HOW HAIR DYES TRIGGER ALTERATIONS IN HUMAN PHYSIOLOGY

in #steemstem6 years ago
(License: Public Domain]: Pixabay

The yuletide may have ended but those memories that surrounded the celebration are always long-lived. As a matter of fact, sometimes these memories are not necessarily good ones. Like in my own case, since I wanted to look smashing on the eve of Christmas, I started having the thought of applying a hair-relaxing cream. Funnily enough, it was my first time so I didn't really know the right brand of product to use. While inside the supermarket, I felt it was pointless asking the sellers for recommendations considering the fact that it would seem a little bit childish. With that in mind, I had to depend heavily on the packaging of the hair-relaxing products I would probably find attractive. All the same, not like I didn't know that the product assessment approach I used was very lame; indeed, I knew. But the truth is that I didn't see any big deal buying a hair-relaxing cream whether it's original or not. I wish I knew better.

While skimming through the showcase where the different varieties of hair-relaxing creams were kept; one of the products with the name 'Ozone' got my attention and I had to buy it. What I didn't actually know was that I was only purchasing an attractive problem. On getting back home, I immediately applied the product on my hair. The instruction on the label was that after applying the hair-relaxing cream, one must wait for at least 30 minutes before washing it off. However, I don't think I actually stayed half of the minute that was specified on the label when I started feeling this severe burning sensation on my scalp. It hurts so bad that I had to hurriedly wash my hair. I couldn't believe what I saw after looking at the mirror. My enchantingly dark hair was gone. I don't think I've ever been so devastated in my entire life. All I wanted was to look irresistible, but I could see that I only became a little bit uglier than I was. At this point I started wishing I was contented with what I had just like my maternal grandmother used to advice. But this was just medicine after death.

(License: Public Domain]: Pixabay

Well, despite the fact that hitting the salon for a hair cut would have been a perfect option; yet, I didn't want to buy that particular idea. With my hair becoming a mixture of black and brown, I somehow wanted it to return entirely to the black color it was before instead of cutting everything and looking so weird. With that in mind, that's how the thought of hair coloring started popping up in my head. Unlike before, even though I never for once made used of hair dye, all thanks to recommendations I got from a friend I somehow knew the right brands I could get. Now, if I was inquisitive enough I would have discovered that applying hair dye not less than 48 hours after an individual must have made use of hair-relaxing cream has catastrophic implications. Unfortunately, considering the current situation of my hair, I was already too desperate to think twice and I didn't know about the impending consequences of what I was about doing. So in the literal sense I was indeed jumping from fry pan to fire. From the hair peeling off from its scarp when I tried using comb, to severe headache and eventually fever; that's how my quest for handsomeness ruin Christmas for me.

Before using hair dyes, you should probably choose between your hair or health

(License: Public Domain]: Pixabay

Even without saying it, from the story above, anyone would know that my hair means so much to me. It might sound crazy but honestly I do consider it as one of my best bodily asset. Now you understand why I'd do anything to make it a lot more attractive. In case you used to think that it's only girls that place value to their natural hair, you should probably know that you're wrong. At the same time, it might interest you to know that anything that negatively interferes with healthy living is a no-no for me. Why I'm saying this is because, according to several research studies it has been proven that hair dyes contains chemical that does not only have direct effect on the hair, but also alters the physiology of an individual. Unfortunately, I was completely ignorant of this not until after my personal experience that I stumbled on a story that was quite similar to mine while surfing the internet. The only difference between my experience and that of the victim in this STORY is the mere fact that she went through more serious allergic reactions that almost claimed her life.

As a matter of fact, you'll agree with me that quite a number of people don't know hair dyes could be this deadly. For charity's sake, I'd love to start with the basis. Actually, hair dyes are basically categorized into four (4) groups. This classification is based on the chemical composition and mechanism of action of the hair dyes. So on that note, we have:
• Permanent dyes
• Temporary or semi-permanent dyes
• Metal salt dyes, and
• Natural dyes
Like I said earlier on, all brands of hair dyes contains chemicals that may have adverse effects on individuals. All the same, it's believed that there are a greater percentage of these harmful chemicals in permanent hair dyes than any other types.

From the assertion above, it's pertinent to pinpoint that out of the 5000 chemical substances that experts have proven to be present in hair dyes, one of these chemical compounds initiates the highest rate of allergies. Hence, we'll only concentrate on this one compound known as para-phenylenediamine (PPD). Now, someone might want to know what's so special about this compound and why it's singled out from numerous other compounds. I'd love to clear your curiosity by saying that PPD is the only compound that's present in all types of hair dyes despite its well-known toxic effects. Well, I'm tempted to think that people can't just get enough of it. Maybe that's why even in countries that the compound is banned from being introduced into other cosmetics, the regulation agencies rather choose to lower the amount of PPD in hair dyes instead of completely scrapping its usage. Sadly, since a greater number of people in the world are allergic to PPD, this happens to be a course for concern.

