Storing your Sliver Stack and can your stack get too big? #363

I am looking at my stack and thinking i wonder how everyone else stores their silver stack. The bigger it get's the more of a problem it becomes as it gets heavy quickly and adding new stuff becomes more of a hassle. Now that's a 1st world problem, having to much silver and be too lazy to store it away properly cause it's heavy and ackward to get out of my stash spot. ha

My storage of my stack has changed and evolved from the beginning. My very first storage box was more of a gift box. It was one of these cardboard boxes that you would get from an office supplies shop but a nice one with flowers and birds on, lol. This ended up holding around 80oz's when full and that was a few boxed things also. It served it well for 7-8 months then it was time to man up and stop smelling the roses.


My 1st silver stack box was like this with a different design



After my cardboard box become full, i decided the best thing to store my stack in would be monster boxes, royal mint monster boxes. I can order 1 of these at a time when being silver orders from EU dealers for around 9 euro each. They are hard to come by so i always add one to every order i do, so far i have only had the chance to buy 2, the chance of them being in stock when i order is very small. One time i bought a smaller monster box issued by the Perth mint for 250oz's of silver kangaroo's. The smaller box is ok but i will not be buying another.

For me the monster boxes have worked out really well. In 1 box alot of my bullion is in quadrum capsules and as they are square, they stack and store away easy. I dont need to worry about them moving around. The other is filled with tubes of brits, 1/2 oz lunars rolls and a bunch of loose silver. Small box is royal mint and graded stuff.

As you can see the boxes are pretty full and i am in need of another monster box but there is none in stock. I have since bought 2 metal briefcase style storage boxes. 1 will be used for all my boxed, graded and carded bullion and the other is a case that holds 150 quadrum capsules in rows.
.
Boxed, graded and carded
DSC_0047.JPG
150 capsule box
DSC_0064.JPG
Now the small kangaroo box is empty and i have pretty much half emptied one of the 1 monster boxes as well. I do not think i will be using the roo box again, could be a good one for 1 of the kids stacks but not for me. I would guess that this half full monster box will keep me going for around 6 months. That gives me lots of time to get an monster box.

How do you store yours?

It guess it depends on what type of bullion you stack. I would assume someone who stacks for weight would have alot of tubes that are easy stored nice and neatly away and someone who stacks alot of boxed and graded stuff would have a messy stack in different boxes. I think most of us on here are stackers that have a little bit of everything, most of us will have some tubes, some boxed, some carded, some graded, some loose, some bars and some capsuled silver in our stacks. As my stack gets bigger, it's taking up more room. Can you stack get too big? are does there come a point when you need to re-balance your whole stack, ie selling off most of your stack that is filled with premium items that take time to sell and using all the money from these sales to buy like a 500oz monster box and a bunch of gold sovereign's that are both more easy to store and sell when the time comes. There is alot to think about in this silver hustling game.


CLICK HERE TO ACCEPT YOUR INVITE TO THE GROUPS DISCORD SERVER



Some of my Recent Posts

*** #SteemSilverGold Membership and Voting List UPDATES***
------Bitconnect, Shit hit the fan and my inveswtment------
** A late XMAS gift for myself - New coin Case **
------ Who is on your FOLLOW list ? ------

Any questions, comment below are ask. If you enjoyed the post, please dont forget to upvote this and follow me @silverstackeruk

Sort:  

Silly Question...no the Stack can never get too big...unless is falls over and crushes you. Only then it would be too big.

I aim for my own weight in silver. I am roughly 3/5th's of the way there. Im thin which helps with my goal. I think the only wat to find out of you can stack to much to to try and see, haha

A very good goal!!!

holy moly that's a hefty stack!
I keep mine in a big safe bolted to the floor. I also put in as many moisture absorbing sachets as I can to keep milk spots at bay

That sachets you get in new shoes is good idea. I will need to keep them from now on for that purpose.

holy **** did not expect you meant literally stacking silver. That is quite a collection. Must have taken you years to amass. Good work.

I dont think my stack is too big. I just watch it grow and think in a few years, where im a gonna keep it all. I started with that small box have watched it grow into 2 monster boxes and 2 metal breifcase's
Stack on man !

I store mine a few different places haha... There's the main stack and then there are a couple
smaller "starter" or "emergency" stacks. The main stack is in one of those clear plastic shoeboxes and locked in the safe.
As my stack grows I've considered burying part of it somewhere, but haven't been able to settle on a good location yet...

I do not think i could bury it. I would be worried about water getting at it and stuff. Yeah breaking it up could be the way forward,

Thanks for commenting buddy

Yea that's kind of a concern, but there's lots of good info out there about how to make cache tubes out of common materials that can stand up to a lot... I don't think I'm at the point I really want to bury any yet but down the road I might

Is the last picture just a poker box?

This is something I've always wondered as I'm really just starting my collection and have a small enough amount where I basically carry it on myself at all times lol.

lol, no the last picture is a lighthouse quadrum case. It hold 650 2x2 paper wallets are 150 quadrum capsules.

Your stack will grow as you to continue to add to it and then you'll be in the same boat, hehe. Are you'll need a really good belt.

lol I think i'll just buy some cases or something. Seems like I'd need an expensive belt.

I only have a small stack along with some low value Federation notes. I have them hidden away. I have a few coins in a similar stationery box like you describe.

If I had a large stack of considerable wealth then I'd look for some small vault options or more.secure storage.

A safe seems to be the way to go. So i need steemit to get really big really quick so i can convert sbd into money for a safe and then fill it with treasure, haha

I store my shit in several boxes, desk drawers, desk top for some fave pices, Y’Arrr, and then a picnic cooler i haven’t tried lifting for many months. I really want to get a proper safe, but the good ones are very pricey — and i my stackitus is worsening rapidly. Inthink i’m going to start using vegetable boxes and buy more silver with the money i save!

👹👹👹

LoL, i think the veggie boxes would break. I might buy a coffin, whos gonna look in a coffin if they break into your house? haha

That’s hilarious! And most likely true

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61