Drawing in Layers

in #stickman5 years ago

My son is pretty easily impressed with apartment buildings. He visited our cousins in Gangnam and thinks that life there is beautiful. They have a guard and all the roads in the apartment complex are underground so he can ride his bike everywhere freely not worrying about cars. The best part of all is there are so many playgrounds. He just takes the elevator to the first floor and there is a playground.


Moses Apartment 2.jpg


Every time I open my tablet to draw something he takes the pencil out of my hand and draws an apartment building and a playground. This time I taught him a new trick called “layers”. If you draw in layers you can start rough sketch in pencil and then use a pen or brush to make the sketch clear.

The picture above was painted with a brush and the picture below was his rough sketch done in pencil. We ended up erasing the pencil sketch and just left the brush outline. After painting over his rough sketch he found that his original lines were not so straight. He cleared that up and made some improvements.



Pencil first sketch

Moses Apartment 1.jpg


Paint over

Moses Apartment 2.jpg


So far he has used the pen more than I have and I’m glad. I had a lot of ideas for sketches but it is taking some time to relearn through digital drawing. My youngest is in second grade and he is teaching me a few things like “just draw anyway dad.”

We all have vacation next week and although we can’t go anywhere special I’m sure something special will happen.

Peace,

@mineopoly

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Quite the little artist you have on your hands there @mineopoly. I love seeing the sketches and knowing this is digital, I have a question for you.

I see you use a tablet and being kinda old school myself, I really enjoy physically writing with pen and paper. I'm facing a problem though, it's time consuming to write and then to type it all to get it into my computer. I would just write on my computer but the thoughts don't seem to flow with the distraction of other things on the screen. My question... is there a tablet that I could use to write on with a stylus? Could I get a tablet like you have and instead of drawing, I can write? And then I think I would run into the problem of taking it from handwriting to text.

And maybe I could start sketching... you and your son could teach me a thing or two.

There are tablets specifically for writing. This one works like a mouse. This one works as a mouse. We plug it into the USB. The pen stands alone and doesn't need to be charged. It cost about 50 dollars for this tablet on ebay. It is portable but if you work it needs to be at the computer.

The company is UGEE and we use UGEE m708. If you want a portable tablet look at 1910B. Visit the UGEE to get an idea of what you need. They are compatible with most computers and programs but the short cut buttons are designed to work with photo shop. Moving the pen around and clicking works like a mouse so I don't use many short cuts. It is kind of like learning to ride a bicycle without training wheels. That's why it helps to have a kid with you.

Good morning @mineopoly

Sorry for this comment, which is a little bit off-topic. But Ive noticed that you supported dstors with delegation and you may not know it, but it seem that dstors shut down their project lately.

Those guys didn't even bother to contact people who supported them. Such a shame. This project looked very promissing.

ps.
I was wondering if you would consider supporting my efforts in building a crypto community here on Steemit..

Since HF20 took place, myself, along with a few other active "Steemians" decided to put in extra effort into making our little community stronger. And community build mostly on mutual engagement and support instead of financial rewards.

I recently delegated over 3500 SP to a group of 80 active steemians who struggled with low RC levels (resource credit). And the results has been great so far. One of my latest posts reached over 800 comments, which I found insane

Those results are only proving that our efforts are worth something. The only thing is that I can only do "that much" with my current resources.

Perhaps you could consider supporting our efforts with some delegation? I would seriously appreciate your help.

Please let me know what do you think. I will appreciate every feedback, regardless of your decision.

Yours
Piotr

Thanks for reminding me. I haven't been able to keep up with them. It was a great idea from the start and something I always wanted to do. Now the homesteading group is doing a store that I really do like. I will look into that. I think that if Steem is used in a "real" economy then it will have a value of its own.

Dear @mineopoly

Thank you for your kind comment and I'm sorry for replying so late.

Would you mind if I would tell you a little bit about my community project, which revolves around supporting valuable writers and their quality content related to blockchain and crypto_

Perhaps you could consider supporting me in the future. I promise not to be pushy.

Yours
Piotr

Howdy sir mineopoly! All the roads are underground? wow. I can see some advantages to that. I think it's cool that you guys are learning how to draw together!

Thanks @janton sir,

We really enjoyed this week, but I'm in school next week. Yes, all of the roads in our cousin's village are underground, but that is a private guarded neighborhood not public streets.

sir mineopoly..is that unusual for a complex to have all underground roads? I've never heard of such a thing and it sounds like that would cost a fortune! Is crime so bad that they need a private, guarded neighborhood?

There is a lot less crime here than other cities this size around the world. It is just what rich people are comfortable with. Like we can walk around at night in most areas of the city with no problem.

wow sir mineopoly I'm glad it's so safe there, do you know why that is? I mean what is so different there?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60210.85
ETH 3297.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38