Estate Sale

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)
In a recent post, I stated that I had never really done much coin-collecting (numismatics) or "stacking" (collecting of precious metals) aside from saving a few Buffalo Nickels, Wheat Leaf pennies, the silver dollar that I was given when I was born, and a few odd foreign coins.

But then I won the Silver Saver Bar (donated by @silversaver888) in the MONSTER RAFFLE held by the Steem Silver Gold community. I was sharing the happy news with my 'family' in @thealliance this past Friday evening when someone mentioned that sometimes good deals can be found on eBay. So, off to eBay I went.

One seller I stumbled across was offering "grab bags" (i.e., an assortment of items which is purchased sight-unseen) of collectibles that [supposedly] was coming from an estate sale. I decided to take a chance and order one. Here is what was in the package when it arrived:

● 1911-S Barber Dime

EstateBarber1911S.png
• PHOTOS BY ME •

I did not recognize this coin, so I had to research it online. It is called the "Barber Dime" after Charles E. Barber, who designed the coin and served as Chief Engraver of the US Mint. More on his series of coins can be read at Wikipedia: Barber Coinage. The "S" on the back of this coin indicates that it was minted in San Francisco.

● 1942-W Winged Liberty Head Dime

EstateMercury1942W.png
• PHOTOS BY ME •

● 1944-W Winged Liberty Head Dime #1

EstateMercury1944W1.png
• PHOTOS BY ME •

● 1944-W Winged Liberty Head Dime #2

EstateMercury1944W2.png
• PHOTOS BY ME •

● 1964 US Quarter

EstateQuarter1964.png
• PHOTOS BY ME •

● Valcambi s.a. Suisse 1 gram .999 Silver bar

Estate1gSilverChip.png
• WITH MY FINGERNAIL, FOR SCALE • PHOTOS BY ME •

● two small pearls

Estatepearls.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

● vial of gold foil

EstateGoldFoil.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

● Gold plated "banknote" novelty

GoldBanknote.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

I had never seen, nor heard, about a "gold banknote," so I had to do some research on this item, too. As I suspected, it is a novelty item and is not "legal tender" despite what is printed on it. It is also worth considerably less than the "One Hundred Dollars" value it displays, as these can be found all over the Internet for $3. The most interesting article I found about them is this one: 24k Gold Banknote Review. The same as that author, I seriously wonder how much actual "gold" is in there, despite the "Certificate of Authenticy" that came with the thing. LOL! But still... joy.png

EstateGoldNoteDetail.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

dottedline.png

So, there ya have it. I have no clue what the actual value of these items might be or what a fair retail value might be, but I would love to hear a rough estimate from someone in the Steem Silver Gold community who might know about such things. I also wonder if this was an actual "estate sale" or just some guy getting rid of some stuff he no longer wanted. I'm rather pleased with the dimes and the quarter, but a bit nonplussed at the rest of it, to be honest. If anyone is interested in the non-coin items, send me a message on Discord and make an offer!

I did order a couple of other items with which I am very pleased, but I will share those in another post when I have good photos of them!

ThanksForReading.png 😊

incisel--PINK.png

GoldenProjectBanner-advisor.jpg

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

__pearls.png

Sort:  

Very Cool @thekittygirl. I am just starting to learn about older coins. This is helpful and much appeciated. You've got a nice collection going <333 :) Cheers!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

My son collects coins but I've not done so for 40 years

You can use https://www.pcgs.com/prices/ to get a rough guess of your coins values. They go by different coin grades and that gets complicated. Another site to find the melt value is http://www.coinflation.com/silver_coin_values.html. It tells you how much your coin is worth for just the silver content. Hope this helps.

WAY TO GO @thekittygirl!!! There is no stopping you now! Stack on, my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57329.79
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67