We Won!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #stem6 years ago

What did you win I hear you all screaming. Or maybe I don't, but I wish I did :-) Anyways here it comes.

Recently I have rebooted my research career. I have become involved in a few, quite interesting research projects one of which is a soft-robot project.
My accomplices and I had submitted a poster to the SCA 2018 conference, and not only was it accepted -

It also won the best poster award!

Apart from the obvious personal gratification and bragging (as if that is not enough), The reason for this post is that I think the area of letting robots learn their own controls is a very interesting one.
This particular project is an open source project both when it comes to the software, but also the "Learning cube" that we build. We ARE NOT there yet, but the plan is to release all the .stl files for the 3d printed parts, and the instructions for building the cube, as well as plans for some of our homemade "robots" (which at the moment is just glorified string puppets)

We plan on making more advanced robots and have just recently been given a small grant which I believe will go into buying a pneumatic system, so that we can test how our Cube works with air robots.
I will keep you posted on any new developments on this project


Thanks for reading this. Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem.
If this post is more than 7 days old , consider upvoting one of my newer posts instead.
or you can check out these recent posts

smiling girl 2
sensor box
Smiling girl

If you are interested in my miniatures, you might also consider visiting my shapeways shop

Sort:  

Congrats!

Just popped up in my head: I vaguely remember a project at the university here, where a floppy metal arm, basically just a thin, flat stick of metal, was moved as if it were rigid by a motor controlled by software running on a transputer network. The system wasn't self-learning, but they added that later.

Thanks.
Yes There are many ways to skin that goat. It is also something with a lot of potential uses.

Well congrats to you .... You have obviously done excellent job.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74