Peace Dollars: 1921 and 1922

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

It is towards the middle of the year and this is a good time to make an assessment of where I am in completing my precious metals stacking and collecting goals for this year.

While I am on track with my base stack of American Silver Eagles, US Constitutional silver, and fractional gold, my goal to complete the entire set of Philadelphia Mint graded Peace Dollars which I started in 2016 has lagged behind.

In doing a series of articles about my current collection of Peace Dollars, I hope that it will provide me a renewed focus to complete my goal.

First Year Issue 1921 Peace Dollar, High Relief

Many collectors consider the 1921 Peace Dollar as the most beautiful Peace Dollar and often the centerpiece of a collection. It is both the start of the series and also a one year "high relief" with exceptionally deep and boldly struck design as compared to the following years.



COIN SPECIFICATIONS

Category: Peace Dollar, 1921 High Relief

Mint mark: none (Philadelphia)

Mintage: 1,006,473

Designer: Anthony de Francisci

Composition: 90% silver, 10% copper

Weight: 26.73 grams

Diameter: 38.1 mm

Edge: Reeded

Source: US Coin Book



The Peace dollar was minted from 1921 to 1928, and again in 1934 and 1935. It was the last United States dollar coin to be struck for circulation in silver.

The obverse depicts the Goddess of Liberty in profile, and the reverse depicts a bald eagle at rest clutching an olive branch, with the legend "Peace".

Hopefully, I will be able to afford and obtain at least a MS60 1921 Peace Dollar, High Relief.

For the time being, I have this 1921 Peace Dollar raw coin.


1922 PCGS MS63 Peace Dollar



COIN SPECIFICATIONS

Category: Peace Dollar, 1922

Mint: Philadelphia

Mintage: 51,737,000

Obverse & Reverse Designer: Anthony de Francisci

Composition: 90% silver, 10% coppe

Weight: 26.7300g, ASW: 0.7734oz

Diameter: 38.1mm

Edge: Reeded

Source: NGC Coin



With the highest mintage of any Peace dollar, the 1922-P are the most common date Peace dollar, and can easily be found even in high grades of MS65.

Three mints produced the 1922 silver dollars: Philadelphia (no mint mark), Denver (D mintmark) and the San Francisco mint (S mintmark).

Mintmarks on 1922 Peace dollars become one of the determining factor in the value of the coin.

My goal includes upgrading this 1922-P to a MS65, but only after I have comoleted my graded set of Peace Dollars.


In the next article, I shall show you my 1923 and 1924 Peace Dollars.

Thanks for viewing this article. I hope to see you soon!
@silversaver888

Sort:  

Very nice coins. I have a full set of ungraded Peace dollars, but upgrade them as I find better examples. You look like you're going to have a very beautiful graded set. Good luck on your stacking goals @silversaver888.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thank you for your continued support, my friend! I appreciate you, @ssg-community!

Awesome goal

I know, right?! If only I can focus, LOL! I keep getting side-tracked by the beautiful hand pours coming out if this community, and several times I missed out on good opportunities to get what I need in graded Peace Dollars! Stacking is never simple! Take care, @conrdogg42

I’ve been lagging on all of my sets lately. I have a MS63 set going on the Peace dollar and an MS64 set going on the Morgan Philadelphia strike series. More then half way done with both, but haven’t bought any this year.

Hahaha, it can be so difficult to complete a set with so many new releases of shinies! It can be so distracting. I have to remind myself that the Peace Dollars and Morgans are really scarce and will never again be minted. I think that should really correct my mindset. I think it brings to light that I am not really a coin collector, LOL!

I have some Peace and Morgan Dollars, but never tried to collect a set. I think that is because I don't like to have several coins that are with the same design every year. That is why I am a commemorative man.

Thabks for sharing the 1922 peace silver coin with us, cant wait to see what 1923 & 1924 peace dollar looks like.

Thanks for being FIRST to comment on this article. I appreciate you. I will be posting the next article later in the day or tomorrow morning! I hope to see you again, mu friend. Take care.

Thanks for the feedback sir. smiles

And I'm lagging behind everywhere in my Stacking. At least I got a few decent crown sized coins and a few poured beauties.

This post has received a 0.88 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @silversaver888.

@silversaver888 wonderful series to get in to. The Peace dollar is gorgeous and the story of how quick the design was made is amazing. Not to mention a great tribute to his wife who modeled for it. That 1921 cant be beat with how beautiful the high relief is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56596.99
ETH 2394.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32