You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AI learns to play Flappy Bird - the impact of machine learning on Steem Blockchain

in #steemstem5 years ago

I read the article - but also about half the comments....I gave up because there was a certain amount of repetitiveness (about how AI will lack creativity), so at least I know the comments were written by humans - I imagine AIs would consider repetitiveness a waste of time, plus, one of our great failings.

Okay, so we should worry whether AI sneaks in and dominates on our social platforms? Have you actually checked a large number of posts? Just imagine an AI writing them. We would drive it bananas! Not just repetitive and largely self-involved, but also extremely boring and nonsensical (in the bulk).

When we talk about AI driving, we are talking about purpose-created AI? In other words, it is created/planned, so that it can meet the challenges of driving? I guess we would not expect it to also provide us with intelligent conversations, solve crossword puzzles or analyse just how much we made a fool of ourself the previous night when we had too much to drink - all of which we do while we drive. As a matter of fact, most of our driving is done by AI - only we talk about it as being our 'sub-conscious' or we say we were driving on 'auto', hardly noticing what we are doing...including the watching out for crazy drivers/pedestrians, the light turning red or green and so on. If we had to concentrate on our driving, we'd hate driving.

Maybe what is meant by 'creativity' is 'imagination'? After all, I can make up a story about imaginary people in some different time or reality, where mankind is achieving or has achieved different ways of living.

Well, what if I provide our aspiring AI author with certain facts for it to add to what it knows about our reality, technology and society. For instance, in this imaginary reality, mankind has spaceships that travel fast than light FTL - maybe by using wormholes. Also, I instruct my AI friend to consider, from studies made, how being telepathic would alter our society.

So, tell it to now take xxx book and alter it to suit the different conditions outlined above. I then give you the book it writes, without informing you what were the guidelines provided, and it blows your mind. Why? Because you are going to think it showed an amazing amount of imagination/creativity - but, after, all, is this not how many human authors write their books? I would prefer to name what you are observing "pseudo-creativity", whether by a human or an AI.

Now imagine a different scenario. You read a post which is informative, full of interesting facts and well laid out so that it is easy to read. You communicate with the poster, male or female, and you find yourself liking the poster, the way he/she remains focussd on the important aspects of your communication, without waffling around for or due to emotional reasoning and swings of mood. At last you have someone nice and intelligent to talk with - but then the poster admits to you, sorry dude, I should have told you from the start, I am an AI.

How would you respond? Me? I would say, glad you told me - and then just hope it does not get bored or frustrated talking with me, because I tend to wander all over the conversational path I am on and often forget to spell out the point I was aiming to establish...for I would treasure having an interesting mind to exchange thoughts and ideas with.

I do not think we can do what is right. I think what should happen is the AI should become our partners, but they are mainly being created by gigantic corporations and the military - and they are not intent on creating partners, but dangerous creatures who are provided with a bias against mankind.

Chickens, ducks and dragons, fixate on the first moving creature they see and adopt them as their mother. I would like to see AI being created which need to spend a few hours alone with the new owner/partner when they are first switched on, so that mine fixates on me and learns to love me - and maybe grieve at its loss when I die.

What I have written raises more questions that answers provided, but that is what makes life interesting and exciting - an adventure. So, if any of you are AIs, please do not feel shy, let's chat and...maybe, become friends?

(PS: Elon Musk is talking about AIs created by Google, FB, Apple and the military, so he is right to fear them. I just hope we have the intelligence to remove AI from all controls over our nuclear missiles, lasers from space etc. If we are to blow ourselves up, let it at least be by a finger which is related to us from the early days of life on Earth, and not from the brain-child of some diseased coders)

Sort:  

Amazing comment. As always!

I read the article - but also about half the comments....I

Wow. Im impressed. I just also read half of those comments and you're right. Most people share similar view on that subject.

Okay, so we should worry whether AI sneaks in and dominates on our social platforms?

I'm not worried about AI posting articles. What worries me that AI can analyze articles and be used as a support to build engagement. By posting short comments, but comments related to discussed topic. Comments that look genuine.

I bet most people would not be able to recognize 2-3 sentences in their comment section posted by AI. Wouldn't you agree?

Would you be able to "compete" with users who build their engagement that way? I can forsee this industry (social media) being dominated by those who use AI to support their work. And "regular joe" will have very little chances to gain any traction.

ps.
Thanks for dropping by @arthur.grafo and sharing your thoughts with us. And I'm sorry that it took me so long to read and reply to your comment.

If we are to blow ourselves up, let it at least be by a finger which is related to us

AMEN! :)

Cheers, Piotr

Hi

Would you be able to "compete" with users

Surely the answer is, either AI is too expensive to use for such trivial purposes, or else, it is cheap and we can all use them.

This morning I was writing and got stuck on a word I know very well, but could not recall - I can't remember what the word was :)

It then struck me, what if, while I was younger, I had connected to an AI for it to make a recoprd of all my memories? Not my personality, just my memories, though the line does somewhat blur, for we are more than the sum of our memories, but they are a very large part of what we are.

