Peace Dollars MS: 1925 and 1926

In 2010, the Professional Coin Grading Service (PCGS) and Numismatic Guaranty Corporation (NGC), the rare coin market's two leading grading services, introduced "Plus" grading for high-end coins graded XF45 to MS68. A plus symbol (+) is added after the grade.

❝ For a coin to earn the + designation it has to be in the top 10-20% of that grade. We aren't talking eye appeal, although that is considered as part of it. The coin has to meet all the technical criteria such as strike, luster, contact marks as well as eye appeal. Not just a pretty coin, but a coin that's "all there" and may have been referred to as "a liner" in the past. ❞

- Don Willis, President of PCGS, a division of Collectors Universe, Inc. (NASDAQ: CLCT)

Reference sources 1234

1925 Peace Dollar MS64+


I came across an interesting article written in January 2018 "Buy the Holder, Not the Coin" that talks about collecting coin holders instead of coins, which I thought sounded strange, but it is no different than collecting other coin related stuff such as numismatic books, auction catalogs and coin albums.

As a forever noob in US coin collecting, buying slabbed coins helped me learn about the Peace Dollar which I am enthralled about. I don't know when I will "graduate" and learn enough about my chosen US coin to collect. Perhaps in the future, I will be able to offer an opinion on a possible grade of a raw Peace Dollar coin.

I have this MS62 grade Peace Dollar, and have had it for two years. To this date, I still cannot make out the difference between the MS64+, the MS64, the MS63 grades of Peace Dollars and this one. For now, I believe that gaining sufficient knowledge in coin quality is a tremendous advantage, especially if one is into slabbed coins that always comes with varying premiums based on coin grades.

I think I will echo the saying... buy the coin, not the holder!

1926 Peace Dollar MS62


These are my previous post on my Peace Dollar Collection if you care to take a look:

Peace Dollar 1921 and 1922

Peace Dollar 1923 and 1924


Thank you for reading this article. I hope to see you again soon!
@silversaver888

Sort:  

I will modify a little the ditto: Buy the coin, with the right (PCGS,NGC) holder. There are many other holders not as trusty as these two.

I think the only way you can tell them apart is under a loop or something its crazy what little things they will get you on

Heard DAT! I think now that I see Sadie's article, that the + is like an MS 64.9 meaning almost a 65
I have a PCGS MS69 that I should send to her. Beautiful Coin for a Beautiful Collector!

😎 😍 😘



Welcome, @Corndogg42(42!) I noticed your name number is the same as your Rep # right now. 😎
The hearts are for our girl, just to avoid any corn-fusion LOL!!!

Nice coins Saver. And not all coins of the same grade are of the same quality. I’ve had graded coins next to each other and there are differences. Big believer in buy the coin not the holder.🌹

@silversaver888 first off that MS64+ is amazing and I love how clear the detail pops on it. Secondly, thank you for showing off this awesome collection of yours!! I think no matter how long you collect you are always a noob to something lol. Its actually what makes our hobby and stacking so much fun. There is always more information out there to find. I think you and I are very much alike in that regard. We have a variety of interest and find many things important because of the underlying skill and talent in them. Learning to grade is a good skill, but I always think would that take the fun out of it for me. To look at a Peace Dollar and focus so much on the technical that I loose sight of what a gorgeous piece it really is. Don't know but do know I enjoyed this post!! Thanks so much my friend!!

LOL my Vote Slider is JACKED!
I set it up to 100%, voted and your total did not move!
It is really messed up Sadie, but U will get a vote I promise

😎 😍 😘

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

This is a great article and I also learned something new! Great coins also!

Nice that @guiltyparties featured you in his curation!! :) as always, you put wonderful effort and info and formatting into your posts!!! :)

I was just holding a certain portion of pirate silver in my hands the other day and thinking of you <3

I guess you have to take the ANA's Coin grading course (Costing $$$$)to really understand this grading system. I think 64+ sounds more credible than 64-ish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69812.20
ETH 3376.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78