BREAKING: OpenBazaar finally integrates the TOR browser into their decentralized marketplace!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)


OpenBazaar the decentralized marketplace has finally added the privacy layer of the TOR browser as of yesterday, Feb. 14th, 2017.


The platform connects people directly peer to peer and charges no fees, nor do they have any restrictions on what can be bought and sold. You could kind of say it is like the Amazon or E-Bay of the online / crypto world of sorts.
They launched in April of 2016, and have been continually tweaking the site.


I actually found out about it around that time from my friend @rahulsingh -- who was one of the earliest friends I had connecting me to answers for all my blockchain / bitcoin and crypto related questions!

What is this TOR Browser everyone talks about, anyways?

  • Tor is a free software browser download that allows private communication by redirecting internet traffic through thousands of relay points. These layers of anonymity conceals a user’s location and traffic from network surveillance efforts.

  • The Onion in the logo refers to all those privacy layers and relay points, and TOR stands for The Onion Router.



Back in September 2016, Openbazaar developer Chris Pacia told Bitcoin.com:

“Tor has always been the most requested feature by far — but it’s always been a bit of a technical challenge to implement.”

“I’m happy we got it merged but there’s still more to do,” Pacia told Bitcoin.com. “At some point, we want to have a security audit for both Openbazaar and IPFS. Until we do that I wouldn’t recommend people using it for anything other than testing. Going forward there’s still a few more features to implement in the daemon and a bunch of tests to write. And most of the features need to be incorporated into the UI.”


Bitcoin.com also reported at the North American Bitcoin Conference that the founder of Openbazaar, Brian Hoffman:

  • had revealed the release of the platform’s 2.0 developer version.

  • went over the many improvements the team was working on including an integrated wallet system and a better search engine.

Work on the platform is ongoing but with these recent announcements, it is likely that many more users will investigate and try out the platform. Pacia also stated to Bitcoin.com that they could use some help going forwards in the development end of things.






If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL


Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.

Img. Credits - i.ytimg.com, deviantart.org


Sort:  

That is super awesome. Thank you for this very valuable news. Openbazaar is so groundbreaking and this milestone is incredible.

1/ I agree with you 200%
2/ I could not believe nobody was posting on this as such!!
3/ This post got liberty based Whale support... but you are now only one comment out of 2... which has bummed me out. As of an hour ago, which is nearly 3 hrs after posting this... it only had 24 views

That bums me out too, this post (the news of this anyways) was kind of important to link several key liberty factors together!!!

TY very much for your comments on this!!

Great news I was highly unaware of as of yet. Thanks a bunch for sharing the fruit of your knowledge with us.

Keep on taking good care, smiling, thrive on & Steem on! All for one and one for all!!! Namaste :)

Thanks, I hope you'll be enjoying what has been done and what is still to come by the buckets. As quality is my main concern, I wish it will reach a part of you that will equally connect with the stories, anecdotes of all kinds, the photography and the general spirit of it all.

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Amen my friend. Thanks again

TY very much!!! I had replied below in another comment on why I think this news is super important linking things in #Liberty on several fronts.

@barrydutton Nice! I wasn't aware but am now thanks to you!

Cheers Barry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70