Silver of the Day #42

Today we get to start a new 3 part silver series. The last time I was in the coin store, I was looking at some of their wares and seeing a lot of the same stuff that I already have. Nothing wrong with it, just unremarkable, plain generic rounds. I like something with a little more flavor.

Since I've gotten to know one of the owners fairly well, I asked if he had anything good in the back. After thinking for a minute he left to get something. When he came back, he had this bar... and two of its friends.

This is a Ford F-Series - 50 Years of Trucks silver bar.
image.png

I don't know what year they were actually minted. I can't imagine they minted one every year for 50 years. It was more likely that they were all minted the same year and released at the same time. I don't know where the other 47 years went, but maybe whoever sold these to the coin store had only purchased these three.

image.png

I really like them though. This was another one of those "don't think, just buy" moments. And at a reasonable price, I happy to have added such unique pieces. Now I have to look for the other 47 (if they exist) and see if GM did something similar.

Stay tuned for the other two bars that I got in this series!



Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

I'm surprised that when I look them up on Google, I can't find anything more than some pinterest page. It's odd, because you would think that this would be a fairly big deal, especially if they printed a bunch of bars each year for 50 years, but even if they did mint them all in say, 1998, there should be some mention of them. Nope . Zero zip nada.

Anyway, they're very nice looking bars, as all of your bars have been so far. You can tell they cared about the design and spent some money on it.

It apparently is a good thing to know one of the owners of the LCS. You get to ask for the stuff "in the back." :)

From what I've been able to find out, there were (at least) five of them. I'm missing two. It doesn't seem like they're very common, but probably not very sought after either.

I don't know who minted the bars. I don't imagine that Ford did it. I would think it was a private mint who possibly contact Ford, but who knows?

Yep, it's good to have connections in places. :D

Wait. Only five. That's odd. Then they only went for the ones where there was some kind of major change then? I guess that would make sense. No need to have the 48-64 models (or however they breakdown), if they all look alike and the only change might be a radio antennae that was half an inch longer for better reception or something.

Hank here thinks if we elongate the antennae another half inch, we'll be able to get radio stations from Singapore. At night, of course. With favorable trade winds.

Do it.

That's what I was thinking. They just highlighted the major model changes and didn't worry about the rest.

That radio station from Singapore sounds interesting though. I would stay up late to hear that. Oh, wait. I have the internet now and I can just get online at this moment and pull up the radio station on my computer.

Fire Hank.

Hank's probably either in a retirement home, living the good life on a tropical island, or dead. This was back between 1948-1964. He made Ford a lot of money that year.

Sigh. Yeah. The internet. Well, radio waves were good while they lasted.

I really enjoy looking at bars like this and its even better that they have awesome looking designs on them.

Yeah, silver bars are nice, but when they have fancy designs, they're even better. And the variety of fancy bars makes looking through them more interesting than if they're all the same.

Can't mess with the Ford Tough. haha this is awesome. We had a 1967 Ford Truck. No power steering, it was a beast to drive. haha oh so get this, while looking further into my coins I found a silver one!! That I didn't show in my collection video. It isn't pure. it is .900 silver. It is a 1868 20 Centavos coin Spanish Coin, but from the Philippines. haha pretty cool. :)

It sounds like one of those awesome old trucks that just kept running no matter what you did to them. All you had to do was put gas in them, and change the oil every once in a while.

That's a cool coin! I just looked them up and it seems like it would be a fun one to own. Depending on the condition it could be worth at least $10, if not $20 or up!

Yeah it is a neat coin and I found out exactly what you found haha between 10 and 20 dollars. pretty neat! I just like that it is old. And since I lived in the Philippines for a couple years it is fun to have it.

There you go! And it's a nice memento of your time down there. Hopefully it brings back good memories.

Absolutely! :) I also found a 1 dollar bill, that looks like a US Dollar bill but it is Philippine currency. From the 1940s when the US was occupying. Very neat. So many cool things I forgot I had. haha

What the what?! That's a unique bill. I haven't seen one of them. How fun that you keep digging and keep finding treasures?! Keep opening those boxes! ha ha.

LOL that it is pretty cool. :) I think I found all my hidden treasures now. lol

Beautiful and different. Good luck!

Yeah, it wasn't something that I was expecting to see. I'm glad I had enough that I was able to get all three of them.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Both of these bars are cool.
On the top bar, I think the 1953 Ford F-100 bar indicates the 2nd generation of the Ford F-100. I don't think you would find every year.

The second bar shows the First Generation F-series (1948) next to the Tenth Generation F-series (1997).
More info on Ford F-series . . . https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ford_F-Series

Yeah, they're cool. I was glad to have built enough of a relationship with the owner that he would get some of the stuff from the back of the store. That's where the special stuff is.

The two pictures are actually of the front and back of the same bar. There are two more different bars that I'm going to show in the next few days. Not sure if there are more in the series beyond those three.

Ford F-Series
The Ford F-Series is a series of light-duty trucks and medium-duty trucks (Class 2-7) that have been marketed and manufactured by Ford Motor Company since 1948. While most variants of the F-Series trucks are full-size pickup trucks, the F-Series also includes chassis cab trucks and commercial vehicles. The Ford F-Series has been the best-selling vehicle in the United States since 1986 and the best-selling pickup since 1977. It is also the best selling vehicle in Canada.

Congratulations @themanwithnoname! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Never knew Ford were this old, Good addition to your already very good collection

howdy today Blondie! oh my gosh I love these things! we used old trucks like that on the farm and made fun of them because they were so old but they kept running!

I'm glad this one was a little more to your liking. ;)

Some of them were tough trucks that just kept going. That's cool you had first-hand experience with them. It probably gives you a better appreciation for the bar than most people.

hhaha! what are you saying, that I'm the only one in the group that is ancient enough to have driven them? llol. actually I'm not part of any group except Steemitbloggers but I don't feel any great kinship there. just got invited and figured I needed all the help I can get!

we used old trucks like that on the farm

I'm saying that you said you had used them, so at some point in time you and the trucks both existed. Or you lied. Or it was a fictional anecdote.

Congrats on getting into Steemitbloggers. I don't know anything about it, but that's cool you were invited to join a group!

i know I said that about the old trucks, you know I was just teasing I assume? I always am but I think you know that. yeah the steemitbloggers has an advantage in that everyday you have to go on their discord group and comment and vote for someone which you haven't done for before so that forces everyone to see new people.

so far it hasn't gotten me any new followers but I've seen some interesting blogs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42