You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Day Australia Wept 💔 Saying Farewell to Aussie Legend Steve Irwin may he RIP

in #steveirwin8 years ago (edited)

Thanks @papa-pepper he was a genuine down to earth guy who never let the fame alter him one iota.

I know what you mean I've had a few run ins with a range of snakes here in QLD including finding one in our living room O_o and I managed to catch a massive python at my families house just near the zoo a few years back - got it into a box until the snake catchers came to release it further out, in the end I usually end up thinking of Steve.

Your tribute was great too here's the link for anyone who hasn't seen it https://steemit.com/nature/@papa-pepper/my-short-video-tribute-to-steve-irwin

Sort:  

WOW!

You linked my post!

Thanks, and I appreciate it. I wish we had wild pythons here. Aren't **Carpet Pythons" from Australia?

Hey I just saw her post and was about to link to you in my comment. Very nice and well deserved my friend!

Yep and that's what I caught it was a biggen too, I have never really handled snakes much lizards and the like yes but not so much massive pythons.

I was amazed by it's strength once I got it in the box it started striking the lid and actually dislodged it, I ended up having to weigh it down until he could be rehomed safely.

@papa-pepper of course this is about Steve appreciation, I would love it if everyone mentioned in what way even if small Steve made an impact on your life?

He was a top bloke and I miss him and what he brought to our damaged world.

I think that the biggest impact that he made in my life was EDUCATED FEARLESSNESS. I'd been grabbing everything in the swamps up in Wisconsin ever since I was a kid, and then this guy (Steve) is messing with crocodiles and brown snakes! I thought, well, if you understand what you're up against and are comfortable with the risks, why not?

As you may have seen from some of my stuff, I'll jump into about anywhere if I think I can pull something out. It is so exciting to be involved with the world on that level.

On pythons, I had a 10 footer down in New Orleans (Albino Burmese Python) but my friend has a couple of Carpet Pythons, maybe 7 and 8 feet each. Those are some incredible looking animals!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65754.91
ETH 2670.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88