#steemsilverround 2018 final. What do you think? Does it work? No CGI just "old skwl" cool!!

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

So the #steemsilverround competition has reached the final round, so I thought I'd up my game and try and pull in those final few of you still sat on the fence with my revamped design.

What do you think?

IMG_20180306_144504.jpg

I had asked for assistance from the #SSG community and wider #steemit world to help me update my original concept and turn it into something shiny and clean. A few offered to help, but at the time of writing this only @meilo1995 has stepped up and submitted his attempt.

You can see his submission in my 5sbd giveaway post. All you have to do is give me your idea and I'll enter you in the raffle. Even if I don't win this year, it will help me improve my design for next time.

https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@welshstacker/do-you-have-an-artistic-touch-are-you-any-good-with-a-computer-want-to-earn-5-sbd

Im not stupid, but when it comes to computers, what would take someone an hour would take me most of the day to design and draw. So what I did was go back to the tried and tested method of cut and paste(and I don't mean ctrl C & ctrl V)....

IMG_20180305_211356.jpg

IMG_20180305_211431.jpg

So I used "word" to give me 2 circles and added a tree design. To add the steem logo and minnows/dolphins/killer whales I got out the scissors and got to work.

IMG_20180305_211450.jpg

IMG_20180305_211540.jpg

IMG_20180305_212730.jpg

IMG_20180305_213408.jpg

By the time I had cut and stuck all the little minnows down I was ready to give up but I knew the end result was going to be worth it so I carried on.

You lot better bloody like what I've done!!

Next up were the dolphins. Ohhh the dolphin, these were a pain in the arse to cut out.

IMG_20180305_214126.jpg

IMG_20180305_214653.jpg

Minnows done - check ✔️
Dolphins done - check ✔️

The killer whales were OK to cut out and luckily there are less of them.

IMG_20180305_215049.jpg

IMG_20180305_215140.jpg

So that's the first bit of my revamp done. I know a few people didn't like the idea of the m/d/kw hanging on the tree like leaves but I think by using a tree with a lot of foliage they blend in very well?

I was rather please with how this turned out so just in case I messed the next part up, I did a few photocopies.

So I decided to change up the outer rim message. I know a few thought the "from little acorns might oak trees grow" message was meaningful enough, but for continuity I used the "community" designs from last years round and added 2 new words of my own, one Welsh and one Irish.

IMG_20180306_141708.jpg

So I hope the changes I've made are acceptable and that you guys get the possibilities that this designs offers. So when the final round of voting opens please show me your support and give me your vote.

DQme56cpUvSLQJMaNkz6waCQfADDCBSYMCuJeLboAyB3vuq.png

IMG_20180306_204114.jpg

DQmYeRXrmb4fhJ8e6pYYGjAx9SCZSrW7cfuYFH9TQP5NXYX_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Really well done Welshie! Wow!!! Old school cool is right!

This is looking a lot like 2018 to me — and i love that Welsh and Irish are on there too. I’m really impressed with your revised design — what a Wankah!!!

Cheers chief. I think a design based on my idea would look the bollux on a shiny bit of silver. Thanks for the support my friend. Much love

It will look deluxe!

Thats quite an amazing, i have been leaning towards @bearone design but.....hmmmm, that would be a fantastic coin, would also be cool if the steem logo looked like it was carved into the tree trunk. Whatever happens the 2018 steem round is going to be awesome and i never use the word awesome so it is going to be, you know awesome!

Cheers man, that awesome, glad you like. What ever design ends up on the coin will look awesome. If I didn't have a vested interest I'm thinking @bearone would get my vote.

This is definitely great, I've been trying to digitize your previous work but I found it difficult to replicate your great design but I still try. I hope I can finish it, so that your design is the winner of this year

@welshstacker I think you have a Winner !!

I hope so my friend. I was trying to explain to Mrs welshstacker that it's not the sbd reward that's important, but my design could possibly be on several thousand rounds this will out last all of us. She didn't get it!! So just a question, if I get rid of mine, can I have the lady of the bunker PLEASE?

That looks awesome. I love the old school cut and paste method. 😉

I think this is a winner right here, great job man!

Cheers for the vote of confidence. I still don't know which way it's going to go. I really like bearone's design and I'd be happy if she got it but of course I'd be so chuffed if you guys picked my design

I like the addition. Forget photoshop 'cut and paste' you're doing it old-school. Scissors and glue! @ironshield

If in doubt go "old skwl", who needs all this computer design stuff. Lol

Thanks for the support

YESSSSS!!!!!! I love it...

Can't wait to get to voting!

It loves you too.... Thanks. I do think it will look proper bad-ass on a shiny 1oz coin, hell I think @phelimint should do a small run of 5oz/10oz rounds with it on. Mind you km only saying that as its my design lol

Nicely done! It looks great!

Cheers not so fat fat-elvis. Congratulations on the diet my friend, you've inspired me and I'm a few days into my own right now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55