Steem Trail Daily - Wednesday, February 15th, 2017

in #steemtraildaily7 years ago (edited)


Building Communities One Trail at a Time


Wednesday Inquiry

  • What a scoop! :
    Steem Trail Daily is pleased to support and promote Fiction Trail Magazine and especially the weekly writing contest run by @michelle-gent . We were able to get a list of the winning selections for last week's contest, with a short review of the stories by Michelle, just in time to make this issue of Steem Trail Daily!

    Let's see what @Shell had to say about them!


    First, the honorable mention, by @mgaft1, "A Drone Operator".
    Though this didn’t get placed, I felt the story was worth a mention and a few lines of critique.
    For me, the telling was slowed down a little by adding the massage techniques, muscles and pressure-points. It took me out of the story a little too much because I wanted to know more about that too.

    Third Place winner @sazbird with "Dark Down There".
    I do enjoy a dark tale and this was certainly Dark – with the obligatory capital ‘D’. Short and to-the-point, I enjoyed the ride.
    Told with the right amount of building tension, the end is surprising and though I was torn between this and another for a place in the prizes, it won by a whisker.


    @nonamelefttouse took Second place with "The Past Few Days".
    This story had a sting in the tail for an ending and though I’m a devil for spotting twists (and I did spot the main twist) the sucker-punch of exactly HOW did catch me out, so well done.
    Told with an air of regret, the story rings somehow true for me, I can see how everything could transpire the way it was told. I can’t say much about the story for fear of giving away the twists, so, it was a close-run second place for this one.


    And First Place goes to @johnjgeddes with "Pictures on the Wall"
    This story whisked me away to a childhood I didn’t even have. I was there with the boy and his nan as she told him about the photographs. The smell of them, mixed with the ancient-cigar smell came to me as it must have to him, a heady, slightly nauseating mix.
    Old pictures linked with the smell of the box they’re stored in make for poignant and lasting memories and the story links well into a ghostly tale, told by Nan with a hint of sadness.
    When the picture-show on the wall occurs, it is handed to the reader hesitantly, carefully - making the reader work for it because the writer knows that when something is just handed over, it is not as valuable as having to work for the thing.


    Congratulations to the winners and thanks to every one who entered!

    And special thanks again to @michelle.gent for all her work and the chance to post these reviews.

    Follow these links for more information on:

Sort:  

Thank you so much for the opportunity to get this competition off the ground. The Fiction-Trail team are a great bunch and have all pitched in to help with this project.

@meesterboom has generously put up the funds for the next competition's prizes and I've roped him into the judging too!

I hope the critiques weren't unwanted, I wouldn't want to step on toes. (I always want to know what people think when I write, hence the short review).

The pleasure, as they say, was all mine. Thank you again.

I can't wait for the next one! Fantastic stuff this. Viva la fiction-trail!!!

I really enjoyed the neutral tone and to-the-point critique of these articles. Thank you for sharing this creative thinking wit us all, it is so appreciated I would have loved to hear a critical eye view of some of my articles... My respect to you all.

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Great work by all mentioned

Thanks for yesterday and for Joe that helped me today with my OpenLedger issue. Nice guy!

If you did not see this just posted -- you might want to take a look. Most of my stuff does not get too much traction usually but this one is kind of big for lots of reasons.

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/breaking-openbazaar-finally-integrates-the-tor-browser-into-their-decentralized-marketplace

Have a good night!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26