Environmental Issues: The Colorado River

in #steemstem5 years ago

The State of the River in the Grand Canyon and what Can Be Done

I’m going to start what should be a series on ‘Environmental Issues’. I know it will piss some people off, it might make some happy and it’s a thing I am compelled to write.

I’m going to start pretty darn close to home and try to limit my writing to what I know and have seen myself. That may or may not work out as planned. The Colorado River.

You see, I am one of the 40 million people that rely on the Colorado for personal use water. Bathing, drinking, cooking. The river is under siege and is so balanced on the precipice of catastrophe that it genuinely could go either way.

Start of Grand Canyon-1.JPG
photo courtesy of the author

The river stretches 1450 miles (2330 km) from it’s rise high up in the Rocky Mountains to the Gulf of California. It is one of the most highly apportioned rivers in the word (practically every drop is allocated) and for all it’s usage, one of the wildest rivers in North America.

The river can be roughly divided into three segments. Upper, middle and lower. All three segments have relatively unique environmental challenges and successes. For almost it’s entire length the river flows through some of the least populated spaces on earth. The only real city on the entire length is on the lower part where I live in Yuma, Arizona. The reason is simple: The land the river flows through is just plain not very hospitable.

Vermilion Cliffs.JPG
photo courtesy of the author

I’m going to actually start this series in the middle: The Grand Canyon. It is quite probably the most known bit of river in the world. Something over 6 million people visit the National Park each year. It is one of the seven natural wonders of the world for good reason. Mere words or photographs can not describe the place, it needs to be seen and felt.

North Rim-1.JPG
photo courtesy of the author

The Grand Canyon, for all it’s popularity is a very wild place. According to National Geographic (who tracks such things) more people have stood on the moon than have packed the entire length of the Canyon in one session. That total is now 10 after the first one did so in the 70s. It’s an incredibly brutal journey, takes somewhere in the neighborhood of 900 miles of actual walking and includes necessary climbing skills. Possibly as many as 200 people have made the trip in segments over the course of time. That is not very many eyeballs in vast sections of the park.

california-condor-581277_1920.jpg
Source

The Grand Canyon is at risk. In many ways and from many directions. But this will not be a series of ‘slams’ and gloom and doom. There are reasons to worry, and the Canyon desperately needs to be watched over, but there are successes here and I’ll highlight some of them, too. I’m not going to be a spoiler on what’s coming but the above photo might give you a clue. There are others.

I hope to get one post in the series out per week. I very much appreciate your time and consideration for this.

All words in this post are mine. The photographs are either sourced properly or taken by me and used courtesy of the author.

You want some really cool stuff? Check these authors, they will not disappoint.

@broncofan99 Sports Teaching Fishing BBQ. Not necessarily in that order.

@morkrock Music Games Stinging Politics. Don't go here with thin skin.

@princessmewmew Food Antiques Food Life Food Cats. Anything of beauty could show up here.

@soyrosa Great Photographs and Insights for us All

@sultnpapper All the truth you can take and then some. The monthly BBQ is worth the price...

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

I actually just saw a news story the other day and they were talking about the Rio Grande and how low the water levels are over the past several years. It is definitely very concerning.

Thanks Bozz. The Rio Grande has some serious issues of it's own, doesn't it? I may actually address those issues at some point, but I wouldn't hold my breath. :)

It is concerning to me. How could we ever get so close to a complete catastrophe? 40 million people get their drinking water from the Colorado. Me included.

It is pretty scary how careless and blind we can be.

I think this is going to be a great series and I look forward to reading more
I wont state y views here yet but i have a suspicion we will have some or many similar views
I do agree however that no mater how good the photos of the Grand Canyon are, they will never match the feeling one will see in person being there

I'm guessing we will agree on most matters. I am not in any way a radical, but I am real certain that we should stop fouling our own nest where and when we can. It's important.

Thanks. I really do appreciate the support.

I am not a radical either but I do agree we need to starting doing what we can to protect our environment in any way we cheers

Oh the Grand Canyon, so beautiful! When we visited it was almost overwhelming, hard to believe something so majestic exists. We love Arizona, it was a close 1st choice in where we would retire. It's still not off our list, lol I have to say though, water was a big issue for us. It's really scary when you know where the water is "allocated" from the Colorado River. The farmers in California need their water for the crops, not sure what the answer is but it's really scary (and as you said controversial!) Fabulous pictures, makes me miss it! Looking forward to your next installment @bigtom13.

I love Arizona. Absolutely love it. It's a place of big spaces and that suits me just fine.

The battle is about to be joined. Again. The Colorado River Compact is due to expire in 2025. The negotiations have begun and everybody wants more. There are 7 states (two in Mexico) and two countries involved. It's complicated :)

Something of the Grand Canyon lives in me. It's not exactly a place to me, but a state of being.

This place should be considered as a geographical legend. In fact grand canyon is a world heritage. It is the people's responsibility to preserve it's beauty and the environment.
BTW, You took amazing photos.!

Yes it is world heritage. The river is also the source of drinking water for 40 million. It is in everyone's best interest to take care of the river and the park.

Thanks for your interest. I appreciate it.

Those are some really great shots! Kind of eager to see how this spans out, great job!

Thank you. The Grand Canyon calls to me, every day. There is no question that I have more photographs from there than any 5 other places combined. This series won't use my photos exclusively, but I will certainly use them when they are appropriate.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Well, I'll be excited to see these articles you write about it @bigtom13 I probably won't share my 'opinions' one way or the other as I think the environmental changes are a sort of grey area from what is happening to what is being shown etc, so it's hard to make a completely informed decision, but it will be good to see someone write about what they actually see happening locally. :)

I like the idea of the series you are starting! Because we all appreciate cool places and show off the best of it but hide the environment issues. Smart idea! Love it! :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 466

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69