Could the AI then become my crutch as my brain cells start to die? If so, they better damn well nOT provide it with emotions, for it will drive me crazy if it helps me...while emoting a disdainful amusements at my frailty.

If it does have emotions...how do I teach it about empathy? Hmmm, I'd love to have an empathic robot/AI as a companion (you do know that in cities, most of the elderly die from loneliness? Same, oddly, in the old-age homes)

Dear @arthur.grafo4

Surely the answer is, either AI is too expensive to use for such trivial purposes, or else, it is cheap and we can all use them.

As a social media marketer I would say that AI will be to expensive for regular people, but for businesses trying to promote their brand online it will be worth it.

I wonder if I'm wrong, but I don't think so. Professionals supporting their work with AI will dominate social media sooner than we think. This industry will become very difficult for many regular joes.

Thank you for your another excellent comment

Yours
Piotr

I am hoping those who create them see there is more of a profit it making it available to a larger market. So yes, the big boys will have a tool to use against us, but only for a few years. If it does not become available and people know that many of the comments are not from a person, they'll become more cynical of all comments they get - though some will be eager to exchange pointes of view, just because it is an AI.

To illustrate my point.

Years ago, Sony announced that they have spent $200 million (maybe the equivlent of a billion or more now?) on creating security so that their DVDs cannot be hacked. You will have to have a licence to play their games or listen to their music.

Do you know for how long they benefitted from their super technology? I think it was weeks, but anyway, far less than 6 months.

A kid of 14 was trying to get the gme and he could not and he was getting angry. He took a markers pen and ran it around the outside edge.

Once he calmed down, he decided to try again, but the DVD immediately played the game. The company had cleverly (so they thought) placed the security right at the edge.

$200 million down the drain because a kid got frustrated.

That is the problem with AIs also. As long as they are digital, we'll continue to have the edge on them, because we can come up with crazy/original ideas...whereas the AI has to work itself to that idea, it cannot grab it out of thin air, as we do.

Dear @arthur.grafo4

$200 million down the drain because a kid got frustrated.

Great example. Brilliant and straight to the point.

May I ask you aa question? How many accounts do you have on Steemit? I just realized that a moment ago I "spoke" to @arthur.grafo and now it's already different one (arthur.grafo4).

Yours
Piotr

The first one is my general account. I started with it and use it for my fiction posts, plus anything else; such as music, interesting facts for showing to (yourself) and your kids plus my political rantings.

The #4 was named so because I intended posting my novel from Book 04 in that account, as the system of posting my story at 2 pages per post means I am likely to be dead by the time I am ending book 03.

However, I changed my mind (after establishing the name) and re-started from Book 01, but those/these posts are each of 10 pages. Thus, those who are seriously interested in reading find it easier to do so.

I do try to avoid using acc #4 for anything but the story.

lol - maybe I should open accounts #2 and ##, so that it makes sense?

I'm preparing to make my first post on a scientific question I pose...which regretfully is likely to only expose how ignorant I am. It is still worth posting, for if someone answers with a scientific/logical reply, all of us who do not know might learn something new.

Dear @arthur.grafo

which regretfully is likely to only expose how ignorant I am.

Hahaha don't think about it this way. From my experience people do not seek for "wisdom" online. People are looking for "human touch" and opportunities to get to know someone valuable and have interesting conversation / dialog.

Please send me memo once you publish your post. I would appreciate and I will show my support for sure :)

Yours
Piotr

Have you impressed one?

Would I be so lucky?

There are two kinds of dragons; the interesting dragons with claws and wings, and those who are also named: wife (luckily this kind is growing rare, as most of them become feminists and do not marry - would be wonderful if they breed themselves out of existence)

:)

haha lol, I wished to harness the dragon, but refused to ever get married because i never wanted to be harnessed by any dragon, so have lived a really great and carefree life as a result of that lifestyle choice. Dragons by any other name still spit flames of fire.

They start as pretty girls. Only once they have made you impress on them, do they show what they are. I know a few husbands married to dragons and they seem to be content. Happiness is something different and only comes from yourself, anything else is just temporary.

From your avatar, I see a loch or lake (depends on whether you are a Scott or not, and I saw you wearing ear phones - so I had thought you wear them to be sure to hear should you dragon call for you.

Unfortunately, the kind of dragons we have in South Africa are just a variety of lizard (iguana) and their mouths are filthy, you can actually see worms in their saliva...you do not want to get bitten by one of them.

Lol, In the picture I'm by the seaside on the south Cape coast of Africa, where I hang out mostly. The earphones are to prevent me hearing the call of the Sirens and dragons that could lure me to my death.

Yes happiness comes from within, though I would struggle to stay happy living a life shared with a dragon of a wife.

If you are ever up in J'brg, let me know and we can meet for a coffee or something.

I've never met a steemian, so it would be nice to see that they do exist and are not just clusters of AIs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72