UEFA Champions League: Chelsea Gifted Barcelona A Draw

in #steemsports7 years ago


SteemSports Presenter: @writingamigo
SteemSports Editor: @theprophet0
Apart from PSG versus Real Madrid pair, Chelsea versus Barcelona was the most anticipated matchup in the 1/8 of the UEFA Champions League. Many people believed that Barcelona would cruise through Chelsea without any problems, but they were wrong. I mean, Chelsea vs Barcelona is always a legendary matchup starting from 2009 and Ballack's (do you still remember this guy?) furious reactions.
Barcelona was much worse team compared to Chelsea yesterday, and the fact that they got away with 1-1 is a miracle. In my opinion, it could have ended at least 2-0 in Chelsea's favor, and it would have been logical. However, football is a cruel game sometimes, and I believe that Chelsea fans are super disappointed with the draw. However, those fans should be pleased with the way that Chelsea played against one of the best teams in the world. If Conte found a way to make his guys play similar football at Camp Nou, I would not be surprised to see Chelsea going to 1/4. However, Barcelona is immortal at Camp Nou this season, and I am pretty sure that Suarez and Messi will be playing much better than they played yesterday.
The first 45 minutes were not extremely exciting as Barcelona controlled the ball but couldn't find any openings in Chelsea's defense. I bet that it was one of the worst performances of Luis Suarez of the season. I mean, if you replaced Suarez with me, no one could tell the difference. Yes, he looked that bad. As for Chelsea, the players knew the game plan and followed it perfectly. The most important thing was to defend against Messi and Suarez, and only then players could think about attacking Barcelona. That worked just fine as by the end of the first 45 minutes it was Chelsea that created 2 golden opportunities to score a goal. Sadly for the local fans, Willian hit the post twice. That was unfortunate. However, it was also obvious that if things don't change, Chelsea will score eventually.

After those 2 shots that hit the post, Willian finally managed to score the goal on his third try. Chelsea took the lead 1-0 and was in complete control as Barcelona looked miserable on the attack. Yes, Barca controlled the ball like 80 percent of the time, but they were unable to create at least a half of a chance. Chelsea defense was working like a clockwork... until it was not.
With only 20 minutes left, Christensen made a sloppy pass. Azpilicueta tried to clear the ball with a sliding tackle but missed it. That opened a lot of space for Iniesta who ran into the box, passed the ball to Messi, who was clinical when it mattered the most. 1-1. It was the first goal that Messi scored against Chelsea in his career. It took him a little over 12 hours to do that.
So, everyone will be waiting for the second leg in Camp Nou as no questions were answered in London. All 5 English teams still have superb chances to go to the 1/4, which would be something spectacular for English football, which was suffering lately.


Sort:  

It was a great match, I wasn't expecting Chelsea to display such wonderful performance. Before the match I gave 70% win to Barcelona because of the form they are right now, we all know Chelsea have not been at their best lately. But I knew three people could give Chelsea hope against Barcelona.
I named Hazard, Willian which I prayed should be in the line up and Christiansen. I was really impressed with the Blues performance.,am not a supporter of Chelsea but I want to see the English premier side ruling the Uefa this season.
I know Conte will definitely work on securing a win or draw at Camp Nou but his side have to score.
The picture below was my comment before the match.
IMG_20180222_235533_882.JPG

I am celebrating my 2 weeks on Steemit
Kindly upvote me, I just followed you please do the same in return.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@captain-tom/celebrating-my-2-weeks-on-steemit-secret-and-benefits-of-steemit-part-3

I don't really get to see Messi often and I must say he was pretty anonymous until the goal (which was hardly down to his genius, being more the result of a Chelsea defensive lapse). So, I was hardly impressed. That said, Chelsea have to have the worst odds of progressing of all the English clubs. Sure, it would be great for all 5 to advance to the last 8 but I'm fairly sure that won't be the case.

Liverpool - the team I want to win everything :) - and City are 99% through. Deservedly so.

United and Tottenham's chances have to be around the same. Spurs have a better team but are up against a better opposition in Juventus, themselves. And with two away goals in the 2-2 draw, I'd have to say they're third most likely to progress.

United, therefore are fourth imho with a slim chance they'll be eliminated. Seville are no pushovers, usually.

Chelsea have it all to do and probably will go out but you never know. Whilst I'm no fan of doped clubs, it would be nice to see them progress all the same. Especially, if it accounts for Barca - who are more than capable of going on to win the trophy if no-one is up to the task of eliminating them.

I can't wait for those quarter-finals! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79