You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: INTUITION - What happens beyond the discursive use of the mind?

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

What really sums up the more significant aspects of the question of intuition is this part-
"Intuition could be described as the opposite of self-consciousness while at the same time it is probably the most conscious way of experiencing a lively moment..."
I sometimes think It's a way of tapping into greater consciousness not individual consciousness.

Talking about the guessing the cards, it's so difficult. I've done similar experiments and the moment one becomes invested in desiring a certain outcome , one looses the ability to do so. I think this is what sucks gamblers in, and keeps people playing the lottery. They can feel something is there, some power but the very 'need' to win always obscures the power. I did some research into the circumstances surrounding lottery winners, trying to find some pattern or a common thread and the one thing I did notice was the situation surrounding many winners: Whether the y were regular players or random or one time triers, there was often a forgetfulness'. They forgot they bought a ticket or forgot to check or forgot their usual numbers and went for a quick pick until a nagging sensation kind of hinted at them to check, so they found they were winners. I tried to do this, but it's hard to remember to forget ;-)

I can relate with the story of ball playing. The time I played my finest golf was when me and a friend just walked casually around a course carrying only one or two clubs. Usually I would play with my father and brother where there would be some pressure and a lot of advice. Just casually swing the club and not expecting to much (in terms of distance and accuracy) resulted in much straighter even shots. Maybe not as far but never off into the bushes...

I think part of the reason sports professionals (especially in things like billiards or darts) are able to cross that tipping point between being an able amateur and a 'talented' player is because they enjoy it and so end up playing it so often that they can afford to be 'casual' about it 70% of the time and thus develop that intuitive sense in a relaxed atmosphere. People who only get to play 'occasionally' will pressure themselves. Pros have time to just 'jam'. How they generally do not make use of the full potential is to keep this sense limited to their particular field without realizing it can be universally applied to improve quality of life and performance in all spheres including 'emotional intelligence'

The 'stared at from behind' phenomena has fascinated me since a child. It's so real and I've 'proven' it so many times. It must be universal to human experience yet is almost completely ignored by society in general. the implications are immense. On one level I understand why people don't want to think about the whys and hows concerning it. It's too mind boggling. Nice to know Sheldrake is looking into it. It's a bit like the placebo effect that science just refuses to investigate - what it means is we heal ourselves with positive thinking- yet there is no research as to how to practically harness the power. What could we do if we fully understood that we could sense attention without use of our '5 senses'. It hints at so much possibility not only about sense it but about giving it.

The differentiation with 'instinct' is an important one. People who don't like to think about these things like to just lump them together. Such a great read, you deal with the subject matter so comprehensively.
Your conclusion I think conveys an important message of remaining grounded, empirical, calm and pragmatic when investigating or working with subtle senses. To become overly imaginative think fantastically about them actually betrays an underlying lack of faith in a greater reality.

Sort:  

Thank you so much.
Your answer gives the text an interesting twist. I was hoping for this.

The examples of gambling I never would have thought of myself, so I like to being carried to that realm of investigation. Made me smile, that's exactly what intuition is about, too: to forget and not to forget simultaneously.

I myself must be careful to not fall into this "awesomeness". Guess that has to to with how we moderns treat skills in general. They "suck" or they are "adorable". While it still remains true, that they can suck and be adorable.

Your golf playing experience actually triggered a memory with a friend of mine, too. We are total losers in Billard but the one evening when we were playing against two males (not so much interested in the game at all, more in the men) we actually won. While the man were obviously more tensed and cared for the game. Thank you, it was a nice evening and brings back good (very old) memories.

To have the luxury of jamming one has to work all those hours of discipline. Music and dance show that, too. I listened to street art musicians and watched the acrobats doing their things ... those times in summer I always look forward to. If you are interested, I give you the link of two little recordings from the last festival here in Hamburg.

With this you raise an interesting aspect:

How they generally do not make use of the full potential is to keep this sense limited to their particular field without realizing it can be universally applied to improve quality of life and performance in all spheres including 'emotional intelligence'

I asked that myself, as well.

Sheldrake is a real pearl. Do you listen to his talks? So much humor, this guy has. And this British cool attitude without being cold hearted, I find appealing. I think he deserves more than he actually gets (as a scientist, which he truly is). He transports a playful attitude towards science.

Sometimes I am kind of disappointed at myself, that I turned towards words and writing instead of an art more physically attached. Even, using so many of them.

"Sometimes I am kind of disappointed at myself, that I turned towards words and writing instead of an art more physically attached. Even, using so many of them."
Ha, me too, I even tried to give words up. Run away...
. ..But it seems they chose me: I can go with it or go nowhere, apparently.

I wanted to write my own article about intuition after it came up, but you covered it so well I thought I'd just send some of my ideas in a long reply...for now..
There's a great book/audiobook/movie about utilizing acrobatics as a path to inner development "The Way of the Peaceful Warrior" by Dan Millman. It was quite influential for me at a time and sparked that idea of universalizing expertise.
I bookmarked Sheldrakes website but haven't had a chance to seriously explore yet. Steemit is somewhat time consuming!

I love music of all kinds and street musicians always offer a level of originality and rawness, so yes, please send the links..

Posted using Partiko Android

Good to have something in common.
I do appreciate long replies a lot. For me, they are the fruits of the many trees. Some time they exhaust me but mostly I enjoy having a good conversation, even debates and arguments.
I think I am just an ordinary person who had adapted to what I was observing the world was putting value on: talking and writing skills. That is actually a good strategy and I see it today in my son, who is doing all this computer gaming and learning how to handle soft- and hardware. I do insist though that he attends Boy Scouts as a counterpart of experiencing life also.

My disappointment sets in when I do not get enough resonance on my writings. But only here in this realm. Before I wrote mostly for my hard drive and nobody got to read the texts. It's funny how one can get used to be spoiled.

Peaceful Warrior, wasn't that also a film in which Nick Nolte took a role? I found it a real good one! Before the movie with Philip Petite (the walk) came out I watched the youtube documentary about him and was fascinated so much by it.

Thanks for the recommendations. Here is my recording from the festival:

https://steemit.com/art/@erh.germany/street-art-festival-come-on-in-and-enjoy-the-show

Yep, Nick Nolte was in it. Obviously the movie leaves out quite a bit but the audiobook is really good.
I've never heard of Philip Petite though, I will check that out too.

Posted using Partiko Android

@goastrighter, I agree entirely with your comment that intuition is about tapping into the greater consciousness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.67
ETH 3086.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86