table.

Things can (and do) occur simultaneously, but not as often as you'd think. In your sentence:

The night and the cold set in as the cemetery became completely vacant.

Stretch it out, increase the atmosphere.

She shivers and wraps her arms around herself. The night is creeping up on her, the cold accompanies it, chilling her bones even through her coat.

Victoria turns to leave. She glances back only once, the gloom enveloping the mausoleum gradually so she knows there is no point in looking again.

When she gets home, the first thing she does - as she always does, is remove her lace gloves, pulling each finger to loosen the fabric.

I'm not saying that you must use those words, (of course, I don't mind if you do).

Keep the tenses in your mind as you re-read your work and see if you can spot where they merge.

Sort:  

You are spot on as you would say. (Attempting to speak the way you do. lol)
I have only written a couple of screenplays so I knew I had a problem because I want to start and do the setting like you do in screenplays. Example: EXT. Cemetary Day .. you accomplished in that area also so I know you understand. Thanks again for your comment and time. 🎀

You're most welcome!

Personally, I find present tense difficult to wrap the story in. I find it easier to look back on events and describe them rather than get everything in the correct sequence as it happens. I'm really not sure if that makes sense... but it does to me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60731.80
ETH 2630.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62