Silver of the Day #43

Yesterday I started a Three Part series on some Ford truck bars that I acquired. I talked about the first one that I have in the series which is the 1953 bar with an image of their F-100.


source

PLUS


source

EQUALS

image.png

There are actually still some of these trucks on the road. You have to look a while to find one sometimes, but they're still out there. The silver bars with their likeness seem to be rarer than the truck they depict.

image.png

The back is the same on all the bars, but it's still a nice design so I'm posting it again. Somehow it seems wrong to post a picture of the front of the bar, but leave you wondering if there could potentially be a difference in the back of it. Now you know they're the same.

I'll be wrapping up the series tomorrow with the last one I have. If you haven't already, let me know what you think of these in the comments below.



Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Hmm. I got one of those too. LOL

1385657_646965608668912_1896877324_n.jpg

Yes, you do! Well done, man. Are you restoring it? If so, I'm sure you'll get a lot of attention when you finally get it ready.

Right now it just hangs out in the back garage. Gotta finish my VW's before I start on this one.

howdy again Blondie! these are wonderful, can't even make fun of them. are they really rare or you just guessing?

I don't know that they're rare. I just know that I'm having a difficult time finding the rest of them. I don't think they made one for each year between 1948 and 1998, but there are at least two more that I don't have.

hey sir Blondie, isn't it the job of the coin shop people to know this stuff? What do they say? and can't you just look those things up online?

Not really. It's their job to sell stuff. If they wanted to buy it, they'd probably make a guess on the value and most likely pay just under spot price. That's probably why I got them for the price of generics.

ok but do you ever do any research online for prices or is that a really dumb question. Because if it is, I also have a smart question in back up that I could use.

It's been a few years now I think, but yeah, you still see the wider, squarer 1965-ish trucks out on the road. I was looking into one a while back—can't remember now if it was a Ford or a Chevy—but I did actually test drive it. The dealer didn't have it all finished yet, though, so it didn't have the brakes completely done. The guy wanted to sell it to me anyway, saying I could probably fix them myself. I thought, "Uh, no thanks." He wasn't very happy with me. Apparently, they're used to having guys who restore old cars come and buy from them. This particular model they weren't able to move for some reason.

Very nice. And remember, this Ford f-100 has twin ibeam suspension. I'm sure it was the first i-product ever on the market. :)

I can't imagine why you wouldn't want to buy a truck with no brakes! Isn't that part of the excitement? You drive down the road and never know if you're going to be able to successfully stop without hitting something. Seems like the sales guy needs to get over himself. Fix the brakes first.

And with the twin i-beams? It's a little piece of history right there. You sure you don't want to buy it? Ha ha.

Oh, I'm sure that truck is long gone. That was back when I was looking for a vehicle that would withstand an EMP. However, recently, I've been assured that we're all safe from an EMP should someone decide to unleash such a thing upon us, so I'm not sure if I should be in the market for an older truck or not. I'd still like a truck. Just doesn't need to be older than 1972? I'd have to look that up again, but I think that's when things started shifting from mechanical to something else. Might be 1979. Anyway, while they had carburetors and before fuel injection, maybe?

This way, it's only the radio that might go out. But I think I can remedy that buying one of those kits with the tuner you hook into a potato or on a magnet. Can't remember which now. :)

How are we all safe from an EMP? I hadn't heard this. I think the cars that were built before 1970 or something should be able to run even if there was an EMP. You just have to replace a few parts. I can't remember the specific year though. It would need to have a carburetor though. Fuel injectors run off computers.

You should get a potato radio. I don't know if that's right, but it sounds cool. And if people saw you walking own the street listening to (and talking to!) a potato radio, you'd be safe. No one would rob you anywhere. ;)

You're listening to Potato radio, WPTO 1140 AM. Easy listening. Next up Ozzie Osborne.

re: EMP

Someone at church a couple of weeks ago said we'd all be safe because they've done all the insulating or shielding or whatever we need to survive one. I thought, okay, since when? As far as I know, the government hasn't done anything. The last I heard, they weren't even taking such a thing seriously. We're still chasing underwear and shoe bombers making explosives out of excessive shampoo.

re: truck

Okay. Before 1970. Okay. Well, if you haven't heard about the EMP dome they've put up over the US, I probably should go looking for a huge microwave to put my house in. Apparently, those things are great against electromagnetic pulses.

Yeah, you have something awesome happening tomorrow?!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Is it ending tomorrow? that's a shame

Yes, I only have one more of the Ford bars.

That's not enough I would say :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by themanwithnoname from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68313.70
ETH 3663.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66