Coin of the Day #2

I've got an odd one to show you today. It's not even really a coin. It's a bit of a stretch, but it's also a piece of history. I'm not sure where I got this or how it got in my collection.

It's a Seattle Transit System token. According to Numista, it was made in 1946. This particular one is in rather good shape. You can still see the detail on it, and it's actually quite a nice token. I wouldn't mind seeing this one in coin/round format.

image.png

On the back it says that it's "Good For One Fare."

image.png

There's not a whole lot more information that I found about these tokens, but Numista gives it a rarity score of 83/100. That's pretty good!

https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces45861.html

I normally have been posting only about silver, but as i go through some of my collection, I am enjoying getting to highlight some coins (and not coins) that have been around for many years, but most people might not know about.

Did you ever use one of these tokens?



If you like silver, Enter to win FREE SILVER courtesy of @britcoin!


Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

uh Blondie..how old do you think we are anyway?
this is a really cool token, I like the holes in it. At first when I read the first line I thought it was going to something totally stupid, lame and retarded since it wasn't a coin but this is pretty darn cool.
and I like it's rarity rating!

Who is "we"?

Yeah, I really like the design. I think the trees and such would make a really nice coin or round design... heck, even a bar.

I'm glad you didn't think it was "totally stupid, lame and retarded." That wasn't what I was going for, so it would have been a letdown.

The rarity rating is just based on what collectors on Numista have said they have in their collections. I wouldn't take it as scientific fact, but it does give a good idea of where things are at.

who is we? uh..your audience I guess. I wonder what the average age of people on steemit is, I think Glen said it was mostly younger generations.

who is we? uh..your audience I guess.

Fair enough. I wasn't making an assumption of anyone's age by posting about this token. I just liked the token and thought others might as well.

I think there's a good mix of older and younger. I would say it's probably more the fringe people/non-conformists who have initially populated the Steemisphere. People who follow the mainstream probably aren't investing in crypto or posting on a crypto-based social media platform.

howdy sir noname, I think it was Glen, yeah it was, who said that most of the people on Steemit are very young, like in their 20s. the majority. which surprised me because I've run into mostly older people somehow.

Maybe it's just that all the old folks flock together. You could be right about that.

It wouldn't surprise me if there were a lot of 20-somethings on here though. Techie generation!

well sir, I or you need to ask Glen about that, to make sure but i think that's what he said and you know he's such a researcher and a numbers guy.

Without that coin someone didn't get to ride the train in 1946

Right?! Ha ha. I hope that wasn't the case. Maybe they bought an extra one anticipating that they were going to use it, and then they bought a car instead and forgot about the token. I still don't know how it got from there to me. I have no memory of acquiring it.

Legend has it that the man that was the owner of the ticket is still there... waiting to get his ticket back... xD

Ha ha! I love it when people invent stories like that. I do it all the time. If I don't know the history of something, I make up a fun story to make things more interesting.

A token from 1946! WOW, very nice!

Thank you! It's a beauty. :)

History is sometimes better than precious metal content.

Nice post buddy

Thanks, man! I actually thought twice about using the SSG tag for it, but it's only slightly to the side of our core, so I figured it would count. Don't worry, I won't use the tag for my high-speed knitting posts! ;)

I have never seen such a token. It is older than me...I did not know that numista showed tokens. It is good to know, now.

That token is older than a lot of people. Numista doesn't have everything, but sometimes it surprises you.

I was just going to ask where you were in 1946, but then I saw you denying any knowledge of how you came across a Seattle Transit token here in the comments. Well played, No Name, well played. :)

I think there's another story that needs to be invented. Maybe I'll get to work on it. I think I smell a murder. A murder most foul. :)

Thanks for sharing this bit of history. Never ridden the train in Seattle, or the Subway, or even know what they actually have there. Probably buses. But I have driven into Seattle and it's a traffic nightmare the likes of which I have never witnessed anywhere else. It's even more fun in a driving downpour.

The one thing about it is, heading north into the city is a pretty drive. If you happen to be there on the rare occasion it's not raining cats, dogs, hyenas and assorted deep sea creatures.

I missed the entire year of 1946 because I had time traveled back to the 1800s to attend to some business. When I came back, I came to 1947, so I didn't see the token.

I could do a story on it. See if you can crank one out first, and if you aren't able, maybe I'll write one. Or maybe I'll get inspired and just scribble one out.

raining cats, dogs, hyenas and assorted deep sea creatures.

Ha ha ha, that would be a sight to see. I might travel to a place to see that happen. Although it's probably a cyclone, so I wouldn't want to be close to it. I'll just stick with the regular rain, thank you very much!

You've heard of sharknadoes. Well, these are assortednadoes. Also known as buffetnadoes. Not in the since that you might want to eat dogs, cats and hyenas, but again, meaning there's some variation in what's falling on your noggin.

I figured it might be that time travel trick again. Conveniently skipping 1946, but somehow ending up with the token anyway. Hmmm. Very peculiar.

I'll see what I can do. I'm going to try to adapt a private eye noir piece I did a couple of years ago.

Let me know when you post it. I'll give it a read. I started something for it, but I'm not sure that I like how it was going, so I haven't gotten past the first part. I might use it for something else later.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84