You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amateur Mycologist - Puntas Arenas, Chile: Part 1

Was your Witches Butter growing on a deciduous tree or a conifer? That's the quick distinction between Tramella and Dacrymyces that I see in various identification keys. I eat both of them, lol. Here's a post where I made Candied Dacrymyces with many other mushrooms. And here's another version of Candied Dacrymyces that's good for traveling - they are like Aplet or Cotlet candy.

It looks like you had a great time on your Chile fungus adventures! I hope you had a chance to eat some great mushrooms, too! Did you eat any of those beautiful Amanita muscaria in your last post?

Sort:  

Candied Dacrymyces! You are the absolute coolest.

I believe we were in the deciduous Nothofagus forest when we found that, although I'm not sure whether the distinction holds up in Chile. But I just found one or the other today - just a tiny log that I'll have to look at - and now I want to make candy out of it!

We did not eat the muscaria I'm afraid, or the rubescens I'm going to highlight later, though I know parboiling a couple of times works for the muscaria. We were really racing around the country with limited cooking ability or timing. We did have a meal of several Ramellas and what used to be a Macrolepiota but is now in some other genus. It was still a great trip though all around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44