Para-phenylenediamine: The disastrous beautifying agent

(License: Public Domain]: Pixabay

Although natural dyes are the most frequently used hair dyes in this part of the world, I can bet that a greater percentage of their users are still ignorant of the side effects of these products. All thanks to technological advancements, people can now know cosmetic products that they're allergic to by carrying out a patch test before fully using them. As a result of this test, it has been observed that the usage of the compound PPD to a great extent is hazardous to the entire human physiology. To be a little more specific, further clinical and laboratory studies have shown supportive evidences that prove the direct link of this chemical compound with cancer and mutagenicity.

(License: Public Domain]: Flickr

Since our main emphasis is on how the hair dyes trigger alterations in human physiology, I'll start by saying that when the hair coloring products containing PPD are used, the hair cuticles will instantly swell up allowing for diffusion of this chemical compound. Once this must have happened, the dye color will be infused within the hair shaft making it impossible to be removed easily by ordinary washing. This is why PPD compound is a major composition of permanent dyes like we rightly mentioned earlier. At this point it's worthy of note that this swelling is initiated because PPD has the ability to penetrate hair shaft and follicles, and at the same time cause dilation of capillaries, contraction of smooth muscle, and stimulation of gastric acid secretion thereby resulting in allergic reactions.

In actuality, the unfortunate thing about self-treatment in cases of PPD-induced allergies is that instead of the problem to be solved, it will only become more complicated. For instance, most individuals know that antihistamine is a very good remedy for allergies. The reason for this is because whenever the body comes in contact with anything that it is allergic to, the chemical histamine will be secreted. The itching or swelling experienced during cases of allergies is as a result of histamine secretion. In other words, stopping these symptoms can be made possible by using antihistamine. That notwithstanding, like I said earlier on, self-treatment in cases of PPD-induced allergies only worsen instead of improving. A typical example can be seen in the story I was comparing with mine. Funnily enough, as Estelle tried some antihistamine with the hope that it will clear up the allergic reactions of the hair dye, the next morning she woke up with a head circumference measuring 63 cm rather than the average 56 cm. Well, if not for the quick intervention of doctors when she was rushed to the hospital, that's how she would have lost her life in a twinkle of an eye just because of something most of us would probably consider as an 'ordinary' hair dye.

Final thoughts

Honestly, sometimes the things we believe are inconsequential may have terrible health implications. All the same, there's a popular phrase that says 'ignorance is never an excuse'. Therefore it's advisable that individuals should be careful of the kind of products they use as well as adhere strictly to the disclaimer on their packs or labels. Also, try as much as possible to avoid self-treatment when you notice allergic reactions after using a particular product to avoid complications. Well, I sincerely hope you've learned something from this article. Thanks for doing this with me. Till next time!

To read more about this topic, check out these REFERENCES
Paraphenylenediamine: Blackening more than just hair from National Center for Biotechnology Information
Para-phenylenediamine allergy: Current perspectives on diagnosis and management from National Center for Biotechnology Information
Para-Phenylenediamine containing hair dye: An overview of mutagenicity, carcinogenicity and toxicity from Journal of Environmental & Analytical Toxicology
Allergy to paraphenylenediamine. Retrieved on 22nd January, 2019

Image source

Images are from flickr, pixabay and wikipedia commons all licensed under creative commons and eligible for commercial use.

Sort:  





This post has been voted on by the SteemSTEM curation team and voting trail in collaboration with @utopian-io and @curie.


If you appreciate the work we are doing then consider voting all three projects for witness by selecting stem.witness, utopian-io and curie!


For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

Congratulations @yhubi! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thankfully I'm never one to dye a hair as I think the natural colour trumps any other colour that could be artificially induced. Never knew that some hair dye could be this dangerous. Hope NAFDAC, our local regulatory agencies are clamping down on these dyes containing the PPD.

Oh I almost skipped the issue of NAFDAC imposing restrictions... To be sincere, I don't think our regulatory agency see this product as something dangerous or maybe they might just choose to overlook it since already the PPD is in small amount.

They ain't doing their job very well then.

I'm so happy you learned something. My dear, our original hair color rocks but sometimes as humans we ain't just satisfied with what we have. Like I started in the post, over here the type of dye we use are basically naturally dyes that's why the PPD effect isn't really felt since it's present in small amount. But even when the allergy effect isn't prominent, that doesn't mean we aren't affected in a way.

I think I have been tempted to use air-dye once and I can't really remember what the reaction was like then. It is good to know that it is not entirely healthy to use all these dyes. I am just here wondering what the regulatory agencies have been doing while substances that are not healthy for the populace keep flooding the market.

If the regulatory agencies don't want to perform their duties, I think online sensitization by people who understand the danger of these products will go a long way to help the ignorance citizens. Thanks for stopping by, I really appreciate.

Hi @yhubi!

Your post was upvoted by Utopian.io in cooperation with @steemstem - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV

Man, what did they put in that 'relaxing cream'?! You sure it wasn't a waxing cream or somethin? :P

Lol that's what I didn't check oh. People just say that particular brand has always been terrible

Who ever said that quality was the key to business success....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.73
ETH 2525.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47