You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Anthropological view on Religion, The Supernatural and Magic : Part 1

in #steemstem7 years ago

Awesome. Quick build here.

Religion also becomes part of culture. Clifford Gertz (also an anthropologist) discuses common sense, norms, and cultural codes in "The Interpretation of Cultures (1973). In his theory, common sense is a set of beliefs and values that individuals internalize and accept as a set of the most obvious, natural, correct actions that one could take in any given situation. When individuals act in accordance with what their common sense, they are acting in accordance with how their society and culture dictates. A notion of common sense can extend to anything, from what to do about a sick child, to courtship rituals, to how to properly treat guests.

It is easy to observe that religion becomes a cultural norm in many, if not all cultures (whether they are the area's dominant culture or a subculture). And religions have a great role in setting that "common sense." So, I think that religion also has a unique way of orienting action.

Sort:  

This is a concept that we will continue to ponder for years or decades to come.

And religions have a great role in setting that "common sense." So, I think that religion also has a unique way of orienting action.

I am a totally opened minded person and say your thinking is a realistic and practical one:)
Thank you for the great comment:)

I am really excited to read the rest of your series! I'm a sociologist, so I am all about this type of thought!! Thank you for bringing great content!

I'm a sociologist, so I am all about this type of thought!!

:) I know, I have been following you from your intro post. I love that you are a part of the community. I am also looking forward to reading more great posts you as well:)

Oh yay thank you!!!! This place is exciting!! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81