You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Silver of the Day #42

I'm surprised that when I look them up on Google, I can't find anything more than some pinterest page. It's odd, because you would think that this would be a fairly big deal, especially if they printed a bunch of bars each year for 50 years, but even if they did mint them all in say, 1998, there should be some mention of them. Nope . Zero zip nada.

Anyway, they're very nice looking bars, as all of your bars have been so far. You can tell they cared about the design and spent some money on it.

It apparently is a good thing to know one of the owners of the LCS. You get to ask for the stuff "in the back." :)

Sort:  

From what I've been able to find out, there were (at least) five of them. I'm missing two. It doesn't seem like they're very common, but probably not very sought after either.

I don't know who minted the bars. I don't imagine that Ford did it. I would think it was a private mint who possibly contact Ford, but who knows?

Yep, it's good to have connections in places. :D

Wait. Only five. That's odd. Then they only went for the ones where there was some kind of major change then? I guess that would make sense. No need to have the 48-64 models (or however they breakdown), if they all look alike and the only change might be a radio antennae that was half an inch longer for better reception or something.

Hank here thinks if we elongate the antennae another half inch, we'll be able to get radio stations from Singapore. At night, of course. With favorable trade winds.

Do it.

That's what I was thinking. They just highlighted the major model changes and didn't worry about the rest.

That radio station from Singapore sounds interesting though. I would stay up late to hear that. Oh, wait. I have the internet now and I can just get online at this moment and pull up the radio station on my computer.

Fire Hank.

Hank's probably either in a retirement home, living the good life on a tropical island, or dead. This was back between 1948-1964. He made Ford a lot of money that year.

Sigh. Yeah. The internet. Well, radio waves were good while they lasted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59605.87
ETH 2518.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44