Armed with a smile #2 In the real worldsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #print3d6 years ago

Such a beautiful lady deserves a life of her own. I can not keep her confined to pixels and voxels. It was about time I got her printed.

For the puritans out there (and for not getting an adult tag at shapeways) I decided to make the version above with a bikini on. I have of course also made a nude version(or is it really nudity when she wears shoes?) which is the one I printed

As I often do I textured the model even though that will be lost in printing - or will it? - At shapeways it is possible to print in "sandstone" which has support for full colour prints so in this case it is actually not true and I textured it to get the opportunity to try out their sandstone prints.
They are fairly expensive though so I am not sure when i will have the cash to dish out for ordering my own print , but I can always put it up for sale in glorious color.

The test print that I wanted to make was made using my Ultimaker and thus, I used CURA as my slicer


There is quite some overhang on this one so i chose to go for support structure everywhere.

With the filament I am currently using I have had some problems with the supports sticking to well to the model, but I have done some experimenting and got it dialed in at 205 degrees and 100% fan power. That seemed to work on this one. The supports came loose no problems.

Since this is a test print I did it on the lowest possible setting (0.2 mm layerheight 10% infill). That made it possible to print this little figure in only a little over an hour.

Obviously the layer lines are quite visible, especially where the surface is close to horisontal, but I will probably make another print where I scale up the model and scale down the layer height.

All in all a great success. It is a fairly complicated model to print, and I am very pleased with my initial result. what do you think?


Thanks for reading this. Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem.
If this post is more than 7 days old , consider upvoting one of my newer posts instead.
or you can check out these recent posts

sensor box
Smiling girl

If you are interested in my miniatures, you might also consider visiting my shapeways shop

Sort:  

Ok, her smile is much better now :) and she got a ground where to sit! nice.

Nice one!

There is quite some overhang on this one so i chose to go for support structure

Or "bra", as some people say.

What is this sandstone stuff and how do you get colour/texture on it?

Thanks :-) yeah i was also mostly thinking about that when i wrote it.
I am not sure what the sandstone material is really made of. I suspect some kind of plaster/gypsum. as I understand is is a powder. The colours are simply printed using something quite close to normal (2d) inkjet printing for every layer, they do another run where they print colour unto the outer shell. then finally it is coated in cyano-acrylate to fixate it. their own explanation is here but it doesnt go very much into details

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27