What does MS mean in coins? My Peace Dollars 1923 MS64 and 1924 MS64.

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

I thought that I would start this second series showing the Peace Dollars in my collection by briefly answering a question I received in a DM: what does MS mean in coins.

The United States started using the Sheldon Grading Scale for coins in the late 1940s. Renowned numismatist Dr. Williams Sheldon developed a scale from 1 through 70, based on his theory that a "70" would be worth 70 times as much as a "1."

There are three types of strikes in coins: MS for Mint State, PR for Proof, and SP for Specimen.

I will write about PR and SP strikes on future articles as I show a sample of each from my collection.

The numeric grades MS60 through MS70 are used for business strike coins that never went into circulation. 'Business strike' is a term to mean regular issue coin used for commerce as against commemorative coins or proof coins.


Here are the next two Peace Dollars in my collection. The first two are shown in my previous article Peace Dollars: 1921 and 1922.

1923 Peace Dollar, MS64


1924 Peace Dollar, MS64


I just love and appreciate the beauty of the designs on both the obverse and reverse of the Peace Dollar coin.


By the way, I am not a coin collector nor pretend to be a numismatist. It is for this reason that I decided to collect the year set date of Peace Dollars in slabs or in graded form.

I am just a small-time, newbie female stacker who wants to preserve a little bit of wealth and save in silver and gold.

These are the links to the websites to two third-party coin graders where one can know more about the different coin strikes and great information about coins: PCGS and NGC.

Thank you for viewing this article. I hope to see you again!
@silverdaver888


Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thank you for your support, @ssg-community! I appreciate you.

Woah it's quite a unique hobby to collect coins I bet you have a wonderful collection.

Love the Peace series. Nice show my friend🌹

I think that the US Dollars are great to collect and have both for their designs and for the good size of the coins. They are great to stack as well. Nothing like old US silver dollars!

A good explanation about the nomenclature of numismatics. Many will be happy to know this.

I am glad that you think so, my friend. Much of information about coins are readily available on the internet. But sometimes, it can get confusing. That is when you know that the author does not really know what he/she is talking about, LOL!

Very Well Done Young Lady @silversaver888 I am going to go take a nap now and I will be back later today..................

Thanks for being FIRST to comment on this article, @stokjockey! A nap...hmmmm... life is good, my friend!

I only have a few slabbed coins, but it’s super cool to see these couns so well preserved. The Peace Dollar is a beauty!

You are really unique in what you collect and i love it thank you so much for being you

Hey @corndogg42! I am always glad when you come to visit. Thanks for your lovely comment and likewise thank you for being you!

@silversaver888 I have to fully agree with how beautiful bothe obverse and reverse of the Peace Dollar are. It is a favorite bit the Morgan still edges it oit in my opinion. Appreciate you showing off your amazing collection my friend!!

Same, I'd let the Pros do it, I can't grade worth poop.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Silver Saver from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56588.25
ETH 2399.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32