🔥 Ladies, there's a NEW Anthem! My first experience with Sa-Roc 👑

Sa-Roc - Forever

Released February 16, 2018

Sa-Roc's latest release was shared by a friend on Facebook and I almost passed it by... but the visuals of the thumbnail caught my eye and I watched the video in full-screen.

Oh my god.

Assata Perkins, by the name Sa-Roc, is a lyrical powerhouse. I've listened to Forever multiple times and ultimately looked up the lyrics because I couldn't quite catch all the gems.

When I wake up, no makeup, half naked, I feel like I’m the shit
Pardon my language, but hang ups do not define the kid
No, I’m not flawless, I’m scarred up and I’m fine with it
My body art a laundry list of all of life’s unkindnesses

I will not compare her flow to a male rapper because regardless of similarities, her razor-sharp truth and her crystal clear confidence are beyond compare! I want to wake up feeling like that every day!

Sa-Roc is rapping not just for herself but for all of us, our bodies and our spirits shaped by years of living. It's a dangerous game but it refines us into precious gems, unique in every facet.

I’m just saying that I’m worth it
That’s the responsible thing
Spent half my life trying find my light from outside sources, while the only voice that mattered came from me

Can I get a show of hands who will scream out to the world that they're WORTH IT?

Because you are! There are no qualifications for being worth it. You were BORN worth it, every single morning you are still worth it, even when you SCREW UP you are still worth it!

Rap pharoah, skin Caramello, apparel mainly vintage
Marrow composed of warriors so every verse became a vengeance
Went thru too much hell to not be fire, but they still feigning ignorance
So now I came to collect my just due with remaining interest

Pure style.

Ladies, this is the anthem of my month, nay, my year. I turn 25 in five days and I tell you, this is going to be my quarter-life FIGHT SONG.

Sa-Roc is a bold reminder to not mold or shape yourself to fit someone else's ideas and preferences. Do you. Do you wholly and authentically and unabashedly. And love every minute of it.

sa-roc-header.jpg
Photo of Sa-Roc from Rhymesayers.

This post was inspired by @ashleykalila's fitting anthem celebration of Jessie J's song Queen. Thank you for the inspiration!




Ink+VoltAsset 1-210.png



Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. My blog has lived at www.amelia-bartlett.com until I discovered Steemit, where I now post most of my work. To learn more about me, check out my introduction post, get up-to-date on my school bus tiny house conversion, and follow me for articles on slow living, sustainable fashion, self-expression, and quality curated resteems!

Proud member of

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

teamgirlpowa.jpg

thealliance_banner.png

ladies-of-steemit-banner-rounded.png

Sort:  

I love Sa-Roc; she is good friend of my immediate family. She is a very enlightening and beautiful soul to encounter. Thank you for sharing her art in this space.

thank you for introducing me to Sa-Roc, I had never heard of her, but it is so nice to find another female artist that I am happy to share with my young girls. Such a powerful much needed message.

She is cool! Great artist and such a lady!!! Love her, thanks for introducing me to her :)

We're going to TURN UP the volume in 2 (?) days! This is an amazing song indeed. And that CLIP! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67079.94
ETH 3266.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64